We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“love love love oh and did i mention love”
Review of Riad Samsara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Samsara
Ranked #47 of 1,172 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 December 2012

It is hard to explain when you come across something so perfect.
And to do so would spoil it for others so i will keep this short and let you experience it for yourself we stayed in jacquelines berber village house and the riad in marrakesh and both places felt like home you are treated like you have been away for a while and welcomed back with open arms.
as for jacqueline you could not ask for a better host and makes you wish that she was part of your family.

We are already making arrangments to return but this time four of us and i dont normally like to
ever go to the same place twice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Dear John, Of course you'll come back !!! you have two houses now in Morocco. Thank you so much for your kindness and lots of love from Morocco. Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

163 - 169 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

My family and I had a fantastic week with Jacqueline in her lovely Riad. We were 6 people and had the Riad for ourselves.

As a family we felt really at home and enjoyed our stay in the lovely Riad. The staff an especially Miluda was fantastic and made at great breakfast every morning. When we went back in the afternoon there was arranged Tea with cookies.

Season meant that there was a bit cold in the rooms. :0( and the heater doesn’t work in one of the rooms - It took 3 days before it works.

Thank you for a lovely week in Riad Samsara.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandt_Lars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2012

i am so happy you enjoyed your stay at home with us. We are lucky to have the reverse air conditioning for less than 1 year at samsara because many homes do not! i can only apologise that our first requirement for more gas for the system to be efficient coincided with your stay. In Morrocco it is impossible for an engineer to arrive on a sunday, it is the life! as soon as the problem was reported the company was called and we were given their first appointment to fix the system for monday afternoon. I am sure you enjoyed suitable compensation for the inconvience! We hope to see you again in morocco soon.
Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

This Riad is absolutely beautiful and the large room we were given was really something special. The staff here are excellent and take care of you as if you were family. They give whatever help you need in navigating your way around the maze which is Marrakech and the taxi driver they booked for us was the most helpful we had in the city.

We ate food in the Riad one night and it was by far the best meal we had in Marrakech.

The Riad is about a 20 minute walk from the city central square with the medina so you'll either have to like exploring the city or be prepared to pay for taxis if you stay there. I would definitely recommend as I could not imagine staying in a better Riad.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lewis J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Dear Lovely guests, it was a pleasure to welcome you, Milouda and all staff send you lots of love from sunny Morocco. Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

After a long, hot and dusty day in the medina or its outskirts, kissing snakes or whatnot, arriving back in the soothing calm of the Riad was truly a magical experience. Immediate balsam for the mind. Jacqueline and her trusty, quiet but always smiling and helpful assistant create a magical atmosphere taken right of some oriental sheherazade story. We stayed for dinner right in the riad as the food was so incredible delicious and the ambiente dream-like. The rooms and bathrooms are very clean and tastefully set up. We will never forget the immediate transition from the hustle and bustle outside to the quiet and peaceful sounds of a water fountain as soon as one passed through the main door. Unforgettable. Thank you Jacqueline.

Room Tip: All rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Klaus E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2012

Dear Friend, thank you so much for your kind words, it helps us. We hope to welcome you again in Morocco. Very best wishes and happy Xmas. Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2012

The Riad Samsara has been beautifully restored, the rooms are authentic and beautiful, the garden an oasis and the roof provides for a comfortable and relaxing respite from a day out in Marrakesh. The warm hospitality of Jacqueline, Malouda and Toure made our stay. Malouda's breakfast is excellent and her dinner tagine wonderful and she looked after us like a mother would. The Riad can be tricky to find so ask Jacqueline to book you a car from the airport and pre book one any evening you plan on coming back late.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolynNYC2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear Carolyn, thank you to visit us at Riad SAMSARA in a realy authentic area ! the old city : the medina, is another planet ! it was a pleasure to meet you. Very kind regards Lots of love from Milouda and Touria.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Jacqueline sees to every detail. You are met at the nearest Gate to the medina and escorted to the riad. The tiled courtyard has wonderful rose and other climbing bushes, which attract birds morning and dusk. Votive candles and the soft aroma of incense make evenings a delight as you lounge about in the plush Moroccan couches. Our room had welcoming rose petals on the towels. We had the smallest room available but there was everything we needed, and a separate shower and toilet (although watch you don't splash too much water around with the handheld shower head!).
We ordered dinner and had a gorgeous array of vegetables and a meat tagine.
Very hospitable and an oasis from the surrounding alleyways and medina!

Room Tip: Olivia is the smallest room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Megan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Hello my lovely Kiwis, thank you so much for your kindness. Milouda and all staff send you lots of love. Very kind regards Jacqueline.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Having met Jacqueline 5 years ago in her wonderful mountain retreat at Doura Samra in the Atlas mountains my wife and I were driven by a desire to stay at her riad in Marrakech.At last on 9th october after a long journey from Cardiff our taxi driver delivered us to the door of Jacqueline's home! We were quite overcome by the beauty,furnishings,decoration and welcome we received.We were spoilt from that moment onwards until we went off to stay at Dourar Samra before challenging mount Toubkal with the guidance and help of a local guide sourced by Rashida who looks after the guests so well.
Having achieved our Toubkal goal and exhasusted by it we returned for more wine, pampering and recovery by Jacqueline, and Malouda whose cooking was quite superb.!! Unfortunately we had to return to Wales as the holiday was coming to an end but what memories!! I did not want to write this review from a selfish point of view as I know we shall have to book up further in advance now as visitors will want ro experience this most welcoming riad in town! Enjoy.

Room Tip: rooms on first floor are all super
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 450rob1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Owner at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2012

Dear beautiful friends, thank you so much to back to visit us again, you know that you are our Family. Thank you for this kind review. With our Love Jacqueline and all team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#56 of 499 in Marrakech
254 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 499 in Marrakech
480 reviews
1.7 mi away
Riad Chamali
Riad Chamali
#31 of 1,172 in Marrakech
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Riad 64
Riad 64
#285 of 1,172 in Marrakech
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#9 of 1,172 in Marrakech
779 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,172 in Marrakech
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Samsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samsara

Address: 6, Derb El Aarsa | Tarzout -Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #47 of 1,172 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £50 - £80 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Samsara 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Samsara is a traditional riad, full of charm, quietly nestled close to the heart of the bustling Medina. Jacqueline, your hostess, welcomes those travellers in search of an authentic experience, to her meticulously hand-renovated palace. The three opulent bedrooms each have their own individual style and are full of small touches to make your stay extra special.One of the most beautiful and original homes in Marrakech. Tailored for personal service and space, this is your own secluded sanctuary, a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Samsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samsara Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing