We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Riad, great people, an oasis!”
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #32 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Lisbon, Portugal
1 review
“Great Riad, great people, an oasis!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed in this Riad for 6 nights this August (2014) and we loved it! The Riad dar One lived up to the reviews we had seen here and to our high expectations.

The Riad is beautiful and serene and the location is perfect. The staff was amazing, always helpful. The food is very good and the mint tea delicious.

We only wish the would be wi-fi in the upper rooms.

Overall a lovely place to stay if you think about visiting Marrakech. We would recommend it to all our friends and we would undoubtedly return.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    745
    55
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
485
33
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Beautiful Raid, friendly helpful staff, a lovely relaxing place to chill after a day in Medina. We were in the Sirocco Room which was amazing, for some reason i thought the room was more secluded than what it is. The private terrace (roof of the room) is accessed by a small spiral staircase. We went on a trip to a Berber village which was organised by the Riad. Also we went for a traditional Hammam which was a great experience. The Riad was full when we stayed but it was so quiet. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JensMa36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were in the site on the top floor. It was the only room upstairs so it was quiet and gorgeous. Upstairs offers many sitting areas for reading and tanning. Then above our room there is another private cabana, one of the best views I've seen.

The service is one of the best I have ever experienced. They accommodated us to the max. Also we took our breakfast upstairs and it a beautiful experience, but we did feel bad because we were a party of nine and the hotel stag has to bring everything up the flights of stairs multiple times.

The hotel also offer cooking classes at their other hotel and I highly recommend it. The chef took us to the medina to purchase all the ingredients so we experienced purchasing grocery like the Moroccans do. Very fun. Then the hotel driver takes you to the other location to cook the dinner. The other hotel is a large estate resort. It is per friendly because there are with resort dogs and ten horses. I will try and stay at this other hotel next time we I visit Marrakech.

Highly recommend this hotel for everyone, especially honeymooners.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewandIvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This place really is as calm, cool and well run as the reviews suggest. An oasis in an otherwise hectic and bustling city. The rooms are excellently appointed with one of the best beds and easily the best bath we've ever had. Staff were very helpful (although they neglected to mention the change of time due to ramadan) and while the breakfast is decent we were fortunate enough to have them prepare a traditional pigeon pastilla for lunch by the pool which was simply outstanding.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room with a bath down by the swimming pool and would highly recommend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

A stunning old Riad, stylishly renovated and interior designed. Service which would put most five star hotels to shame. You would never know you were staying in the heart of the medina, its quiet and peaceful, a calm only occasionally broken by the call to prayer. Jean (the owner) was incredibly helpful before our arrival advising on restaurant bookings, a hot air balloon ride, and quad biking, all of which he booked and arranged on our behalf. The day and night managers, Abdel and Khalid are charming, knowledgeable, gentle and kind and incredibly helpful. All the rooms are stunning. We chose Sirocco which is on the top floor with its own private roof terrace which is secluded. There is an outside spiral staircase to access it, off the main roof terrace, which can be used by other guests, although no other guests did use it! One previous reviewer commented that all the rooms are dark. This is true, only Sirocco has windows to the outside, but this is the Moroccan way, to keep OUT the heat. The rest of our party stayed in the second floor Dune room, which was lovely, but had no outside space, but the biggest bath I have ever seen in my life!! The Riad feels calm and secluded and is an oasis of luxury in this vibrant, chaotic city. Coming back to the Riad at night when the candles were lit was always a treat. This is a truly special place, if you are considering booking, then do not hesitate, you will not be disappointed. Their website is very accurate, the photos are true to life (not always the case these days!) and we considered it good value. Do not miss the treat of dinner on the roof terrace one night. Breakfast is a simple yoghurt, breads, honey/jam affair with wonderful coffee and fresh orange juice. This was varied one day with the addition of pastries and boiled eggs on another. All delicious, all served with a smile. If I had to find fault then its a shame there is no wifi on the top floor which meant we had to go downstairs. Not really an issue, it was such a pleasure to sit in the gorgeous sitting room, or by the internal water feature that it was no hardship! Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, they made us feel they were there just to serve us, which they did absolutely brilliantly. A wonderful stay in the magical city.

Room Tip: Dune can take an extra bed for a child. Has an enormous bath and very high ceilings. Sirocco on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jarfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

My daughter (20) and I stayed at this Riad recently and as described below it is an oasis in a noisy busy city of dust and heat. Jean always greets his guests when they arrive and after many email exchanges with him I felt that we knew each other. He is a kind and gentle man with a wealth of knowledge about the area. It was his devoted staff that really made the stay for us. Abdel, Jean's right hand man, was particularly friendly and spoke excellent English. The other staff worked tirelessly to make our stay enjoyable. We'd like to especially thank those who carted heavy breakfast trays to all the guests on the terrace!
Another point about this Riad is it's interior, it has been decorated in a very classy and tasteful way with roses adorning all the tables in the lobby. We both highly recommend this Riad. TRAVEL TIP: take kids tee-shirts with you to give to the local kids as they LOVED the ones we gave them plus our clip on kangaroos. Thanks Jean and his team.

Room Tip: All rooms are great with the biggest one on the ground floor near pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spleenie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

Perfect oasis in the city, beautiful building located within the old city, amazing court yard, quiet, relaxing and the rooms are simply stunning. Staff were great. Would definitely recommend this little gem.

Helpful?
Thank Jimmy_Kipper
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#21 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#14 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#36 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#13 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 987 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#8 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing