We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“AMAZING!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #23 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We absolutely loved Riad Dar One! The service was amazing, the rooms very smart, comfortable and clean, the food was delicious (make sure you eat at the Riad!) and the staff were so friendly. We really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to go back! A BIG THANK YOU TO Jean, Abdul, the chef and everyone else who made our stay enjoyable and perfect. xx

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Saskia v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    52
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
476
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Great service and surroundings. Comfy beds. Recommended.
Oh yes, and the room smelled lovely.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pirret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I had the opportunity to come to Riad Dar One on my vacation to Marrakech. I made arrangements with Riad Dar One for an airport pickup and the driver was there to pick us up with no issues. I do not think I could have found Riad dar One without getting picked up. When I entered Riad Dar One, I met the owner and he gave us a great overview of the places to see in Marrakech. The whole staff was very friendly and helpful in my stay in Riad Dar one.

The riad itself was very beautiful with a little waterfall common area and a serene terrace. You can ask the staff to set up breakfast in those area or in your room. Talking about the rooms, they were luxurious with a comfortable bed and high ceilings. I will always remember Riad Dar One as a highlight in my stay in Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 33020Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2011

I have traveled to many places and stayed in many accommodations around the world. None as unique, enchanting and memorable as Riad Dar One.

If you are a couple traveling to Marrakech then you MUST consider staying at Riad Dar One. Although it is the only place we stayed in Marrakech I cannot imagine a place more beautiful, peaceful and relaxing.

Jean Peres is a charming, intelligent person focused on making sure all guests experience the magic of Marrakech. He and his entire staff could not have been more accommodating, gracious and helpful. He literally organized our entire stay - restaurants, entertainment, hammam, guided tours of the Atlas Mountains, and much more.

Marrakech can be an intimidating place to visit for the first time. Having the support and guidance of Monsieur Peres and his staff was invaluable.

Riad Dar One is without question a remarkable place. I cannot praise it enough.

Without question Riad Dar One is outstanding in every possible category. I hope one day to visit Jean and his staff again.

Thank you from Dallas, Texas!

Room Tip: Trust that all rooms in the Riad are exceptional. Economic is size by luxurious to say the least.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iamzediam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

Although we only stayed for one night, we loved this riad. Whilst it is oh-so-stylish, it is also comfortable, friendly, and welcoming. They even made a really early 7am breakfast for us so that we could catch our flight the next morning.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BeetLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2011

Oasis in the Desert, Dar One in Marrakech. And It does not mean there is nothing to do in this city.
We seriously recommend you to go there and feel it by yourself. You will spend very nice moments there and you will be very well received by Jean and his team.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank estrela_amc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2011

First, the riad. It's outstandingly designed and thought through. If it hasn't already, it should be in a design magazine -- sleek polished concrete and restored wood doors, great colour scheme. Call it Modern Moroccan Lounge. Like most riads, it has a small amount of rooms (6) like a guest house, but not with the awkward feeling of a B&B where you have to commune with people if you don't want to. It's built around a small central courtyard that has stylish tables, chairs, couches and a plunge pool. I saw most of the rooms and they are fantastic with all different arrangements and options. Some have showers, some have baths. Fantastic rooftop that cools down in the evening and great for having a drink and chilling out. Jean is the consummate host and knows all the best things in Marrakech and the ins and outs. Try and talk to him and get advice about things today. The staff are terrific, but nothing comes close to Jean and his ability to give great advice. I had the opportunity to visit one of the other top 5 riads that is 3-4 times the price of Dar One. It was a great design, but I couldn't see the value in the high price versus Dar One.

The location is great - in a quiet area south of the Djemaa El Fna (Main Square..more on that later). For first timers to Marrakech, don't be anxious about your first trip to the riad. You'll be taken through some winding alleys and paths that might intimidate you, but the locals are friendly and it's perfectly safe. In fact, it might take you a day or two to realize that Marrakech is way safer than most Western cities and the people are friendlier. Sure, you'll meet the inevitable "where are you from my friend...can I show some <fill in the blank>". But they are harmless and after one or two "non, merci's" or "la shukrans" they leave you alone. I must admit, I've been to a lot of third world countries that are much more difficult to relax in (ie India, Cambodia). Djemaa El Fna is like a circus. You must go at night and experience it for yourself.
Ask Jean for advice about a day trip outside Marrkech. I met Hassan who took me through the Ourika Valley and had lunch with a Berber Family in their village home. Ask Jean to connect you with him - he's a very openminded, interesting fun guide.

Like most people say, Marrakech is pretty overwhelming and Dar One is a great place to have a siesta in the afternoon after so much stimulation of the senses.

Unless you are a wuss and want to stay in a Sofitel or at La Mamounia where you are removed from real life, Just book it already, there is no way that you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IveBeenAroundNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#14 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#20 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing