We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“G0rgeous riad,lovely hospitality”
Review of Riad Samsara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Samsara
Ranked #25 of 1,156 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“G0rgeous riad,lovely hospitality”
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed at the Riad for 2 nights.The whole experience was excellent.The riad is sumptiously decorated (original mosiac tiles).We enjoyed a lovely evening meal and scrummy breakfasts.The roof terrace was a sun trap most of the day.Jacqueline and her staff couldn't have been more helpfull and friendly.They gave us loads of advice on what to see and how to get to places.Marrakesh is chaotic and interesting,coming back to the riad in the evening was like stepping back into a calm oasis.We also stayed at Jacqulines riad in the mountains,Dour Samra which I have reviwed separately

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sue190765
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear Friends, it was a pleasure to meet you and have 4 days together, you are family now
Milouda and Touria send you lots of love Hope you'll come back to visit us asap With all our best wishes Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    20
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
63
180
25
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

From the moment we entered this beautiful riad we were stunned by splendour of the building and the charm and warmth of the owner. The fine detail of the architecture gave us an immediate insight into the culture and traditions of this beautiful city. As accomodation providers in England we are normally highly critical of housekeeping standards but to our disappointment we could find no fault with either the furnishings or the cleanliness. The food was superb, and we choose to eat at the riad in the evenings as we could not find the same quality in the medina, a particular highlight was the lamb and prune tagine about which we still dream. I cannot praise this establishment highly enough and suggest booking early as I am sure this gem will be discovered soon.

Room Tip: we loved our room jacaranda! and will return as soon as possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
I am an old Swiss goat !! cleanliness ......!!! thank you for your so nice review and hope you'll come back, Morocco is an amazing country with mountains seaside desert......and kind people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We visited Riad Samsara at the end of October with our three young daughters and had a fabulous time. Jacqueline had organised a taxi from the airport which was a blessing as it was pretty busy in Marrakech when we arrived. Samsara is hidden in the medina down some narrow lanes right in the heart of the working city. It is a cool oasis in the middle of seeming chaos and heat. Behind the heavy door is a beautiful tiled atrium with water fountain and flowers. Downstairs are two areas for eating at traditional low tables which are situated at either side of the atrium where there are also seating areas for reading/tea. We asked for a meal on the first night as it was late, and the food was so good we ended up staying in for the other nights we were there. Medula the cook produced three courses of fantastic tasty Moroccan fare each evening - even our daughters (9,7 & 3) munched their way through most of it. We had the dining area to ourselves - the table decor was stunning - and the staff had lit a fire as it is open and can get a little chilly after dark (the cat loved the fire!). The wine was lovely and there was plenty of special recipe mint tea. Jacqueline is a true hostess, engaging with our children and advising us what to do. She has painstakingly restored the Riad to original glory and beyond - she has albums of pictures which are amazing to see. The bedrooms are tranquil and well decorated with a few beautiful personal touches. Our girls all slept in one room (two in a double and one in a single bed) and we had an adjoining one - this worked well for us. There is a travel cot if you have a younger baby. All rooms on the first floor lead onto the balcony overlooking the atrium. It seemed a bit open at first, but fine for the children as long as they understand not to run around, and take care on the stone steps up and down. The roof terrace is lovely for breakfast in the morning sun - there is only one covered area though so you need to be there first if you want the shade. Breakfast was traditional breads and jams - all extremely delicious, plenty of coffee, tea and juice to set you up for the day. Kids should be accompanied on to the roof terrace. We enjoyed a few trips out - Marrakech city is fine for young children for a couple of days, but probably not much more. The caleches (horse and cart) were fun- you have to bargain. We also took our girls to a lovely pottery workshop on the Saturday morning - Jacqueline has the details - run by a super lady who entertained them for hours! The area is bustling with a local market - not to everyone's taste, but for us and our children it showed the true side of Marrakech - particularly as it was Eid and everyone was carting sheep around on mopeds and trailers. We are looking forward to trying out Jacqueline's hostel in the Atlas mountains next - the pictures look amazing. Thank you and all your staff for a very memorable few days - we shall return!

Room Tip: There are only three rooms on the first floor, although it seems that some latecomers can stay in th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear beautiful family, we have so nice memories with the kids .......they are lovely. Hope to see you soon again in Morocco Thank you so much for your kindness Jacqueline
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Beautiful riad, charming host, efficient and helpful staff and wonderful food cooked by Milouda. Yes the riad is a fair walk north of the souks, but this means you are in the heart of a real Marrakesh community. Afternoon mint tea on the terrace a delight, breakfast a real feast. Looking forward to our next visit already, the children miss Jacqueline. Go to the hostal in the Mountains as well for a totally different, but equally hospitable and relaxing experience.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
thank you young gentleman i am happy you enjoyed your stay at home with us, i hope you come back to morocco soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ross on Wye, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Having travelled to Morocco 6+ times before we always tended to land and leave Marrakech for our favoured town of Essaouria. However, this time we were visiting with our 6 month old baby and wanted more turn around time and a new experience so we booked 2 nights in Riad Samsara followed by 3 nights in Kasbah Samra - the sister hotel in the Atlas mountains. What a treat we had in store! Riad Samsara is bursting with Moroccan authenticity and opulence with fabulously large, opulent rooms and beds and a beautifully decorated courtyard with Jacqueline's (the owners) sweet little dog running round and Jade the cat stretched out on the copious sofa space. Jacqueline was a delightful hostess assisting us when our baby had a medical query we were unsure about and always greeting us affectionately and checking we had everything we desired. All of the staff could not do enough for us and we left feeling we had made real friends. I am going to write a similarly favourable review on the Samra website which was also fantastic and provided some of the best Moroccan cooking we have ever tasted. I would recommend this riad to anyone and think that it is good value for money. We did not eat at the riad but met another family that did and they spoke very highly of the experience, saying it was great food, eaten by candellight in front of a roaring fire. On our last day Sky TV were filming a Moroccan food programme there so we are obviously not alone in thinking this riad is something special!

Room Tip: Stayed in 2 rooms and both were amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frances592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
you are very kind... big kisses from morocco and i am happy to have you at home soon, i think the programme will be on television in april, i am excited!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Riad samsara certainly lived up to expectations - far more beautiful than its website pictures were - quite a change from most hotels.

Jacqueline and her lovely staff were warm and welcoming. as well as being great hosts, they were really helpful in terms of helping with directions and recommending where to go. Jacqueline was also really accommodating prior to our arrival, as we had to change our booking dates, which made life hugely easier for us.

It offered peace and tranquility in what is at times an exhausting and frustrating city (mostly down to chancers offering directions....), but with a terrace with a lovely view and comfortable (and amazingly restored) communal spaces. as there are only 3 rooms, and breakfast/other meals are served with other guests, it also offered us the chance to chat to fellow travellers in a really easy way - great, for example, if you're travelling on your own.

The riad was definitely the highlight of our stay in marrakech. our room was fantastic - we were upgraded to the most expensive room as the one we wanted wasn't available. We're used to travelling on a budget, but this was really an affordable treat and worth every penny!

The only downside is that it's a little way out of the main area, it wasn't too far to walk - only about 15 mins down to the djema el fna - even taking into account getting a little bit lost! because it's a little bit out of the main tourist area, not sure of the restaurants in the area if you don't eat in the riad (which was delicious) or down in the square area (although only a couple of mins walk out into the newer part of town, where i believe there's plenty of options)

we also visited jacqueline's place in the atlas mountains - would definitely recommend this too - outstanding!!!!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swearyclairey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
thank you for your kind words, i am happy you enjoyed your stay with us at home in morocco... Come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2012

beautiful Riad. We were welcomed with warmness and made to feel at home. The food was amazing and Jacquline is a truley exceptional women.

Would recommend this Riad and the sister one in the Atlas mountains to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
thank you young lady... I am very lucky to have such wonderful friends to share my home with! i am happy you enjoyed your stay in morocco and i hope you will come and visit us again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#12 of 1,156 in Marrakech
277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#5 of 1,156 in Marrakech
644 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Matham
Riad Matham
#30 of 1,156 in Marrakech
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#8 of 1,156 in Marrakech
771 reviews
1.4 mi away
Riad Charme d'Orient
Riad Charme d'Orient
#14 of 1,156 in Marrakech
356 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Argan
Riad Argan
#17 of 1,156 in Marrakech
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Samsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samsara

Property: Riad Samsara
Address: 6, Derb El Aarsa | Tarzout -Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 1,156 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Samsara 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Samsara is a traditional riad, full of charm, quietly nestled close to the heart of the bustling Medina. Jacqueline, your hostess, welcomes those travellers in search of an authentic experience, to her meticulously hand-renovated palace. The three opulent bedrooms each have their own individual style and are full of small touches to make your stay extra special.One of the most beautiful and original homes in Marrakech. Tailored for personal service and space, this is your own secluded sanctuary, a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Riad Samsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samsara Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing