We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is the place to be in Marrakech!”
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #27 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“This is the place to be in Marrakech!”
Reviewed 28 January 2013

I can't say anything else, other than perfection. No detail forgotten. Jean was absolutely lovely and wish we had time to sit down and chat with him. What he has done with the Riad and how it is presented is spectacular. The staff are absolutely wonderful as well. We had travelled extensively through Morocco and by the time we reached Marrakech we were ready to leave, but once we reached Riad Dar One we were instantly in love with the Riad and taken to an oasis of tranquility and beauty. Absolutely stunning-you have to stay here!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

807 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    740
    55
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
483
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband and I stayed at Dar One for a very late honeymoon in january. We cannot praise this place enough,from the warm welcome we had from Jean and his team,to the smell of woodfire drifting through the courtyard,beautiful room and outstanding service. At night this place becomes a twinkling retreat full of candles and a lovely cosy lounge to enjoy a glass of wine beside. we didnt want to leave and want to bring our mums out here over the coming months. A haven that is much needed in a whirlwind trip to marrakech...and they do THE BEST mint tea in marrakech!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester
Level Contributor
195 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Dar One has been designed and decorated to create a feel of a private house, and thats exactly how it feels. Skilfully presented, it is a haven of tranquillity and yet fantastically located within a very short walk of all the fascinating experiences of the Medina. It is a good value, our meals were superb and a lot of thought has gone into providing stylish comfort in the rooms and public areas. The rooftop terrace is a lovely area to relax, as is the salon on the ground floor. The sense of a secluded haven is added to by the access to Dar One, a twisting walk down a series of narrow alleys. Staff were helpful and pleasant, and contributed to a wonderful couple of days - very strongly recommend Dar One.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nige and Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Loved this place. They organised a transfer from the airport so we got there easily and were incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was extremely comfortable, well made and stylish, while the living room and foyer looked amazing, especially at night. The roof terrace is a great place to unwind, their food is excellent, while the whole lot is good value for money. Definitely go here.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StephenH5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunbridge Wells, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Just returned from a weekend here with 4 other girlfriends. What can I say? The whole experience was fantastic! We were met at the airport and transported to the riad. When we arrived we had lunch on the gorgeous rooftop terrace. Very reasonably priced at E 12 each and good priced wine, and the food was plentiful and delicious. Jean Peres the owner then gave us some tips on where to go and booked our restaurants and taxis. He made it so easy for us all.The riad is perfectly located near Bahia Palace so easy for taxi drop offs and access to the main square.
The riad was stylish, cosy and had a great ambience. There are staff available 24 hrs to cook your food and provide drinks. We would sit in front of the fire in the cosy sitting room and have drinks before going out and when we returned in the evening. Nothing was too much trouble. Khalid was especially warm and friendly and always had a smile on his face.
All of our rooms were gorgeous with amazing bathrooms (on par or better than many 5 star hotels I have stayed in). The only slight issue was the shower attachment would not stay fixed and had to be used by hand but otherwise everything was perfect!
Our stay there was magical and cannot wait to return! Could not stay anywhere else now that we have found it!Amazing!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2013

Dar One is truly an oasis of peace in the middle of Marrakech.

My boyfriend and I stayed here for two nights in December and loved it. The service was phenomenal, the atmosphere is welcoming and comfortable, the staff are fantastic (including the owner) and the location is great.

We stayed in the Oasis Room which is on the first floor. It is by no means big but certainly a good size and the bathroom was beautifully designed and styled. The entire Dar has a modern, simple, Moroccan style to it and has been very tastefully decorated. There is also a very comfortable lounge area with a running fountain and another quiet room on the first floor with a fireplace and couches. Our bed was very comfortable.

The staff were truly a highlight of our stay. We requested an airport pick-up and Fwed (spelling?) greeted us and was wonderful from the start. Dar One is very close to the Bahia Palace and because the streets are so narrow, you can't drive right up to it. Staff greeted us and walked with us through the labyrinthine streets. They had also helped us make dinner reservations, provided us with a map and very good directions for getting to the souks, and our first night walked us out to find a taxi and advised on pricing.

In the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, I can't emphasize enough just how wonderful it was to have a place that was quiet and really easy to relax in. We also ate breakfast up on the roof one of the mornings which was very nice as well as downstairs in the lounge area. The breakfast was like any Moroccan breakfast with plenty of bread, crepes, yogurt, fruit and juice.

Our entire experience at Dar One was wonderful. The staff are incredibly gracious and available. It is a very small building and there was always someone around in case you needed something and there is no question they would go the extra mile in service and hospitality. They were incredibly friendly and we can't recommend it enough!

Room Tip: We only saw our room, the Oasis. The bathroom is sizable and one of the best parts of the room with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debreem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Pretty much agree with all the positve comments. Our stay in early December was magical. Wonderfully clean, stylish and hospitable service. You could spend twice as much and not have as wonderfully an authentic experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartSoTraveled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#13 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#37 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 805 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#14 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing