We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What Great Staff and Food !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Les Bougainvilliers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Ranked #112 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“What Great Staff and Food !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have just spent an excellent week at the Riad les Bougainvilliers.How can we say anything fresh from the praise that has been showered on this riad by other guests?
What really stood out for us were two aspects: the staff and the food.
All the staff are absolutely delightful - Monseff and Yassine the two managers, Hannane the chef, Badia and Rashida the maids and Khadiya who provides treatments in the in-house hammam [although we didn’t manage to sample these].
They have all worked at the riad for a considerable time. They get on really well with each other and looked after us brilliantly and with genuine grace!
And the food! Well we spoilt ourselves by having two dinners at the riad. You can certainly find cheaper meals in the city but the standard of Hannane’s cooking was quite exceptional. Her couscous on the last night will be a lasting memory and was light-years better than the standard restaurant couscous.
Although less than 5 mins walk from the main square the riad is an oasis of calm and our bedroom was clean and comfortable. The riad is perfectly positioned for getting an excellent feel for the real Marrakesh, many of the city’s highlights, and several very well-priced restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ducksoup11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    63
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
65
153
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cardiff
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Only ten minutes from the square via dusty roads. Not difficult to find once you have been shown. A taxi takes you close but get the Riad to send a man with a cart for your luggage to get you to your door. Best get Riad to book the taxi transfer rather than pay over the top via tour operators.
Lovely traditional building with courtyards and balconies. Always beautifully clean. Large fluffy white towels and bath robes. We had a huge room,bathroom,separate toilet and a balcony. Good breakfasts in Moroccan style. Fresh orange juice,bread,cheese,jams,fruit. Dinner by arrangement . Very much home cooking , a three course Moroccan meal but with no choices. Generous portions. Would be nice to know more than a day in advance about the meals and to sample things you don't get in the local restaurants which sell tagines and couscous and not much else. But the cook will make food you like if you ask.
Riad staff are all excellent with the highest standards of service. Trips can be arranged for you. We went to the mountains for the day and to a hammam. There is a roof garden where you can use loungers. Our only problem was the heating that didn't work but was fixed quickly. A wood fire was made in our room during the repair which was lovely. The dining room was cold and needs a fire on in the evening but rose petals on the table are a lovely touch. We visited in February when it was quite cold at night.in summer you would be glad of the cool rooms. Improvements we would suggest are an information book detailing local attractions . A good choice for a medium priced accommodation. Staff speak French,Arabic and English. We enjoyed our stay and had a lot of laughs.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ladyprimula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
209 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We decided to spend a couple of days in a riad in the middle of the medina before spending some time in a resort during our visit to Marrakech.
The place is nice and clean if a bit basic, but for the prices we really cannot complain. The service was phenomenal, friendly and quick.
The location was excellent with a quick walk to the main square and most of the major attractions.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank faarias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

It is all those things,that all the previous excellent reviews say it is.
Staff,charming. Room,stunning. Breakfast,perfect. Cool and peaceful.
Short and interesting walk from Jeema el Fna.
Marrakech is bustling and great fun, perfect for a short break.
Bougainvilliers is calm and well managed, perfect for a short break.
Oh, I could go on, just read the others. They say it all.
Highly recommended, top of our list for our next visit.
Thanks to all the very efficient and friendly staff we had the perfect stay.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Ideal location, just minutes from the hustle and bustle of the main square but amazingly calm and peaceful. Clean, fresh rooms with some quirky touches - the bathroom in our room was particularly interesting! Lovely roof top terrace and plenty of public spaces in which to enjoy mint tea and pastries. The staff were especially delightful, very polite, gentle and pleased to help.
We will certainly return to Marrakech and this riad would be our first choice for accommodation.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxo220912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2014

Riad Les Bougainvilliers was a true oasis in the craziness of the Marrakech medina. While the staff/service was the highlight, the raid itself was very nice as well. The outside, like everything in the medina, is completely nondescript and the entrance is an unmarked door in a dark side street in the medina. At times of the night the side street might be a touch sketchy, in particular the corner nearest the riad where some young men tend to hang out and chat, but they never caused any trouble or really paid us any heed whatsoever.

We arrived at the airport on a late flight and we were met by a shuttle driver from the shuttle that we had arranged (not free by the way - we were charged at checkout - but worth it). He drove us about ten minutes and parked outside of the neighborhood and walked us through the dark streets to the Riad. We were met at the door by the kind and friendly Yassin who told us that they had prepared a small late dinner for us, which we weren't expecting but we ate thankfully. It was really delicious and it was served by the truly kind woman who cleans and cooks (we didn't catch her name). She was really delightful although her English is non-existent. She also took care of the breakfast every morning and did all the room cleaning when we were there. Yassin told us that he had upgraded our room to a suites just because there was room, which was really great of him! The room was by pretty and nice and clean. It's no luxury or five star hotel in terms of fanciness/glitz, but it was very nice.

As I said, the service is the absolute highlight of Riad Les Bougainvilliers. Everything was done with a smile, and they were infinitely helpful. They arranged a guide for us on our first day (he was okay - not great; had some strange vaguely anti-American things to say) and it was a wonderful relief to get back to the riad after our half-day tour! I consulted with the guys at the Riad about tips finding stuff in the Souk and whatever advice they had.

On our last day, we had an overnight train to catch, and we asked if they had some snacks we could take with us for the journey. We waited for about 15 minutes, and to our surprise, they came back with a bag full of eats! Delicious homemade bread with some cheese and butter, some yogurt snacks, and plenty of water! All in all, we don't know if we will be back to Marrakech anytime soon, and if we do, staying in the Medina might not be our choice the second time around, but we highly recommend Riad Les Bougainvilliers.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Philippe and the staff at Les Bougainvillers were amazing. The riad is a perfect retreat from the often manic streets of Marrakesh. Perfect location for the old town and many of the tourist spots. Breakfast included was simple but ample (pancakes, bread, yogurt, fruit, orange juice, tea, coffee). Would recommend to everybody!

Room Tip: Anthémis Suite was perfect - had a bath, big room, balcony over looking pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shuvle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#41 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Le Rihani
Le Rihani
#86 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#102 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#67 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#200 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 222 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Palais des Princesses
Riad Palais des Princesses
#163 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Les Bougainvilliers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Les Bougainvilliers

Property: Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Address: 5, derb Ben Amrane | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Médina, Marrakech, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#78 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#82 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#84 Family Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Les Bougainvilliers 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marrakesh 4-star Riad les Bougainvilliers, located in Riad Zitoune Lakdim, only five minutes away from the Djemaa el Fna square, offers a special holiday in Morocco, in one of the country's most enchanting cities, rich in souks, narrow streets, palaces, mosques, handicraft and Islamic Art Museums. Passed the Riad's entrance you will be fascinated by a patio hosting a flowered garden with banana and palm trees. A second patio hosts the swimming pool, while the indoor lounge and the terrace offer the ideal atmosphere to read a book and relax. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and LoveHolidays so you can book your Riad Les Bougainvilliers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Les Bougainvilliers Hotel Marrakech
Riad Les Bougainvilliers Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing