We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of calm”
Review of Riad Hayane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Hayane
Ranked #271 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Oasis of calm”
Reviewed 4 February 2010

Marrakesh can be hard work so was nice to be in quite a bustling part of the city but be in perfect peace and quiet inside the Riad. The staff couldn't have been more considerate, helpful and friendly - to the extent of lending us cash when we had had trouble with the ATMs! The room was pleasant and comfortable - the strewn rose petals were a nice touch. The public areas esp the roof terrace were comfortable and interestingly and attractively decorated. We had our meal there the night we arrived and it was one of the two best meals we had the whole of our stay. The location was excellent, all the major attractions of the medina within walking distance but away from the major crowds. Mind you, we like to walk, if you don't you can pick up a taxi from outside the nearby Bab Ksiba or the staff will order you one. We loved it and would go back and recommend it to others. I'd say however that any traditional Riad is not the place for you if you expect your accommodation to provide entertainment and all 21st century hotel mod cons. Steep stairs, open plunge pools, lots of ornaments make them, I think, unsuitable for small children. Paying electronically we found could be a problem throughout Morocco; one problem is actually connections, we had probs at ATMs, and as for credit cards remember they get less money if you pay by card and Morocco is not a rich country.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kennogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    9
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
7
25
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atherstone
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2010

Not quite as lovely as photos indicate, just Ok. Nothing to do in riad. It is just that bit too far from centre of town to bother returning in the day. Maybe better in summer when you could sunbathe on roof terrace. Ali was very obliging. However breakfast out in the cold was none too special. No heating in the riad except for the electric heater in our room.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandyberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a week and loved every minute of it. As crazy and mad as the Medina is, the Ksiba is as relaxing and calm. From the lovely roof terrace to our cool and peaceful room this place was exactly what is required to escape the hustle and bustle. The 3 Moroccans that ran the place were really friendly and helpful and one spoke good english when our francaise wasn't quite up to scratch. They organised a driver to take us up to the Atlas mountains for a day for 750 Dirhams. It was a great trip and we were able to avoid the other large groups of tourists. The breakfasts of Moroccan pancakes and coffee were a great start to the day.

The Jemaa El Fna is only a 15 minute walk through a series of typically busy streets with plenty going on - never a dull moment. I would thoroughly recommend the Ksiba as a peaceful and relaxing place to stay while you enjoy the exitement and craziness.

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TravelWeaselIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2007

This Riad is absolutely wonderful if you'd like to sample true Morocco. Its nestled into a quiet corner of the very busy medina and it was quite surprising to experience how peacful and tranquil it felt.

The staff are fantastic and helped organise and book the variouys restaurants and excursions we wanted to go to. This Riad is ideal if you're looking for something that is child friendly and somethin a little different from a standard hotel.

Djema el fana is a 15 minute walk from hotel and about 5 minutes from
the Saadian tombs so perfect for anyone that likes to site see.

  • Liked — Beautiful Rooms, Excellent service
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MissTD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2007

Very similar comments to the review below. Good value, Beautiful Riad, a real oasis of calm, 6 good sized rooms opening onto a central
courtyard. Rooms have no TV (there is one central one if needed) or Hilton-like mod cons (if you want that, don't book a riad) but hot water etc never ran out.

Also several sitting rooms to relax and chat and really great sun terrace on the roof with sunloungers etc.

Very helpful and attentive staff who are there at all times if needed
but are never intrusive. Helps (as with all of Morrocco) if you speak
some French.

Riad location is in the old town and very close to saadian tombs and some sights, but a 20 minute walk to the centre and souks and most other sights etc.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Johnfromkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2007

This Riad was beautifully decorated and had a very relaxing atmosphere. The rooms were luxurious, the dining area was very romantic, and the terrace was excellent for catching some sunshine. The riad is hidden away in the Kasbah and felt a bit isolated from the main section of the Medina (20min walk to the main square). We got lost on our way back on the first night. The service from at the riad was excellent and you really felt you were a guest in someone's home. We did have an issue when it came to paying with their credit card machine apparently not working after four attempts. We had to walk to a cash machine and pay in cash. It eventually turned out all the transactions had gone through so we had in fact paid five times the amount. We were reimbursed but it took several weeks for this after emailing the manager on a number of occasions. Another disappointment was when I accidentally broke a lamp on our final day, and after owning up was asked to pay 15 euros for it (despite being generous with our tips).

Stayed November 2006
Helpful?
Thank Dowe&Dumples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marrakech
7.5 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#110 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
8.2 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#164 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
8.4 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#30 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#56 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
8.0 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#71 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
12.7 mi away
La Maison des Oliviers
La Maison des Oliviers
#1 of 1 in Lagouassem
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Hayane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hayane

Property: Riad Hayane
Address: Derb Kbala No 147 | Marrakech Medina, Marrakech, Morocco (Formerly Riad Ksiba)
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #271 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Hayane 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Hayane with 6 rooms has been recently renovated with passion and enthusiasm, while maintaining its authentic architectural structure. It is located in the Kasbah area of the Medina of Marrakesh, close to the Royal Palace and unavoidable tourist places (Saadian Tombs, the Bahia and El Badi Palace). The famous Jemaa El Fna Square and the souks are reached in 15 minutes walking. The riad is easy to find (ask the Bab Ksiba). To go out in the city, taxis just waiting for you at the door. If you have a car, parking is 60m from the riad (20 Dhs per day or 1.80€), the airport is at 10 minutes. Emilie & Franck - the host - and the entire team of Riad Hayane are at your disposal to ensure you a memorable stay and guide you to explore the richness and effervescence of the city of Marrakech and its surroundings. Welcome home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Hayane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing