We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Riad in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Dar One

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar One
Ranked #28 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Riad in Marrakech”
Reviewed 3 July 2009

My partner and I just got back from Marrakech where we stayed 2 nights at the wonderful Riad "Dar One" in the middle of the Medina. I am extremely picky and have a great attention to detail, and I have to say, the Riad was spotless! We feel very lucky to have chosen this Riad as everything- from service to cleanliness, to rooms- was just perfect!!! Jean and his team are all very friendly and accommodating. We loved it so much that we are already planning our next trip back to enjoy more of this paradise Riad.
One last thing to note, the location is great, too! Very central, and a lot of things to do in this area.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisalotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

816 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    748
    56
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
67
488
33
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2009

The holiday was excellent. We stayed at The Riad Dar One, run by a very nice French man and his two very large dogs. The hotel catered for our every need as well as providing us with a room on the top floor terrace that gave a view over the city. Cannot fault the place.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarloweEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

I can only echo all the positive comments already written in previous reviews. The riad is beautiful and I couldn't think of a better place to relax after hours exploring frantic Marrakech. Location is very convenient and once familiar with where the Bahia Palace is with regards to the Djemaa el Fna which is simple in itself, the riad is always easy to return to. Breakfast was delicious, the rooms well appointed, beds very comfortable and service was second to none. Huge thanks to Jean and his lovely and attentive team.

We asked for rooms with a shower so stayed in the Sirocco room with its private terrace our first night and then St Ex for another three after our trip to the desert. Despite Sirocco's private terrace we preferred St Ex as it's a bit more spacious with wonderful high ceilings. Loved the blue and orange too. The private terrace is lovely but we felt the communal terrace was just as nice (although we're not a couple so that might be an influence on my opinion!)

We would explore Marrakech during the day and then come back to the riad for a couple of hours before heading out again for dinner, and it was always wonderful to come back to. So peaceful and calm. Another reviewer mentioned that the noise of the air-con was a bit loud during the night but we didn't have a problem with this at all. I loved Morocco and if I return to Marrakech I wouldn't hesitate to book Riad Dar One again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wusmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2009

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Riad Dar One. Each morning their delicious breakfast was a great way to start the day. The staff was very friendly and since they only have five or six rooms, the service was very personal. One evening they made recommendations for a restaurant, called for a dinner reservations and arranged for a cab. The choice was delightful. The location was also very convenient. The only negative thing was the AC which was noisy and we could not sleep without it because of the heat.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Being a very picky person, I did a lot of research before booking this riad, and it was well worth it!
Riad Dar One has a lot to offer:
-perfect location, right next to Palais Bahia
-great hosts, Mr Perez and his team are very professional, very friendly; nothing is a problem, they are always there for help and yet they are not in your way.
-stunning Riad, contemporary furniture meets moroccan architecture.
We stayed in the Sirocco room, on the roof terrace. It is worth paying extra for this room, it gets more light and you get your private terrace above the room. Great decor! Mr Peres has an eye for design.
2 very small minuses:
-there is no sign saying it is a private terrace above the sirocco room, so a few other guests used it while we were there.
-the neighbour (art student..) sketching you from his terrace while you're sunbathing on the private terrace is a bit awkward.
But do not let this prevent you from staying in what is probably the best riad in Marrakech, and without a doubt the best service I've ever had in a small hotel.
I am a Wedding Planner and would not hesitate to book my clients there.
And try the Beldi Country Club for the day, Spa & Swimming pool are fantastic!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THANDACREATIONS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2009

Summary: 2 year new renovated super euro chic, modern morrocan riad. It is run by a chill, welcoming Frenchman who knows how to host, operate a top notch riad and more than willing to cut a deal. Service is carried out by a lovely set of girls (one girl has a twin sister working at another riad we stayed at). Seriously, the big wow factor is the style of the riad and the bedrooms, which is modern and could be in an Architechtural Digest magazine.
-----
On the morning of our return trip from Essaouira (beach) to Marrakech we called Jean who immediately cut us a deal for the night from 80Euros to 60E for the Petit Prince, its lowest priced room. Upon entering in the evening we were taken a back by the warm glow of the interior, partially lit by candles placed around the riad. The petit prince is the smallest but we still liked it and actually its bathroom is a good size and also very modern. The next morning we ate our breakfast downstairs but could have eaten on the terrace upstairs, which is also stunning... For breakfast they give you lots of breads, carbs like everywhere but we asked for eggs and got omelettes. Regarding location, it is very food at the south end of the medina near the royal palace, cool restaurants and 5 min. walk up to the main square. We just overnighted but wigh we had stayed in Dar One at the beginning of our trip too!! We weren´t great fans of Morocco or Marrakech in general but Dar One was a major positive for us.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chinstrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
86 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2009

i stayed in this riad for four nights on a recent trip to marrakech. it was lovely. my flight got in very late and even at 1am we were greeted by people from the riad to help us with our bags. we stayed in the smallest room, le petit prince, but i still found it nicely appointed and not too small or cramped at all. the riad is very nicely decorated and the rooftop very comfortable for lounging or eating. the daily breakfast was great and the owner, jean, was very helpful. be aware that not all the staff speak english, so if you don't know french their help can be quite limited. i would also suggest booking your transport to the hotel yourself. i found the taxi that the hotel arranged to be quite expensive.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yrstruly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#25 of 499 in Marrakech
438 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#20 of 499 in Marrakech
544 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Dar Charkia
Dar Charkia
#37 of 499 in Marrakech
1,315 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#13 of 499 in Marrakech
886 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Romance
Riad Romance
#10 of 499 in Marrakech
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar One? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar One

Property: Riad Dar One
Address: 19 derb Jemaa el Kabir | Hay Salam, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#46 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Dar One 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar One has been renewed with elegance and originality and combines harmoniously design, charm of the old riads and modern comfort. A particular care have been brought to all the lamps and to the thick curtains witch give a smart and funny touch, "very vintage" . An attentive and smiling staff is present 24h on 24 to serve, advise and meet all the expectations of travellers. A haven of peace in the heart of the Medina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Riad Dar One reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar 1
Riad Dar One Marrakech
Riad Dar One Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing