We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”
Review of Riad Samsara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Samsara
Ranked #43 of 1,169 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 November 2013

After reading all of the wonderful reviews of Riad Samsara we were so excited to arrive and from the moment we stepped through the door we knew that we would not be disappointed.

Jacqueline arranged for a taxi driver to collect us from the Supratours bus station and take us to the Riad, which was great as you cannot drive right up to the Riad so the driver helpfully took us to the door. Malouda swiftly offered sweet mint tea and delicious cake, which we had on the roof surrounded by flowers and birdsong.

The position of the Riad in the medina suited us down to a T - it is a short (15 minute) walk down to the souks/main square and we felt like we were really sharing in a slice of true Marrakech life, away from the throngs of tourists in the central area. Yes, it can be a little tricky to find your way back but Jacqueline gives guests all the information that they need should they need to jump in a petit taxi (no more than 20dhm from Jemaa el Fnaa to the Riad). We actually really enjoyed getting lost - there is so much to see around every new corner!

We were in the Hibiscus room, which was very luxurious! It had a huge comfy bed, beautiful furnishings and a bath fit for a princess! In fact, talking about princesses, we had the pleasure of a purring Princess Jade curled up at our feet when we awoke each morning! Malouda's breakfasts were delicious and we also enjoyed one of her 3-course dinners - served in candlelight in a beautiful room overlooking the central fountain. It all truly was 5*s and more!

Jacqueline… well how can we describe her? She is a joy to meet and made us feel like we were family joining her in her home. Jacqueline’s creativity, warmth, and generosity spills out of every corner of both this Riad and her Douar Samra in the mountains - making both a must if you want to experience a slice of authentic Moroccan adventure with a slab of luxury thrown in for good measure!

Thank you Jacqueline, your two princesses hope to be back soon! Jess & Tracy (Bristol, UK) xxxx

Room Tip: Hibiscus is seriously luxurious! Recomended!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jezlew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear guest,

Greetings from Riad SAMSARA

We are delighted and so grateful to hear your wonderful comment in Trip Advisor about our Riad . Thank you for the compliments about the service at our property.

The privacy ,the cosy rooms and all the other facilities and small touches we add just to make Riad SAMSARA a real haven and relaxing place for your vacations.


The positive ratings you gave us on Tripadvisor are greatly appreciated and we wish we have the opportunity to be at your service again in the near future. We are looking forward to welcome you back next year.

Warm personal regards,

Khadija for Mrs Jacqueline BRANDT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (359)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 359 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

We were recommended to try Samsara by a friend, who had stayed there when she was on a course at Easter time. We weren't disappointed. It goes a very long way towards being one of the nicest places we have stayed. Nothing seemed to be too much trouble, the rooms were spotless, the house itself is both peaceful and very beautiful, our towels were refreshed almost daily, luxury toiletries were provided, the staff looked after us, whether it was finding us or accompanying us to the door of a restaurant, showing us the best route to get somewhere, or booking us cars to the mountains the airport etc. The in-house food was amongst the best we tasted during our stay. Marrakech is a bustling, noisy, fume filled city, Samsara provides a lovely peaceful,cool, clean and relaxing respite from all the busyness outside and we would recommend it unreservedly.

Whilst in Morocco we also visited Douar Samra the wonderful house in a Berber village in the High Atlas mountains also owned by Samsara's owner which was, despite some inclement weather during our stay there, also a complete treat.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear David,
Thank you for your kind words and for taking the time to share your experience at Riad

SAMSARA and we are pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay in our Riad

It is always gratifying to learn that our guests have enjoyed their experiences among us .

you were such a very nice and kind people too ,and we really miss you

.We are looking forward to your next visit and to have the pleasure of welcoming you.

With best regards.

Sincerely,

Khadija for Mrs Jacqueline BRANDT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We loved both Marrakech and Riad Samsara. Jacqueline, her wonderful staff and her delightful riad provided the perfect base for us as first-time travellers to the Arab world. It was a place to feel safe, comfortable cared for. The staff went out of their way to give us the advice we needed to make the most of Marrakech. It meant we could be independent travellers, yet avoid all the stresses of having to deal with an unfamiliar country and culture. After six days staying here and in Jacqueline's equally wonderful Douar Samra in the Atlas mountains, we returned to England refreshed and inspired by the experience of Morocco.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Donald
Thank you for visiting Riad SAMSARA and for taking the time to share your opinion; we are so happy to hear that your experience with us was very pleased
Our team truly thank you for your review , for us it's the best reward to hear that you liked every moment at our Riad SAMSARA, and we wish to welcome you again on your next visit to Marrakech.
.Please know that your comments are valuable to us in exceeding our guest expectations.
We are looking forward to your next visit
Very Kind regards
Khadija for Mrs Jacqueline BRANDT

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We can't recommend Riad Samsara highly enough. The riad itself is absolutely stunning with exquisite decor. It is truly a peaceful oasis among the hustle of Marrakech. We were greeted very late on a Friday evening with the warmest of welcomes from Jacqueline who owns Samsara, and had an absolutely fantastic meal prepared for us by the brilliant Milouda. It was wonderful to eat in such a stunning setting. The food was absolutely delicious. Breakfast on the terrace was also just brilliant.

Please do not be put off by the location. It is within easy walking distance from the main square. Also on our first morning we were given help by the housekeeper to find the main route into the centre which was so helpful.

We stayed in the sister hotel in the Atlas Mountains and Jacqueline made it so easy for us and organised our transfers. It was completely hassle free.

Riad Samsara is an absolute treat, you must stay here. It is simply beautiful, idyllic, serene and very magical. We hope to be back! Meghan and David

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Poppy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2013

Dear Meghan and David, it was a pleasure to welcome you in both properties, thank you for your nice words for all staff. Lots of love from Morocco Very kind regards Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed in Riad Samsara during our honeymoon. The owner, Jacqueline was so welcoming and the housemanager so intens helpfull with showing us around and giving us tips and tricks. The food made by our personal chef was so good and very Maroccan.
I think Marrakech is not my city because of its hustleing. Being in the quiet Riad Samsara and it's beautiful rooms made it all worth while.

Room Tip: All rooms are just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hedi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

We were so happy to welcome you for this special event, never forget you .....with our love XXX Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My husband and I can't say enough good things about this wonderful riad. The setting, the food, the style-- everything was perfect. We slept wonderfully to boot. Jacqueline is the ideal host: welcoming and brimming with enthusiasm and information. Thank you, Jacqueline.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2013

Thank you lovely Marisa, hope you'll be back home. It was a pleasure to welcome you at Riad SAMSARA XXX Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

My boyfriend and I spent the most wonderful few days at Riad Samsara in May. Isabelle and Jacqueline were extremely welcoming and informative, and Milouda was a fabulous cook. The rooms were beautifully appointed and the rooftop terrace was lovely. I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JacquelineMarrakech, Propriétaire at Riad Samsara, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2013

Dear Alex, thank you for your kindness, you have an house in Marrakech ! Riad SAMSARA is your home With our best regards Jacqueline

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.7 mi away
Riad Chamali
Riad Chamali
#33 of 1,169 in Marrakech
501 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Abaca Badra
Riad Abaca Badra
#7 of 1,169 in Marrakech
670 reviews
0.7 mi away
Dar Nour El Houda
Dar Nour El Houda
#13 of 1,169 in Marrakech
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Aguaviva
Riad Aguaviva
#8 of 1,169 in Marrakech
778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad la Parenthese
Riad la Parenthese
#22 of 1,169 in Marrakech
316 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Gallery 49
Riad Gallery 49
#31 of 1,169 in Marrakech
268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Samsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Samsara

Address: 6, Derb El Aarsa | Tarzout -Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 1,169 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £49 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Samsara 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Samsara is a traditional riad, full of charm, quietly nestled close to the heart of the bustling Medina. Jacqueline, your hostess, welcomes those travellers in search of an authentic experience, to her meticulously hand-renovated palace. The three opulent bedrooms each have their own individual style and are full of small touches to make your stay extra special.One of the most beautiful and original homes in Marrakech. Tailored for personal service and space, this is your own secluded sanctuary, a home from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Samsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Samsara Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing