We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Riad of Choice in Marrakech”
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Najat
Ranked #42 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Michigan
1 review
“The Riad of Choice in Marrakech”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My wife and I stayed at Dar Najat for 3 nights in July 2014. The location was excellent - it was possible for a taxi to park less than 1 minute away so luggage transfer was not an issue. Walking to Jameel El Fna was an easy 5 minute walk - you could be in the middle of the souk one minute and back in the quiet, homely oasis of the riad just a few minutes later.

Beautifully yet tastefully decorated in traditional style without being ostentatious and harsh on the senses. Our room was located on the ground floor, had air conditioning and was spacious enough for two. The en suite bathroom had a walk in shower with ample hot water. A safe was provided and we had Wifi available.

Oliver and his staff were very welcoming and soon made us feel at home. Nothing was too much effort for Oliver; from arranging pick up at the airport (excellent), arranging a guide to tour Marrakech and provide restaurant recommendations. We were greeted with mint tea and spent time chatting with our host putting the world to rights. Abdul, our guide, arrived with a comfortable SUV and drove us around the sights of Marrakech (and later to the High Atlas). He was very knowledgeable, the tours were reasonably priced and his English excellent. Above all, he would wait and allowed us to take our time - nothing was too much.

We had dinner out on the terrace in the Riad on the first night. The tagine with lamb and fruit was superb and the best meal we experienced in Marrakech. The restaurants may complain that the riads are taking their business but frankly when the quality of the meal is this good, its not surprising. Breakfast consisted of freshly squeezed orange juice (of course) and an assortment of breads. Breakfast outside is a great way to start the day.

Oliver escorted us to Jameel El Fna the first day so we could easily find the way. He pointed out good places to eat and the best location to get great shots of the square. We followed his restaurant recommendations and were never disappointed. All the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful.

As always, there are opportunities for improvement : There was no hair dryer in the room which my wife would have found useful. There was also no TV in the room (which we really appreciated) but others may find this an item worth having. Neither are major issues and certainly did not detract from our stay at Dar Najat.

We would readily recommend Dar Najat for your stay in Marrakech. You can trust Oliver and his staff to take care of everything leaving you to enjoy and explore.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Many thanks indeed to our guests to have written such a kind review !
We have been very glad to have the pleasure having you home and do hope to see you back!
ps: even if not in the rooms, we deliver a hairdryer on demand .. dear friends.
Yours faithfully,Oliver;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    110
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
136
488
91
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

A gorgeous Riad in the most perfect location in Marrakech. You'll never need to haggle for a taxi as you are a 2 minute walk to the madness of Marrakech. Comfy couches, chessboards, great food, sun-loungers, jacuzzis, amazing beds, showers and bathrooms. But all those perks are not the reason I had such a lovely stay. The reason is the owners and their staff, who go out of their way to make you feel that you are one of their best friends rather than a paying customer. I cannot recommend this beautiful, relaxing and rejuvenating Riad enough.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pablo W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi to our lovely guest and thank you so much for your very kind post (indeed!)
Has been a pleasure meeting you and do hope having the chance to see you back!
Yours,Olli.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at riad Dar Najat for one night on a trip from Agadir. Before arriving at the hotel, I exchanged numerous emails with Oliver regarding how best to get to the riad and he was extremely helpful. Upon arrival, we were offered a bottle of water (free of charge - not likely to find that elsewhere!). The riad is in a great central location, and is beautifully decorated, welcoming and comfortable with amazing staff. I would highly recommend staying here!

Room Tip: We asked for a double room on the top floor and got exactly what we asked for
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Many thanks indeed for your very kind post!
We will be very glad having the chance to see you back!
Yours,Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saratoga, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Really don't know where to start - everything was great.

Oliver, the owner, pays attention to every detail, and is super-responsive over email, I must have exchanged over 30 emails with him, before our trip to Morocco - and he promptly responded to every one of them, offering advice about guides, places to stay in other cities, dinner arrangements.

He introduced us to Abdu - a great guide with deep pride in Moroccan history and culture. He knows a lot, but doesn't bore you to death - knows when to stop, and wait for questions and signs of interest. Carefully selects the shops for you to find authentic Moroccan and especially Berber items - cosmetics, jewelry, rugs, etc. Took us on a short hike into the mountains to give us a taste of Berber roots. It was a good taste for the tours conducted by Abdu, into the Atlas mountains and Sahara desert to live with Berber families.

Momo and Mido, the staff in the Riad, made us feel like family - taking care of every detail, from breakfast to laundry.

Room Tip: You can't make a mistake. Just book a room, and then send your requirements in advance to Oliver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stsprasad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
hi Dear friends and thanks for such a lovely post!
It has been a pleasure and a privilege to have you home!
Looking forward meeting you again.
Yours,all Dar Najat.
Cheers,Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Fantastic stay in beautiful riad. Highly recommended. Clean, great food, air conditioned rooms. Very helpful staff which made all the difference to making our stay relaxing! Nothing was too much trouble and special thanks to midu for helping us throughout our stay, outstanding service thank you. Lovely atmosphere, in a truly unique morrocan style building. So glad we stayed here. If we come back to morrocco we will definitely return to riad dar najat! Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nibba86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Many thanks for your review and very nice words indeed!
Will be a real pleasure having you back in Dar Najat.
Yours,Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lockerbie, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Riad Dar Najat is the best place to stay in Marrakech. For starters the Riad is in the perfect location, only a short walk to and from the main square, yet totally quiet and tranquil at the same time and is very easy to find even in the hustle and bustle of Marrakech. The Riad itself is beautifully decorated, spacious, clean and has everything you need including a nice big jacuzzi on the roof terrace, free wifi and air conditioning throughout. Despite going to a few different places to eat we found that Riad Dar Najat was by far the best quality and very well priced, especially for the huge portions!
What made the trip so special were the people we met, all the staff at Riad Dar Najat were extremely helpful and kind to us, the hospitality could not have been better, a special thanks to Mido, Olivier and Mou-Mou for being so generous with their time and for making us feel completely welcome and at home, they even brought us baby tortoises to look after!! and thank you to Abdou for taking us on so many beautiful day trips and being so insightful and sharing your knowledge of Marrakech with us. Much love to you all and a big thank you from Robyn, Marjatta and Amber.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Hi to our new friends and huge thanks for your lovely post!
It has been a chance knowing your lovely family and be sure that we will be more than glad to see you back!
Thanks again for your very nice review indeed and best wishes from all Dar Najat.
Yours,Oliver&Mido&Momo&Sakina&Fatimzara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Walking through the narrow streets of Marrakech and finding our hotel a surprise was awaiting us as the door of the hotel opend and a small piece of paradise was in front of us. Great rooms and outdoor spaces where you can relax, have breakfast or dinner. decorated with beautifull funiture, small pool, roofterras and a lot of plants it is trully a place to have a great experience of relaxation.

The experience was more then great as staff was always very willing to help and advice in anything and trully friendly in their approach. I would recommend the Riad Dar Najat to anyone and I am sure I will be going back as we only had 3 days and I do believe I want to spend more time here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Egon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, Owner at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Thank you so much for your very kind post indeed!
It has been a chance knowing both of you and we do hope to see you back dear friends!
You also may try our other guest house in Essaouira to take advantage of both guest houses!
Yours,Oliver.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#18 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
0.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#60 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#34 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#38 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#19 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#32 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Property: Riad Dar Najat
Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#27 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Najat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat,Traveller's Choice 2015 by Trip Advisor. "Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a very intimate riad with a hot tube Jacuzzi on the roof terrace, 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing