We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It has all been said”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Ranked #118 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“It has all been said”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

It is all those things,that all the previous excellent reviews say it is.
Staff,charming. Room,stunning. Breakfast,perfect. Cool and peaceful.
Short and interesting walk from Jeema el Fna.
Marrakech is bustling and great fun, perfect for a short break.
Bougainvilliers is calm and well managed, perfect for a short break.
Oh, I could go on, just read the others. They say it all.
Highly recommended, top of our list for our next visit.
Thanks to all the very efficient and friendly staff we had the perfect stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    246
    63
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
66
155
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Ideal location, just minutes from the hustle and bustle of the main square but amazingly calm and peaceful. Clean, fresh rooms with some quirky touches - the bathroom in our room was particularly interesting! Lovely roof top terrace and plenty of public spaces in which to enjoy mint tea and pastries. The staff were especially delightful, very polite, gentle and pleased to help.
We will certainly return to Marrakech and this riad would be our first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxo220912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Riad Les Bougainvilliers was a true oasis in the craziness of the Marrakech medina. While the staff/service was the highlight, the raid itself was very nice as well. The outside, like everything in the medina, is completely nondescript and the entrance is an unmarked door in a dark side street in the medina. At times of the night the side street might be a touch sketchy, in particular the corner nearest the riad where some young men tend to hang out and chat, but they never caused any trouble or really paid us any heed whatsoever.

We arrived at the airport on a late flight and we were met by a shuttle driver from the shuttle that we had arranged (not free by the way - we were charged at checkout - but worth it). He drove us about ten minutes and parked outside of the neighborhood and walked us through the dark streets to the Riad. We were met at the door by the kind and friendly Yassin who told us that they had prepared a small late dinner for us, which we weren't expecting but we ate thankfully. It was really delicious and it was served by the truly kind woman who cleans and cooks (we didn't catch her name). She was really delightful although her English is non-existent. She also took care of the breakfast every morning and did all the room cleaning when we were there. Yassin told us that he had upgraded our room to a suites just because there was room, which was really great of him! The room was by pretty and nice and clean. It's no luxury or five star hotel in terms of fanciness/glitz, but it was very nice.

As I said, the service is the absolute highlight of Riad Les Bougainvilliers. Everything was done with a smile, and they were infinitely helpful. They arranged a guide for us on our first day (he was okay - not great; had some strange vaguely anti-American things to say) and it was a wonderful relief to get back to the riad after our half-day tour! I consulted with the guys at the Riad about tips finding stuff in the Souk and whatever advice they had.

On our last day, we had an overnight train to catch, and we asked if they had some snacks we could take with us for the journey. We waited for about 15 minutes, and to our surprise, they came back with a bag full of eats! Delicious homemade bread with some cheese and butter, some yogurt snacks, and plenty of water! All in all, we don't know if we will be back to Marrakech anytime soon, and if we do, staying in the Medina might not be our choice the second time around, but we highly recommend Riad Les Bougainvilliers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Philippe and the staff at Les Bougainvillers were amazing. The riad is a perfect retreat from the often manic streets of Marrakesh. Perfect location for the old town and many of the tourist spots. Breakfast included was simple but ample (pancakes, bread, yogurt, fruit, orange juice, tea, coffee). Would recommend to everybody!

Room Tip: Anthémis Suite was perfect - had a bath, big room, balcony over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shuvle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed here mid-December 2013 had a great few days, and what a peaceful, tranquil haven away from the amazing surrounding area. Would definitely go back again :') Was a great idea to have the Riad to arrange our pick up at the airport that was really nice to have someone waiting for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane011966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights over the New Year. We were picked up at the airport by a driver organised by the Riad to the city. From there a man was waiting with a trolley for our luggage and off we went down a noisy narrow lane then through a couple of turns and there was our Riad.
Riads in general might not look like much from the outside but inside this one was a treasure of beautiful artwork on the walls and ceilings and a lovely courtyard and pool in the centre.
Our room was unique (Jasmine) in that the shower was in the corner of the room in the style of the traditional hammam. The room was spacious and quiet and the bed was comfortable .
We were welcomed by all staff and they were very obliging, we had two evening meals including New Years Eve and they could not do enough for us. The night manager, Yaseena organised many things for us including a driver/vehicle that took us out to the high Atlas for a wonderful day trip. Would highly recommend this Riad.

Room Tip: We had Jasmine but the other couple had a double room that was more conventional and maybe better su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelockes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

First time staying at a hotel room without a key, which is interesting. There is only a bolt on the door. ... It is a very nice riad, clean and elegant, very close to Jemaa el Fna, a real oasis in Medina. The staff are friendly and helpful. Breakfast is fresh and good. ...

It is quite difficult to find this riad, though, if it is your first visit to Marrakech. Marrakech medina is a labyrinth of small winding alleys. When we took a taxi from the airport to Jemaa el Fna square, the taxi driver said that we could walk from the square to our riad where no car could drive in. I knew that the riad was not far from the square, so I thought it should be all right. But it turned out that we were not exactly at the square and none of the persons I asked on the street knew where the riad was. Then an old man came and said that he would like to show us the way. We followed him through the labyrinth and finally arrived the riad. He wanted 50 dirhams in reward. That was quite expensive, compared with the taxi fare, which was 70 dirhams.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YMLAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#38 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#85 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#145 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#206 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#70 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#157 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Les Bougainvilliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Bougainvilliers

Property: Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Address: 5, derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#82 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#83 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Les Bougainvilliers 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marrakesh 4-star Riad les Bougainvilliers, located in Riad Zitoune Lakdim, only five minutes away from the Djemaa el Fna square, offers a special holiday in Morocco, in one of the country's most enchanting cities, rich in souks, narrow streets, palaces, mosques, handicraft and Islamic Art Museums. Passed the Riad's entrance you will be fascinated by a patio hosting a flowered garden with banana and palm trees. A second patio hosts the swimming pool, while the indoor lounge and the terrace offer the ideal atmosphere to read a book and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Les Bougainvilliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Bougainvilliers Hotel Marrakech
Riad Les Bougainvilliers Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing