We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“J'adore Dar One” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #23 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“J'adore Dar One”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

We loved Dar One. My first wife and I visited Jean Perez's Riad in April 2012 for 4 nights. The riad itself was lovely, the public spaces were very elegant and tastefully furnished and our room 'DUNE' had all the home comforts we needed.

However it is the service & hospitality which makes Dar One very special indeed. Jean and Abdel could not do enough for us. They arranged our taxi from the airport - which is a 'must' as you'd never find your own way there unless you already knew the Mellah (The Jewish quarter in the Medina). They also arranged transport up to Imlil in the High Atlas. We also had an excellent and very reasonably priced moroocan meal in the Riad one night [we can also highly recommend Casa Lalla for an excellent meal].

Location is fantastic, just round the corner from the Bahia Palace in the heart of Marrakech, close to all the attractions and is the ideal place to stay in this fascinating city.

Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tilehurst Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    732
    52
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
476
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Where should I start?

Jean Peres, the owner of the Riad is amazing. I emailed him at least 5 times before our arrival and he always replied within a few hours.

The Riad has excellent staff: attentive, welcoming and helpful. They even catered an early breakfast for us as our flight back to the UK left very early.
The Riad can organise transfer from and to the airport for 300 Dhs (return price). We were so happy that we took this option, as haggling for a taxi can be stressful and would not save you more than £5, not even mentioning that the organised transfer - compared to the "petit taxis" - would provide a much nicer car. If you still wish to organise your own ground transportation ask the driver to take you to "Palais Bahia" which is located 2 minutes away from the Riad. But good luck finding the Riad in the maze of small alleys.

Location is safe and convenient as most sights are walking distance (the Main Square and Koutobia Mosque 10 minutes away, Saadian Tombs 10-15 minutes, Palais Bahia 2 minutes, Palais Badi 5-10 minutes, souks 10-15 minutes). The staff at Dar One gave us excellent directions and a useful map.

The Riad has a contemporary style with traditional accents. It is a beautiful and relaxing space.We stayed in the Sirocco room and I can highly recommend it. For a little higher price you will get a private roof terrace with excellent views over the whole Medina. Looking at the layout of the Riad, the ground floor room could be quite exposed to other guests and quite noisy during breakfast and dinner, therefore I would not recommend it.

Breakfast is delicious but a little repetitive after a few days. It consists of mostly sweet dishes such as pastries, pancakes, yoghurt, honey and jam. This is the only thing that I would change in Riad Dar One. The freshly squeezed orange juice is delicious.

The price is very reasonable compared to Marrakech, therefore Riad Dar One is easily the best value luxury riad in the Medina. I initially considered one of the big brand hotel chains outside of the Medina’s wall but I was so happy that I opted for a riad as this is the real experience!

Thank you Jean and the whole Riad Dar One Team for making our stay perfect!

Room Tip: The Sirocco room does worth the slightly higher price as you will get a private terrace with breath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

We were so pleased that we chose this Riad as our first stop in Marrakesh. We had arranged to be collected from the airport then we were met at the car and taken through darkened alleyways into a beautiful sanctuary of peace and tranquillity. The decor and ambience of Riad dar One is fantastic, a traditional Moroccan feel with the modern standards of a 4 star hotel. Great breakfast to start the day and it was a great place to relax after walking around the mayhem that is Marrakesh. Incredibly friendly and helpful staff, we definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: If you have the room on the roof terrace, which is wonderful, be aware that you can not get Internet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mbjb2012London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

Will exceed all your expectations. We picked this Riad based on other travellers' reviews and it certainly delivered!
If you rely on Wifi, it's free and connection was very good in the main sitting area.

Much recommended and we wouldn't stay anywhere else on our next trip.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms, so book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Riaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Tucked away at the end of an alley, this hidden beauty is wonderful on every level. The rooms are authentic, but modern touches make them comfortable (e.g. great shower, pressure so hard it hurt)

The dinner the riad prepared for our family was the best lamb tangine we've had, the starters of various vegetables absolutely delicious.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

We have just come back from a long weekend in Marrakech, staying at Riad Dar One. We enjoyed our stay and we want to recommend Dar One. Frindly and professional staff, always willing to help.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jorge M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2012

If you are looking for a wonderful and stylish haven in central Marrkech, look no further than Riad Dar One.

We stayed in Riad Dar One for two nights in March as a group of four girls for my friend's "hen weekend". We were collected from the airport as planned by Riad Dar One's driver, and taken to the riad (which you do need...as it is pretty tricky to find!). And were immediately blown away but the beautiful smells and tasteful decoration, and welcomed with pastries and fresh mint tea. Our rooms (Sirrocco and Dune) were gorgeous, and Sirrocco with it's own private roof terrace was particularly fab!). The fresh roses in all rooms changed daily were a lovely touch.

Abdul and Khalid who looked after us for the majority of our stay could not have been more helpful and welcoming, and particularly patient with our many requests!! We were so impressed by the flexiblity (breakfast at whatever time we wanted, and they allowed us to bring our own champagne for a minimal corkage fee!) and someone was always available at any time to help us - this was very reassuring for four girls alone in a strange city! - and nothing was too much trouble.

We enjoyed a lovely meal in the Riad on our first evening, followed by champagne on the terrace relaxing listening to their chill out music - bliss after an afternoon navigating the souks!

Day 2 saw a trip to Mythic Oriental Spa (I would recomend this for a traditional hammam experience, but it is a shocker to find!). Coming back to the riad after our spa day was like coming home - relaxing in the lounge with gin and tonics (very reasonbly priced!) and the calming trickle of the water feature in the background, with the place to ourselves we felt very at home! The nuts, olives and nibbles brought out with our drinks were an example of the extra details that are included in much of Riad Dar One's excellent customer service.

We had a absolutely fantastic night out, on Riad Dar One's recommendation, at La Comptoir Darna. They organised a driver for us for the whole evening for a very reasonable 300 dirhams so we did not need to worry about transport. The restaurant had a fantastic atmosphere, with belly dancers and a great DJ, the food was brilliant (can highly recommend the "Weeping Tiger"), and lovely cocktails, and the shisha pipes made us feel very morroccan! Despite our best laid plans of not being out too late we were still dancing til the early hours when the DJ set finished at 4.30am!

Riad Dar One made reservations for us at La Mammounia on our last day, which was a great way to spend the last day of a trip, and recover after our late night on the sun loungers! the riad looked after our luggage for the day and our return transfer to the airport for our evening flight was as seamless as our pick up.

Definitely a hen weekend to remember and a wonderful stay - thank you all at Riad Dar One! We had a wonderful time (we just hope our enthusiasm did not upset any of your other guests!).

Room Tip: Sirrocco was our favourite room, light and airy with their own private roof terrace. The only thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A_J_London_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#6 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Kheirredine
Riad Kheirredine
#1 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,530 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#7 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#14 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#20 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing