We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Oasis in the bustling Medina”
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #25 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Marrakech is a city full of energy and life, and Riad Dar One was a great place to return to and relax after long days exploring the city. Located within the walls of the Medina, and in the Jewish Quarter (Mellah), the Riad would be difficult to find on your first visit and without someone pointing you in the right direction. Luckily the Riad owner (Jean) and all of the staff go above and beyond to make sure your stay is comfortable and that ALL your needs are met (including arranging airport pickup or a valet to meet you near the Bahia Palace to show you the way to the Riad). I was staying with two other guests, and we had two rooms. I was in the Petit Prince room, which is the smallest room, but perfect for a solo traveler or even a couple. The bed was super comfortable, the linens very clean, and the shower was huge. My two companions were in the Mirage room which had two Queen size beds and an oversized tub in the spacious bathroom. Our favorite part of the Riad was the rooftop terrace, where we enjoyed our morning breakfasts and relaxed in the afternoons/evenings. We even decided to do dinner at the Riad one night, which was served on the terrace and was excellent. I can't recommend Riad Dar One enough - beautiful accommodations, excellent service, and a true value for what you get.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank USCAdventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (848)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 848 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2013

Dar One is a lovely property that is maintained well in both the private and public areas. The food and drink are locally relevant and deliciously prepared. I enjoyed every moment at the Riad.

The service was exceptional and is the hallmark of Dar One. The staff look after you with care and high regard. Whether recommending a good place to shop or find a service, they are mindful of the individual and folio-up to insure satisfaction. They also go the 'extra mile' to make a new visitor to Marrakech feel their care, concern and appreciated.

When I return to Marrakech, Dar One would be my first choice for the simple reason that I know I will be embraced and welcomed as if I were returning home.

Room Tip: Each room is unique. Check the website photos to choose a specific room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robrover65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 8 nights at Riad Dar One i august 2013. We had the best time! It is located just 10 minutes walk from several attractions such as the souks, jemaa el fnaa, palace bahia ect, but at the same time just far enough away from the busy streets. It was always nice to come back to the riad, after a long day of walking around in the souks and streets of Marrakech and enjoy this quiet and relaxing oasis.
The staff was very very helpful, always ready to help any guests and always with a smile. You felt very welcome and almost like you were at home. The owner Jean pierre made a great effort in meeting all guest personally, always ready to help with any questions.
We both enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to everybody. We would also recommend spending a day or two outside the city, for example go to the Atlas mountains or the beach. The staff at the riad can help you arranging. Also try the three course dinner at the riad. It was superb!
Hope to stay another time. Thanks Kenneth & Marie

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This riad is an oasis of calm in the Marrakech madness! The hotel is in a great location approx. 5 mins walk to the main square. The owner Jean was there to welcome us for our 3 night stay at the riad and him and all the staff could not have done more to make our stay here as relaxing as possible. Jean even gave his number to us so we could call him when we got to Essaouira for more advice! This riad is definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

5 mins walk from the Square, this Riad is a beautiful place to stay. The staff and owner were lovely, the rooms are spacious and clean, with a wonderful roof top terrace to have drinks on later in the evening. I would highly recommend this place for anyone traveling to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julieabby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Only had the chance to stay one night at the Riad Dar One - but it certainly left a positive impression. The service is professional, friendly and helpful, the location handy but quiet and the rooms well sized and very comfortable.

Like most Riads it is quite a small hotel, so you do get the personal touch. The roof terrace is a great bonus for breakfast or a relax in the evening.

The images on their web site give a good indication of the sleek modern decor. My room had a huge bath with a window that opened onto the quiet lane - great place to relax after the heat of the day. See the Mirage room on the website.

I met a member of the team at a nearby landmark to get to the hotel - it is fairly impossible to find on your own! Unlike other parts of the Medina the neighbours are friendly. Lots of eating and drinking options nearby.

Room Tip: Check out the individual rooms on the web site - if available you can pick the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oz_Pete_Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

This place was awesome - really lovely riad, great location (close to square and also the souks), and fantastic staff. Our group particularly enjoyed the plunge pool and rooftop area. Would definitely recommend to others going to Marrakech.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shelbypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 500 in Marrakech
593 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#26 of 500 in Marrakech
488 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#7 of 500 in Marrakech
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Riad Emberiza Sahari
Riad Emberiza Sahari
#14 of 500 in Marrakech
350 reviews
1 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#47 of 500 in Marrakech
1,330 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 500 in Marrakech
876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £77 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing