We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A charming oasis”
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #26 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“A charming oasis”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

My wife and I had a two night stay here and we would echo what previous reviewers have just said. Tucked away off the hectic streets and alleyways we had a wonderful welcome and found the staff very friendly and helpful. Our highlight was having our dinner prepared especially for us, the only diners, served on the rooftop terrace. It was a beautiful meal and was the highlight of our holiday in Morocco.
Great wee hotel. Thanks

Room Tip: Sirocco is very nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaturecoupleGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    754
    56
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
493
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This was our second visit to Marrakech but our first stay in a Riad. Riad Dar One is a very special and unique place to stay. It has a very Moroccon feel with the most wonderful courtyard in the centre. The bedrooms also have a distinctly Moroccon feel but with the most fantastically comfortable beds and amazing bathroooms. The rooftop terrace is wonderful - a great place for lounging during the day on the incredibly comfortable day beds - but also rather magical at night when the whole place just glows with candlelight. Jean and his team are incredibly helpful and hospitable - they provided us on day one with an excellent map which includes recommendations of places to see and some great restaurants. They also arranged taxis, a tour guide, cooking and riding lessons outside of Marrakech. It was all completely hassle free and made for the most wonderful visit. We really couldn't fault the service in any way!

Room Tip: We stayed in two rooms on the first floor. One on the right at the top of the stairs and the other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Although I'm an experienced traveller and rely on the reviews of my peers, I'm terrible for posting my own opinion. But I felt compelled to share my experience of Riad Dar One with the travelling world. 

It goes without saying, the warm welcome and hospitality of Jean and his wonderful team made our experience truly memorable. Every request or concern we had was addressed with 'no problem' from the Dar One crew. I would whole-heartedly recommend any future guest to take in 'La Vie en Rose'; Jean's luxury private home where we were welcomed like family. We had a wonderful day enjoying a cooking course in the gorgeous and inviting surroundings. Make sure to bring swimming trunks for a dip in the pool afterwards!

I could go on about the beautiful decor, the freshly-prepared tasty food but you need to experience everything Dar One and Marrakech has to offer for yourself.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul_Clohosey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here upon our arrival in Morocco for only one night before a 4 day desert trek. The people who work at the raid could not have been more hospitable and accommodating. I was a little concerned when we were dropped off because it seemed like a sketchy area and we were taken through a maze of alleyways and buildings to get to the hotel. Once inside, the beauty and charm of the place took over and other thoughts I may have had.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toochy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We stayed at this riad as a family of three and were made to feel very welcome and comfortable. Jean Peres, the owner, was on hand to great us personally and he's a very nice, helpful and friendly person. He instantly put me at ease, even though there had been a mix-up in communication (our fault) and they weren't expecting our 12 year-old son to be with us. Regardless, everyone was as nice as they could be.

Breakfast was mostly carbs and jams, which seems to be the norm in Morocco, and there was perhaps a bit less variety in the offerings than I experienced at the other riad we stayed at in Fez, but it was still more than satisfying.

The riad itself is very modern and elegant in appearance. Sort of "riad meets 21st century". We really liked the ambiance and the common areas, including the roof, and were comfortable sitting in several different areas. The staff are efficient, friendly and helpful. There was only one glich, upon our departure we stressed several times that we were taking the train, but were driven to the airport instead. This happened even though I spoke to the day manager and driver in English and French to tell them that we needed the train station. Fortunately we allowed plenty of extra time and it all worked out well.

The location of this riad is perfect and they're in the middle of much of the popular sightseeing and attractions. The main square and souks are a leisurely 10 minute stroll away. The riad provided clear explanations and a very good map which we found very helpful. We'd definitely recommend this riad without reservation for couples or families.

The location is tucked-away in a side alley, and I doubt many will find it without detailed instructions or having to call the riad for help. It's a short walk to the main road, but twisty, and there are no signs. Once you know the way this is not a negative, but rather a positive since you feel that you've escaped to a haven after the crazy Marrakesh streets.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brianjazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This was our first visit to Marrakech and Riad Dar One was a perfect place to stay. From the pick up at the airport to finding our onward transport the staff were genuinely friendly and could not have been more helpful. Our transport from the airport (very comfortable people carrier) was met on the edge of the Medina by the doorman who took us through a series of winding alleyways to the oasis that is Dar One. Mint tea on arrival, shown around the roof terrace and then to our room. We stayed in the Oasis room on the ground floor, quiet and comfortable with a huge bath and double washbasins.

Breakfast served anywhere in the Riad, we took it in the courtyard. Tea, (mint or english style with milk!) fresh orange juice, bread, morrocan pancakes, jam, honey etc.

Riad is in a perfect location for palaces, museums, the Souks and the main square and is easy to locate once you've been there. Almost impossible to believe how quiet and peaceful it is when it is so close to the hubbub that is the Medina in Marrakech.

Whenever we returned, someone was waiting with the door open by the time we reached the entrance. (There must have been a communication system between the gateman at the end of the passage and the staff on duty). We asked for tea on several occasions, and this was willingly provided wherever we wanted to take it.

I booked direct with Jean the owner who unfortunately was away during our visit, but he could not have been more helpful, even to the point of refunding some of our onward taxi fee when we were charged over the rate I had previously agreed with him. Excellent service.

The Riad fully deserves its 5 star rating. You can be confident you will be well looked after, in a very comfortable and relaxed environment, by very friendly staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank panda65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Dar One was by far the best hotel we stayed in while traveling in Morocco. The staff was nothing short of spectacular. Abdul greeted us on a busy street and personally walked us to the riad. It would have been virtually impossible for us to have found the hotel on our own. We were given traditional mint tea and an overview of the hotel before being escorted to our room. When we were finally ready to venture out into the city, Abdul provided us with a map and details on operating hours for many of the local attractions. He even helped us secure a few reservations for popular restaurants. The riad itself is stunning. The decore is modern chic with a Moroccan twist. The simplistic and neutral coloring was exceptionally soothing and created a retreat-like atmosphere in the heart of Marrakech. I cannot rave enough about the quality of this riad and its staff. I would highly recommend staying in Dar One to anyone traveling through Marrakech!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#37 of 499 in Marrakech
1,319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#23 of 499 in Marrakech
441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 499 in Marrakech
550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
802 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Khum
Palais Khum
#25 of 499 in Marrakech
336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#12 of 499 in Marrakech
886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing