We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“This Riad is something special” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #21 of 505 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
bristol
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This Riad is something special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

It is hard to not repeat what has already been said, but this Riad more than met our expectations. This was our first trip to Marrakech and I am glad we chose to stay here, all the staff were welcoming and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The Riad is gorgeous, the roof terrace is fab, and everyroom oozes style. It is an oasis of calm and relaxation in contrast to the hetic city. We will definitely be back !

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fluffykittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    728
    52
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
64
474
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TMarciano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2009

While searching for riads I came across Dar One and read great reviews and tried to stay. Because they were almost booked completely they had limited options for us (due to the fact that I was trying to meet the needs of two travelers), Jean Peres was amazing in trying to accmodate us for our stay and did everything he could to get us in and comfortable.

Jean Peres' ongoing contact via email and his willingness to help us leads to a favorable review even thought we didn't stay and I would highly recommend Dar One. I am disappointed I couldn't stay this trip but am wishing the best for all of his guests because if his email contact is any indication of his personal service, this is the place to be!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TMarciano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

We stayed at Dar One for the start of our Moroccan holiday, and from the moment we were picked up at the airport until we left and beyond, the service and the experience was impeccable, relaxed and charming.

The owner Jean met us when he arrived and gave us a tour of his beautiful place. From the tranquil courtyard, cosy fireplace (it was still a bit cool outside), the gorgeous rooftop terrace to our lovely room it was clearly furnished with a great eye for detail.

We ate there for our first night and had a wonderful traditional meal in house. Equally the breakfast on the terrace was a fresh and delicious start to the day.

We left Marrakech for a few days but changed our travel plans unexpectedly and returned (hoping to spend more time at Dar One!). Unfortunately the riad was full, but the owner Jean was an absolute gem in recommending and helping us book another riad. We cannot thank him enough for his hospitality and his professionalism. This level of service is a reflection of how well the riad is run by Jean and his wonderful team.

We would highly recommend this riad to anyone wishing to stay in a convenient but quiet location where you can relax comfortably in style.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank megsndamo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

We spent 3 nights in this Riad and it was a very enjoyable experience. The staff in the Riad are very friendly and helpful. The owner, Jean had great advice on Marrakech and was very welcoming. Our room was lovely, peaceful and very tastefully decorated. I would highly recommend staying here, I could not have asked for a better stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lowLondon_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
188 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2009

Dar One was an oasis of solitude and beauty in a city filled with noise and dirt. I wasn't the only guest photographing every square inch of the Riad. It is so beautiful and tranquil, that it is worth going to Marrakesh, just to stay there.

The Owner, Jean Peres, is the most personable, wonderful host you'll ever meet. He cares about his guests and really goes out of his way to make your stay pleasant and enjoyable. Upon arrival, he will give you a map and his personal cell phone number in case you get lost. In contrast to other Riads, the owner is present, not in a different country, so there are no issues, such as I have read about in reviews of other Riads.

Jean arranged a Hammam visit for me. Not knowing which Hammam to choose, he suggested Les Bains de Marrakech. It was the most fantastic and luxurious place I've ever been. (Please see my separate review). He also had great suggestions for restaurants and other activities. Since I was a woman traveling alone, he even provided an escort to any place I went alone at night. Marrakesh is perfectly safe, the escort was more so I wouldn't get lost.

The staff is very very friendly and helpful and just what you'd want in your Riad. As a huge contrast from the world outside the Riad, the staff is very professional. There is always at least one person who speaks English available 24 hours a day.

The breakfast is included with your room price. Each morning's meal is brought to you at your choice of location; your room, the roof terrace, the living room by the fire, etc. Breakfast consists of a variety of breads and usually something sweet, jam, butter, honey, an enormous pot of delicious coffee (or tea), and a huge glass of orange juice.

Lunch and dinner is available for purchase, and mint tea, wine, etc is always available.

Although the Riad is reached through a series of narrow, and sometimes dark alleys, there is security (which consists of one or more very nice people) waiting at the gate before the final alley to the Riad. Late at night, the security man will wait out on the main street for guests to come home and escort them through the maze like passages. Once again, it's not dangerous. But it's comforting.

All accommodations are very comfortable and pleasant. The shampoos and soaps smell HEAVENLY! The towels are the plushest I've ever felt. The beds are very comfortable.

The Riad will arrange for your airport pickup and drop off and include this in the cost of your room, if you desire. I do recommend that you arrange the transportation through them. Finding the Riad on your own would be very difficult, as cars cannot get near the door. The taxi will stop at the last street possible, and will call the Riad, wherein someone will come running out to meet you.

Do stay at Dar One. You will NOT be disappointed.

Please also see my advice for first time visitors to Marrakesh.

  • Liked — The Wonderful Owner
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Intrepid_Traveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NY, Madrid
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2009

My husband and I stayed at Dar One for 3 nights and absolutely enjoyed the experience. Jean and his staff were very friendly and always helpful, which made our stay even that much better! It was an added bonus to have the 2 lovely and friendly boxers keep us company.

The riad is well designed, modern minimalist but with a sensibility to Morroccon design. We are both architects so typically very critical to design. They had great attention to detail! Great roofterrace with a view and a nice fireplace at the salon.

The riad is about a 7min walk to the main Djeem el Fna square and next door to the Bahia Palace. Great location in the medina!
A little longer walk to the souks, but still only maybe 10-15min. It was actually great to not be in the middle of the "action" and be in a somewhat more quiet area. A true gem in the medina!

  • Liked — customer service and design
  • Disliked — would prefer more variety in breakfast for long stayers
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank madny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2009

I was recently for one week in Dar One.Verry central next to the
Bahia palace , and on walking distance to the souks and Jemaa el fna . Jean the owner of the Dar organised the taxi from and to
the airport. The Dar is realy an exemple of the perfect renovation,
The interior is very tastefull decoratet . The service of Jean and
his team is the perfection.Your can take a fantastic diner at the
dar,or the owner helps you with the choise of one of the delicious
restaurants in the naberhood . On the roof terrace is the solarium.Rooms,patio,salon are perfect claen. I can recommend
Dar One to everyone how wants a perfect stay in Marrakech.

Ronny Belgium

  • Liked — freindly staff , perfect service , beautyfull accomoddation.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank R0nnyBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#17 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#13 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#26 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#19 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
1.3 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#10 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing