We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful retreat in heart of Marrakech”
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Najat
Ranked #39 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Fantastic stay in beautiful riad. Highly recommended. Clean, great food, air conditioned rooms. Very helpful staff which made all the difference to making our stay relaxing! Nothing was too much trouble and special thanks to midu for helping us throughout our stay, outstanding service thank you. Lovely atmosphere, in a truly unique morrocan style building. So glad we stayed here. If we come back to morrocco we will definitely return to riad dar najat! Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nibba86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Many thanks for your review and very nice words indeed!
Will be a real pleasure having you back in Dar Najat.
Yours,Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,090)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

231 - 237 of 1,090 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

Riad Dar Najat is the best place to stay in Marrakech. For starters the Riad is in the perfect location, only a short walk to and from the main square, yet totally quiet and tranquil at the same time and is very easy to find even in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The Riad itself is beautifully decorated, spacious, clean and has everything you need including a nice big jacuzzi on the roof terrace, free wifi and air conditioning throughout. Despite going to a few different places to eat we found that Riad Dar Najat was by far the best quality and very well priced, especially for the huge portions!
What made the trip so special were the people we met, all the staff at Riad Dar Najat were extremely helpful and kind to us, the hospitality could not have been better, a special thanks to Mido, Olivier and Mou-Mou for being so generous with their time and for making us feel completely welcome and at home, they even brought us baby tortoises to look after!! and thank you to Abdou for taking us on so many beautiful day trips and being so insightful and sharing your knowledge of Marrakech with us. Much love to you all and a big thank you from Robyn, Marjatta and Amber.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Hi to our new friends and huge thanks for your lovely post!
It has been a chance knowing your lovely family and be sure that we will be more than glad to see you back!
Thanks again for your very nice review indeed and best wishes from all Dar Najat.
Yours,Oliver&Mido&Momo&Sakina&Fatimzara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Walking through the narrow streets of Marrakech and finding our hotel a surprise was awaiting us as the door of the hotel opend and a small piece of paradise was in front of us. Great rooms and outdoor spaces where you can relax, have breakfast or dinner. decorated with beautifull funiture, small pool, roofterras and a lot of plants it is trully a place to have a great experience of relaxation.

The experience was more then great as staff was always very willing to help and advice in anything and trully friendly in their approach. I would recommend the Riad Dar Najat to anyone and I am sure I will be going back as we only had 3 days and I do believe I want to spend more time here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Egon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Thank you so much for your very kind post indeed!
It has been a chance knowing both of you and we do hope to see you back dear friends!
You also may try our other guest house in Essaouira to take advantage of both guest houses!
Yours,Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
Victoria, Canada
183
Reviewed 18 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A Holiday Lettings verified reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Really cool Riad in the centre of Marrakech, very friendly service, good location, nice building, nice rooms. Very clean. Warm welcome, nearlly felt at home for 3 days as everybody is really relax. Walking distance to all the nice area to visit in Marrakech

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taratyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Thanks for your post!
Cheers,Oliver.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Do not stay in a conventional hotel. Do not stay in a random riad. Stay at Dar Najat. The service will astound and restore you. Marrakesh can be a hectic place. The streets are narrow thoroughfares for bikes, mopeds, cars, horses and donkey carts. You will get lost often. As a tourist, you may sometimes feel like the city is out to get you. You will often be the object of unwanted attention by hawkers, beggars, shysters, would-be guides, and the list goes on. This is all part of the Marrakesh experience, but it can be a little much if you are used to a more relaxed pace and a little more personal space. This is why Dar Najat is so important. You can withstand anything the city throws at you knowing that you will eventually return to your temporary oasis.

The service at Dar Najat begins before you even arrive in Marrakesh. Oliver, the owner, is more than happy to communicate with you in advance to plan activities and day trips. He is a prompt responder, quick to return your email queries. Once you are installed in the riad he will often ask how your day was and help you plan the next day’s agenda. No question is too naive or complicated. He is extremely patient, enthusiastic and very confident that he or his staff will be able to fulfill your vacation needs.

Dar Najat will arrange for someone to pick you up from the airport. Any address can be hard to find in Marrakesh so it’s a good idea to have the staff pick you up and get you to your temporary Marrakesh home.

Eat at Dar Najat. The staff will make you dinner comparable to any Moroccan meal you might find at any other restaurant. They even accommodate your dietary needs. I am a vegetarian, for example.

Drink at Dar Najat. Yes, they serve alcohol! After a long, hot and dusty day it’s a sheer pleasure to spend a lazy afternoon drinking a bottle of rose on the terrace with a plate of cracked olives. Chat with the staff. Share advice and experiences with fellow travelers. Make a new friend. The tab for drinks and food is quietly, simply and conveniently added to your hotel bill. (Breakfast is good and free!)

The sleeping chambers at Dar Najat are small, as are most at any riad, I suspect. The architectural layout of the riad is designed to get you out of your room and onto the shared terraces looking out over the central courtyard. There are no windows overlooking the noisy streets. The goal of the riad is to get you to look inward towards the peace and lushness of the central patio.

Need some laundry done? Need a dinner reservation? Need an appointment at the spa? Need someone to walk you to your hard-to-find destination? Need a bottle of water for your room? All of this the staff will do for you with a smile. Tipping is not expected for any of these small kindnesses, but it is good karma to tip the staff when you check out.

Day Trips: Oliver will put you in touch with Abdou. Abdou will take you anywhere you want to go. He took us to the Atlas Mountains to see the weekly Berber Market (Mondays) and the waterfalls of the Ourika Valley. We bought some rugs while we were there and he was extremely helpful during our negotiations. It helps to have a local present when you engage in the favorite Moroccan pastime- haggling. He speaks perfect English and was trained as a historian before entering the tourist industry. This makes him very knowledgeable about local traditions. He also took us to the seaside town of Essaouira. We canceled our third day trip since we felt we were spending a bit too much time in a car for our tastes and there were parts of Marrakesh that we still wanted to see. We hired Abdou for a city tour, instead. I had a specific list of sites I wanted to visit (like the smelly tanneries) and he was more than happy to follow our agenda. He also took us the Beldi Country Club, which is essentially a peaceful spot outside of the city with a beautiful pool and lush gardens. It was a great place to swim, catch some sun and have a French lunch. If you are confused by all of the websites offering Marrakesh daytrips, just contract Abdou through Dar Najat and you will not be disappointed.

Your riad is as much a part of your Marrakesh experience as are the souks, tagines and mint tea. If you choose Dar Najat you will be very happy. We are very thankful to Oliver and his staff. We are especially thankful to team who saw to our practical concerns: Momo, the concierge, Medou and Hadim.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank greypalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2014

Hi Dear Friends!
Huge thanks for your (very!!) lovely and complete testimony about the Riad Dar Najat.
We have been very lucky indeed having the privilege to host such great travelers and friends.
All the staff does remember you as genuine and very interesting guests indeed and huge thanks again for all your kindness with all here my friends.
Looking forward having the chance to see you back.
Yours sincerely,Olli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Dar Najat for 5 nights in April and I don't think we could have picked a better place. The Riad is beautiful, with a real chilled out holiday atmosphere. We spent quite a bit of time on the roof terrace which was just gorgeous. We stayed in room Leila on the ground floor and could hardly believe there was a city outside, it was so quiet.

The location is great, in the artisan zone just 5-10 minute stroll from the main square and souks. You can also walk to the Kasbah area, Bahia Palace and tombs very easily from here. The staff gave us advice on how to get around, what things cost and walked us to the square on our first day.

Breakfast in the Riad was lovely, with pancakes, pain au chocolat, omelette, fruit, coffee and freshly squeezed orange juice. We also had dinner on the roof terrace on our first night and it really set the standard for the rest of our stay; the starters and tagines were fantastic.

All the advantages of the Riad aside, what really makes this a special place to stay is the people. I have never stayed anywhere where all the staff are quite so friendly and helpful, I think they really work hard to make everyone's stay outstanding.

It was our first visit to Morocco and we can't wait to go back. I hope that we'll be able to stay at Dar Najat again too. Huge thanks to Ollie and your great team there, especially Midou and Haytam who seemed to always be there to help!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jesslovesyummyfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2014

Hi Dear Friends and thank you so much for your brilliant post indeed!
Looking forward having the pleasure to stay in touch and see you back!
yours,all Dar Najat.
Cheers,Olli.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.4 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#29 of 502 in Marrakech
498 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 502 in Marrakech
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Al Badia
Riad Al Badia
#10 of 502 in Marrakech
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Cocoon
Riad Cocoon
#24 of 502 in Marrakech
467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#21 of 502 in Marrakech
895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#24 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £67 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Najat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat,Traveller's Choice 2015 by Trip Advisor. "Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a very intimate riad with a hot tube Jacuzzi on the roof terrace, 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing