We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An extremely friendly welcome at an oasis of calm in the heart of Marrakech”
Review of Riad Dar Najat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Najat
Ranked #41 of 496 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An extremely friendly welcome at an oasis of calm in the heart of Marrakech”
Reviewed 18 February 2010

All of the staff were very friendly and helpful and would help in any way necessary to make our stay all the more enjoyable. The riad was in the heart of the medina and ideally placed to walk to all the main points of interest (if you have a map and a reasonable sense of direction). If not, you are given a mobile at the riad anyway with all the numbers you need to get you wherever you want to go. The breakfasts are very good to keep you going through the day and the evening meals are also excellent, especially the salad/vegetable starters which are really special. Marrakech is really a completely different experience to any of our previous holidays abroad; the people in the souks and main square obviously want to part you from your money in exchange for their goods and services but they are generally friendly and never threatening in any way - we felt a lot safer here than wandering around some of our UK cities.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    922
    110
    11
    10
    10
See reviews for
136
488
91
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
browniebrooklyn
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 February 2010

My friend and I stayed at Dar Najat over the holidays in December and were both very impressed. We took separate rooms and both rooms were clean, comfortable, quiet and beautifully decorated. It was chilly outside, but there was as plenty of heat and hot water - we stayed a couple of nights at a guest house with no heat at all and were grateful for the comforts of Dar Najat! The entire guest house is beautiful, with a very local and personal decor that leaves chain hotels in the dust. The location is close to most of the old city sites. The food was better than any restaurant we went to in Marrakech; we took advantage of the rooftop restaurant several times - by the way, wine and spirits are available. Best of all, the service is absolutely 5 star. Everyone at Dar Najat is completely devoted to making guests love their experience of both the guest house and Marrakech itself. It's not the cheapest place, but what we recieved was far beyond our expectations and made our entire trip much more pleasurable than it would have otherwise been, so I give them high ranks for value as well.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank browniebrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zürich
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2010

we felt warmly welcome and were really exalted about the whole riad - it's like beeing in a fairytale from 1001 night.

the food is delicious, orangejuice and mint-tea everytime for free available. everything is clean and the rooms are arranged with love and style. the jacuzzi on the terrace was unfortunately to cold in february, but we will try it next time, when the weather is getting hotter.

the riad is perfect situated in the old medina of marrakech. only 5 minutes walk to the main place jamaa el fna.

The staff (kitchen, room-maids and of course "bob marley" amine) are very obliging and friendly - all in a good family athmosphere.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annina_und_simon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
60 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2010

There are a lot of five star reviews for Dar Najat, and there is no doubt that Olivier and his crew are really good at looking after their guests, but in my opinion it is not quite worthy of such glory.
Dar Najat is a beautiful Riad, quite well situated in the old city. On the top floor is the eating area with a small sundeck and a couple of chill out areas. There are lots of plants and Dar Najat has a laid back ambience, a reflection of the cool owner Olivier and his relaxed staff. Plenty of great ambient music, but be warned, we heard quite a bit of Bob Marley. What they do very well at this Riad is to look after their guests.
The welcome was informative, and Olivier was smart enough to understand that not everyone wants their hand held or indeed needs constant attention from his staff, but at the same time some guests need just that help.
The mobile phone that is given to guests is a welcome gimmick, and I did use the phone to contact some Morrocan numbers. My feeling is that the phone is probably supplied by the taxi driver, who was in constant action while we were staying there.
The breakfast was variable. One day the pancakes were burnt and greasy, yet the day after they were fine. We ate at the Riad on one evening, but found the food uninspiring and bland, but other guests were very satisfied. We were served obscene quantities of food which I find very wasteful, and I didn't see anyone send back an empty plate.
The staff offer a chaperone service to the big square, but half the fun is finding your own way through the medinas and souks and unless you are frightened of getting lost I would recomend finding your own way. There are young men hanging around on corners to send you the 'wrong way', but shopkeepers are trustworthy if you need directions.
The Riad dar Najat will score heavily on customer service but the room we stayed in was cramped, cold, dark and slightly damp, and the room is what prevented this place getting a top rating. It was a pleasant enough room, but was not worth the 100+ Euro we paid. When we return to Marrakesh we would more than likely try somewhere else.
Dar Najat is a good option for weekenders flying in with Easy Jet/ Ryanair, but for the more experienced traveller Marrakesh has many better options.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bittonboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarNajat, owner and manager at Riad Dar Najat, responded to this review, 12 February 2010
Hi bittonboy!
First of all,thanks for the kind words(a good part of it!)
We're happy to see you find the team&riad&atmospher vey enjoyable!
Now..the part which gives you less satisafaction my friend!
1)Concerning the mobile we nicely lend to the the guests..we just try to be nice and avoid the internaional cost of communication to our guests!not"sponsored by our taxis services my friend!
When you advance concerning the mobile"is probably supplied by the taxi driver"..it's not fair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stoke Poges
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

OK listen up. If you're looking for a big, posh, starchy, formal place where the staff are seen and not heard, then this isn't the place for you. However if you like the sound of a casual, cozy, quiet place that's still only a three minute walk from the mad centre of Marrakech then this might be for you. And if you're comfortable with staff who are really attentive and friendly yet laid back and informal then this is definitely right for you. I know it's going to sound like a cliche but after our wonderful week in their company it felt more like hosts and friends, than staff and guests. We can't recommend Dar Najat hightly enough. Coolest Riad In Marrakech??? Definitiely.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FQMBM1410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We would like to thank Oliver and his team for looking after us so well during our stay! Not only did they spend over an hour hanging birthday decorations in our room for a surprise but they gave us good advice on the best places to go and even walked us there so we could get our bearings! The terrace is a friendly place and all the staff took the time to chat and share stories with us. The team even all came out to say goodbye when we were about to leave for the airport to go home. If you get a chance, take dinner at the riad, it's the best cous cous in Marrakesh! We highly recommend the Dar Najat for its welcoming feel and attention to detail - there are many nooks and crannies and the African decoration is authentic and interesting ( we think for someone to complain about this place suggests they would have preferred a run-of-the-mill chain hotel with no personality!!). This is a great place to stay! Thanks guys, Mig & Peg xx

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanHamilton14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

Again I have been to Marrakech and why not take Riad Dar Najat? - I don't know a better place for having nice decorated rooms in a modern maroccan style, lovely and everytime friendly staff (espacially the 'kitchen queens'), located in the center of the medina, with a fantastic jacouzzi on the beautiful roof garden terasse!
Hospitality is first in Dar Najat and so you get (as free service) many recommandations from the owner Olivier where to go for any kinds of round trips or restaurants.
I think I go there again! Be sure!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank axel001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Miski
Riad Miski
#18 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#56 of 496 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 923 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#34 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad L'Emir
Riad L'Emir
#44 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Les Trois Mages
Riad Les Trois Mages
#20 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Mur Akush
Riad Mur Akush
#32 of 496 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Najat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Najat

Property: Riad Dar Najat
Address: Derb Lalla Chacha 18 | Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
#26 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Najat 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Najat,Traveller's Choice 2015 by Trip Advisor. "Coolest Boutique Riad in Marrakech" is a very intimate riad with a hot tube Jacuzzi on the roof terrace, 5 minute walk away from the famous and colourful Jemaa el Fna market area, right in the heart of the Medina of Marrakesh. This romantic 4-star boutique guesthouse has been freshly renovated to offer even more comfort and elegance than before. Let our friendly staff cater to your every request, and pamper you in lush, tranquil surroundings. Stepping out the front door takes you back to a former era, with the ancient, echoing sounds of the medina, Jemaa el Fna and the hectic hubbub of Marrakech life. After a busy day of exploration and shopping in this vibrant and exotic city, you can leave it all behind by enjoying a delicious meal or drink on one of our terraces, soothing your body in our rooftop jacuzzi, or just retiring to the warm, peaceful intimacy of your quiet and well-appointed room. Riad Dar Najat is a proud member of the "Coolest Riads in Morocco" Collection and we'll be more than glad if you try our new luxury guest house in Essaouira,Riad Bab Essaouira"Dar Najat's little sister Riad" with the possibility to have a " Marrakech/Essaouira Package Deal "for our best rates.cheers! Oliver. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Najat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Najat Marrakech
Riad Dar Najat Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing