We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunningly beautiful and peaceful in the midst of Marrakech” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #23 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey
Level Contributor
253 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Stunningly beautiful and peaceful in the midst of Marrakech”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

This is a gem. A total find. It's in the heart of Marrakech yet away from the hustle and bustle. Jean and his staff are simply incredible in terms of the attention and care they give people. From the pre-booking correspondence, right through to the stay Jean was SO helpful. Everything was perfectly executed and organised for us, from the airport pick up, to lunch on arrival at the Riad, to our coach tickets through to Essaouira. We only stayed one night, more's the pity, but it was a wonderful experience. We would love to return. The maids, cooks, manager were fabulous and so lovely in the way they cared for us and made our stay so enjoyable. Can't recommend highly enough. Right adjacent to the Bahia palace and just a short walk to the main square. Location was fab. Thanks everyone at Dar One.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank skl2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    52
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
476
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at Riad Dar One for one night as part of and 8 day tour around Morrocco. We also stayed at the sister riad, Dar White.

Jean, the owner, is just fab. Great email communication and so accomodating, he made time to personally introduce himself to all guests. He got our room ready for 9.30am 9as we had arrived early from Essouria). The rest of the staff were great - they arranged taxis, baggage, directions - and even refused a tip - telling us - it was all part of their job.

I cannot understand the reviewers who have not given this 5 stars. The riad is beautiful, the rooms luxurious and the bathrooms amazing. This is like a 5* experience and such good value. The rooms are slightly dark - but all the riads we stayed in were like this as it is the design of the building. Also, who wants to spend a day in their room when in Marrakesh?!?

Everything was just perfect and staying here really added to our stay.

Room Tip: all beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed at Dar One for three nights (two 40 something young ladies!). The communication with Jean Peres before our stay was great, he answered all our questions and gave us costs and booked meals, taxis etc. Our arrival at the airport was delayed but we were greeted promptly by the friendly driver and driven straight into Marrakech (its a short very interesting journey). The houseman then took us by foot along the winding alleyways (not too far) to the door of the Riad. Dont be put off by the access, inside the Riad is a complete contrast to the streets outside, a calm quiet luxurious place! It is beautifully decorated and furnished and spotlessly clean. Our room was the Mirage, it was perfect in size, the bathroom was wonderful. We had an evening meal in the courtyard, it was delicious, one of the best during our stay. We ate our breakfast on the roof terrace which again is spotlessly clean and comfortable with lovely loungers and seating with shades. We were given lots of help, nothing was too much trouble. They anticipated our every need, we rarely had to ask for anything because everything was simple and already taken care of. We had a hammam at Bains de Marrakech which Jean booked for us, amazing experience. We wandered the streets around the Riad at all hours of the day and night and we werent worried or frightened at all. Its a very good neighbourhood and the locals were very friendly. Staff accompanied us on the journeys to destinations we werent sure of. In retrospect we feel we couldnt have chosen a better area or Riad to stay in. Jean and his staff are caring, professional and helpful taking pride in their hosting. We will be returning to this Riad as soon as we can free up our diaries.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alj30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

Riad Dar One is absolutely incredible. Jean and his crew bend over backwards to make sure that you are accommodated and happy throughout your stay in Marrakesh. Whenever we were unsure or hesitant about getting to a specific location, one of the staff would escort us. I had an idea of what we wanted to do before we arrived in Marrakesh, and Jean was able to arrange for some amazing experiences- a private tour with an official guide, a full day hike in the Atlas Mountains, a cooking class and a session at the best spa in Marrakesh. I will say that preparation is key and so much of what we did could not have been arranged last minute, so ask early! I can't wait to return.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank katherine j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
letchworth garden city
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed for two nights in this riad. It is beautifully restored and it was as lovely as we anticipated. If you book a riad you need to be aware that the rooms tend to be rather dark - we were in Mirage and the lighting was not good enough for the room to be an option during the day (unless you want a dark room) - although there are lots of places to sit and relax around the riad. Mirage has glass doors with curtains onto the central courtyard and is not a large room. I found that I got back-ache from the bed - an occupational hazard when I stay away as I have a weak back. We stayed in four separate places in Morocco and it was only this bed that caused me a problem - although whether a bed suits someone's back is a very personal issue - my husband noticed no difference between any of the beds that we slept on! The bath is immense although surely it is for looking at only - it just felt incredibly decadent to try and fill it up for a real bath - two of the other riads that we stayed in had the same amazing baths? The breakfasts were good with home cooked breads although not served until 8:30 - which we began to realise was the norm in Marrakech. When we left for Imlil our taxi was due at 9:00am and so going up for breakfast before 8:30 did not work - something (rightly or wrongly on our part) that we did not realise would be an issue. We did not meet Jean Peres but were helped by the other staff that we met during our stay - apart from our initial welcome and briefing they kept a low profile, responding when approached. The location is ideal - very handy for the sights including Jemaa el Fna. I have also reviewed the other riads that we stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2013

We arranged transfers directly with the Riad, and they were waiting at airport. Transfer was smooth and we were at our Riad smoothly.
The room we stayed in was the Oasis, lovely bathroom, plenty of hanging space for cloths and bed was comfy with nice bedding and towels.
The Riad is central to all the sites and a good place to base yourself.
There is a roof top terrace to relax where we eat breakfast, breakfast consisted of toast pancakes ect and there was a variation daily.
We also had a meal on the roof top one evening which was fine.
If you choose to stay in a Riad I'm sure this will fit the bill.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion88Essex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

Above all, awesome customer service, second to none. Jean and his staff were the nicest and most helpful people, they did everything to make us feel welcome and made sure we would have everything we needed for an unforgettable staying in Marrakesh. The riad is lovely and the location is super - 10 minutes nice walk to Jemaa el Fna, plus a lot to visit "just around the corner". We always felt safe in the neighborhood, even when walking around those narrow dark streets at 1am. The terrace day beds are great for relaxing after a long walk. Breakfast was very good as well. When staying in Marrakesh Dar One is the place you want to go to. I sure want to return.

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and charming, it's hard to pick which one is the most lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elias A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#20 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#11 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 871 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#24 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#14 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#10 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing