We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Moroccan treat”
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #31 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Many thanks to Jean and his incredible staff. Their customer service and facilities were perfection. I couldn't recommend them highly enough. They will organise everything from an afternoon mint tea to day courses of your choosing. Many thanks to the team. We hope to return as soon as we can. Charlotte & Gregor

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buckley c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (823)
There are newer reviews for Riad Dar One
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 823 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2011

My friend and I stayed here for four nights from 9th November and really enjoyed our stay. The staff are excellent nothing is too much trouble and the rooms are clean and comfortable. The Riad is so peaceful you would never know you where is the middle of the city. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SJPIOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

we have been charged for a taxi to the airport which we did never book/use and the subsequent request for a refund has been ignored! not exactly what you would expect!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Georgnew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RIADDARONE, Propriétaire at Riad Dar One, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2011

Among the nice comments left by many guests this one is so fairness that we have no choice than give to our futures guests some explainations on add.

We received along the past 5 years more than 4000 guests and the 400 comments left on Tripadvisor proove the quality of the service and the efforts we provide to make all stays as nice as possible.

This "special" guest who is complaining about an "error" on his hotel invoice just forgot to tell that we never refused to refund him the 13 € added for the airport transfer. In fact we never received his demand (we answer to ALL our mails). If we'd have received his demand the refund would have been done immediatly. Why didn't he asked a second time ?

However what is totally unfair is to forget to tell that he booked our cheapest room through a website (not directly with us) and when he arrived to the riad we proposed to host him in our most expensive room without any extra cost.

He has been upgraded and saved so more than 120 €...

It''s just too bad not to tell it.

Last point about the breakfast.... Dar One is known (see all comments) for the quality of the fooding and the great cook (Amina) that proposes for more than 4 years excellent lunches, diners and breakfast different all days of the week.

We're sorry this guest didn't enjoy his stay but he spent some nights in Dar One with 5 other couple of guests, at the same time, that ALL enjoyed and appreciated the service and quality of hosting we provided...

We wait so for your visit to check that all Tripadvisor comments are the reflect of reality.

Best regards from the sunny Marrakech.

Jean PERES
Owner and Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Beautiful small riad, very well located. Safe place in the medina, close to taxis.Jean Perez the owner is very a nice person and efficient. He can help you to book trips close to marrakesh, tours to the medina if you want it..He even booked me to a tadilakt class when asked.They speak english ande french. The working crew is also very efficient.Especial thanks to Abdul for his services and the others one.The breakfast is good.The Djama el fenaa is reached in a five minutes straight walk.Intend to be back next time in marrakesh.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelaoliveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Actually stayed there in July 2010, but have been so busy my review is delayed. My friend and I spent 3 nights in this beautiful home while on vacation. Jean was very helpful by email before our trip, and when we arrived at the train station a driver was there to pick us up. After navigating the chaos of the old city, the driver handed us off to a nice older man who grabbed our bags and led us through a little hole in the wall, down a narrow path, to a massive wooden door...and into a cool, serene, immaculate atrium. Our room was blessedly chilly with air conditioning to help us recover from the 100-degree temperatures outside -- and looked just as promised in pictures on the website. Breakfast pastries, juices and delicious coffees were brought to us on the rooftop terrace by warm and friendly staff each morning. They offered great advice on where to go and what to do, helped us with handy Arabic phrases, and with one phone call Jean managed to get my friend into the best spa for a treatment on very little notice (something our guidebook said was very unlikely). The location is fantastic -- right by the hubbub of the souks but tucked away in a quiet corner. It's barely a block from the delicious restaurant (one of Jean's recommendations) recently featured on America's Next Top Model, for those of you who watch trash TV. :) A perfect place from which to explore Marrakech! I can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aeroShelby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2011

Words cannot stress just how beautiful and tranquil this Riad is. After a hectic day in Marrakech you are greeted at the door by a lovely host a wash of calm. Nothing is too much trouble and thought has gone into every last detail- from fresh roses floating in the pool (and in your room!), soft music and candles everywhere to a freshly run bath awaiting you and champagne on the terrace- whatever you want it can be done! 6* service at 3* price.

Room Tip: All the rooms are gorgeous and if you just as if its free the owner may just upgrade you, we were fo...
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Outsideguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2011

All the other recent reviews are correct, this is a great place to stay in Marrkaech. Jean and the other staff are very hospitable, it's quiet, beautifully fitted out and quite luxurious. The rooftop is great and particularly the room on the roof.

Wish I'd had better directions to get there though, as we had to rely on a local shopkeeper to take us around to the Riad when Jean wasn't contactable. All the other points are true: the bed a little hard and the breakfast best for sweet tooths. The door knob on the Sirocco room was a bit funny too, but that might be fixed now.

All tiny things because there's nothing else to fault!

Room Tip: Sirocco Room!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeryAmateurReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 502 in Marrakech
450 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#7 of 502 in Marrakech
815 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#15 of 502 in Marrakech
560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#33 of 502 in Marrakech
1,319 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#22 of 502 in Marrakech
889 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#27 of 502 in Marrakech
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £71 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing