We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming Riad; Wonderful Service”
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Najat
Ranked #41 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Charming Riad; Wonderful Service”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

All these reviews don't lie ... Dar Najat is a gem among the thousands of riad options in Marrakech. Conveniently located (just a 5-min walk to the Jemaa El Fna). The riad itself was charming and uniquely decorated. I understand that some might simply prefer more modern accommodations (in which case, the new part of town is probably your best bet).

We had 3 to a room (with an extra bed - actually just a mattress on the floor). A little tight and some luxuries lacking but it wasn't a big deal since we weren't in our room all that much.

What makes Dar Najat is the service. Oliver and I had emailed back and forth numerous times before my trip so that I could arrange things in advance (airport pickup, dinner reservations at the riad, a half-day tour). Everything was wonderfully arranged.

Some highlights:
- Half-day city tour arranged through the riad. Our guide, Abdou, was amazing! So patient, even when we woke up late b/c of jet lag. Took us to a bunch of spots, including a camel ride in Palmeraie, Bahia Palace, the Saadian tombs and the Jardin Marjorelle. Also stopped at a herboriste to buy argan oil and an indoor artisan shopping area where the prices are fixed at very reasonable prices.

Dinner at the riad was good but I think it was pricey for what you get.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,067 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    926
    110
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
137
490
91
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Delft
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 March 2014

It was a very pleasant stay at this Riad because Midou is a very attentive, pleasant and honest guy. Anything you need is immediatly taken care. Very very clean riad. Breakfast is good but not exciting.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank acabrita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My Partner and myself were looking for a nice destination to celebrate my birthday and Valentine’s Day. Marrakech seemed to be right and an original destination for a short 5 day trip . Good weather ( better than in England) , exotic, and vibrant place.
“There is something hugely romantic about disappearing trough an unmarked gate in the medina into a coolly elegant hotel or ornately tiled café. Many of the riads in Marrakech have roof terraces, where you can laze together, glass of wine in the hand, watching the sun set over the rooftops, while the hustle and bustle carries on in the streets below.” The Guardian
Go there and have a fabulous time but be open minded you are in Marrakech (north Africa) which is close to us by distance but another world by culture (especially in the Medina).

Browsing the internet we came across the boutique Riad Dar Najat. Based on the reviews we decided to book that place. Everything positive you read about that place is true. Located in a quiet cul-de-sac just minutes walk from the vibrant and noisy main square .

We organised transfer from the airport to the Dar Najat Riad with Olivier (owner) which came slightly more expensive but definitely more comfortable (taxi are not always reliable and can be dirty) and no aggravation.
On arrival we were greeted with a complimentary drink (of our choice) and felt straight away part of the riad’s family. Olivier and his team made our stay comfortable and memorable. The atmosphere is easy going and laid-back, which make you to feel relaxed , like at home. The staff is always willing to help and will do anything to please you.

The riad is nicely and tastefully decorated, rooms are not big, but very cosy , clean and comfortable. In the morning you might be waked up by donkeys, and local sellers crossing the little passage- but that is the experience from living in the Medina in Marrakech.

The food is very good and tasty. We had two dinners in the Riad and we enjoyed it very much. The price is very reasonable in comparison to bars and restaurants providing alcoholic beverages. We actually discussed with the cook what we wanted to eat for diner and she was happy to provide us with our personal Moroccan menu (which was very much appreciated) If you would like a romantic dinner for just two of you, undisturbed by other guests it is a very good place - the riad has a terrace where you can eat in open air as well as two private rooms where you can enjoy your meal with a nice music in the background. Breakfast is delightful, accompanied by fresh orange juice, coffee , local pancakes, omelette…etc; you might ask the staff to have some fried eggs or scrambled eggs instead if you want a change.
All together Riad Dar Najat is an excellent value for money experience with a great hospitality.

Glass of wine and the birthday cake on the roof terrace were unforgettable.
Thanks again to everyone for making our stay special and memorable. Well done !!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PatrickYves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Fantastic place to stay. The staff are all so friendly and the food is amazing. The building is beautiful and I could have stayed on the roof terrace, enjoying the sunshine, orange juice and hospitality forever. I recommend the offer of an airport transfer as it is very easy to get lost in Marrakech however once you're there, the staff take you to the main square and give clear instructions of how to get to and from the riad. Walking between the square and the riad was probably the only place we didn't get lost on our trip!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

During a recent Euro trip we had our reservations accomodatied by the Riad Dar Najat. A chic and stylish option for your back packing trip around Europe. Very nice chill place in the afternoon at the outdoor patio. Very unique and creative hotel. I wouldn’t want to miss this place because you’ll have fun as soon as you enter. Very accommodating and very nice people.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedro A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Ingbert, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 18 February 2014

You can't go wrong here. The multi- lingual staff is amazing. They are extremely helpful and take care of every detail. They took the time to help us find our way around the city and gave great recommendations on where to go, how much to pay and what to do. Breakfast is wonderful and complementary drinks all day. The dinner offered is incredible, but over priced. Still for a delicious private dinner it's a great choice. Location is practical and quiet. Rooms were very clean and secure.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garbagna, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Very nice atmosphere, romantic and relaxing, beautiful and typical in every detail, comfortable everywhere. Run by great and lovely people professional and always present. The kitchen is the best in Marrakech, even when compared with much more expensive places. Great ratio quality\price.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VeschiDavide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#14 of 499 in Marrakech
866 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Houdou
Riad Houdou
#5 of 499 in Marrakech
804 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#68 of 499 in Marrakech
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 499 in Marrakech
483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#78 of 499 in Marrakech
204 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#26 of 499 in Marrakech
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Property: Riad Dar Najat
Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Najat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat,Traveller's Choice 2015 by Trip Advisor. "Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a very intimate riad with a hot tube Jacuzzi on the roof terrace, 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing