We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant homebase in a buzzing city to celebrate my 40th birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #27 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant homebase in a buzzing city to celebrate my 40th birthday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We have just returned from a week at Riad Dar One to celebrate my 40th birthday on a journey just for us as a couple. We have come across the Riad via Tripadvisor, and there is hardly anything to add to the many excellent reviews for Jean Peres and his team at the Riad. The only thing I would recommend for other travellers: We booked through EBookers who had a good deal for flight + riad, but they messed up in communication with the Riad, so the room we had chosen had already been booked. In the future (and as many others have said, there will be no question where to return to when we come back to Marrakech --- although Jean's own soon to open second Riad may be a tempting competition, for sure!) I would only book through the Riad's website and emailing Jean himself, not through an unreliable agency. In fact, it was only when I contacted the Riad directly for arranging the airport transfer (recommended, well worth the money) that we established the missed communication with them, and Jean had other stories of travellers turning up with bookings he had never heard of. The fact how Jean dealt with this hiccup of Ebookers, upgrading us to Scirocco room with its own roof terrace for the part of the stay our chosen room, the Dune with its smashing bathroom, wasn't available, speaks for the excellent and personal service. For thosen who haven't been there yet, imagine it a bit like that hotel suite from Sex and the City-movie Part II where the girls have their own private butler 24 hours a day - here, you got the suite without the rest of the hotel, and the same level of discrete, superb service from Abdel and Khalid, and the supporting ladies, all of whom were brilliant, including organizing a birthday cake for me!

Room Tip: Scirocco has its private roof terrace, well worth the extra money. Dune has amazing huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheGermansFromUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

804 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    738
    54
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
481
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bourg Saint Maurice, France
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed in Riad Dar One for 3 nights of our honeymoon and had an amazing stay. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful - nothing was too much trouble. Jean's a very charismatic and charming host and suggested some great restaurants. The lovely roof terrace was just perfect for watching the hot Moroccan sun set over a glass of wine. We would highly recommend this Riad if you want to stay in the 'hustle and bustle' of the medina whilst still having an oasis of calm to retreat to!
Marcus and Charlotte

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharliePS2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

Amazing Modern Moroccan decoration, especially the courtyard.
Good location, only few minutes walk to most attractions.
Friendly staff, a Riad that should not be missed

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peggy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2011

I can't believe I haven't written a review sooner. This place was amazing.
Very clean and authentic (with all the right modern touches!)
I cannot say enough about the bathrooms and the shower was the best in all of Africa! Hot water, stylish features, plenty of room, and awesome products. Blow dryers and robes provided. I felt like I was in the Four Seasons!
The overall quality of the room and Dar was fabulous. Loved the rooftop breakfast experience. Very good food and splendid view. We also brought our own bottle of vodka from duty free and spent evenings on the upstairs patio enjoying the sights! The staff provided club soda and limes. It was perfect.

The owner was extremely helpful and professional. He made reservations for us at several restaurants and the Hammam. (which was great too!) He also went above and beyond the duty to handle a booking problem with the hotel. He was extremely generous and gracious. I would definitely stay here again.....only longer next time!

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely. We took up almost every room and they were all great!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

Well finished comfortable riad with 5 rooms furnished with lots of nice touches. Jean the owner is a very welcoming and helpful. Set in a maze of alleyways, i'd suggest not find-able without help on 1st time, but very convenient spot once handed a very detailed alleyway map. About 10 min walk to main square through shopways, though only a couple of mins to palace sights. Marrakech is a city for walking and we loved our time here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthJetsetters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at Riad Dar One for our first two nights of our holiday in Morrocco and we couldn't have been made to feel more welcome. It was an oasis of calm near the centre of town and the manager was very friendly and gave us some top tips for bars and restaurants in Marrakech and also in Essaouira where we going to next. It has a great roof terrace and when it gets too hot there is a great a plunge pool in the courtyard to cool down in.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cooper34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2011

We hired the Rhiad exclusively for my hen party, which was absolutely amazing. Jean Peres and all of the staff went above and beyond to make sure that we had a perfect trip. He recommended some fantastic places for us to go, booked us tables, sun loungers and transport. On the last night we had a huge meal on the roof terrace, again the staff we're fantastic in running ( literally at times) up and down the stairs with our meals, drinks and ice. The roof terrace itself was spectacular and the food not to be missed! This was my 4th trip to Marrakech and without a doubt the best Rhiad I have stayed in. Very easy to negotiate your way to the main square, and also very handy to get picked up and dropped off in a car without trawling luggage through the maze of lanes. Thoroughly recommended. Thank you very much for our brilliant stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nic0laJayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#22 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 529 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#15 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#36 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#16 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 973 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#11 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing