We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a travel in morocco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Murano Resort Marrakech
Ranked #167 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“a travel in morocco”
Reviewed 21 October 2009

Africa morocco
an other manner to live the holidays

Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank mhamed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    258
    117
    41
    35
    22
See reviews for
80
186
14
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2009

A great escape from Marrakech, relaxing and beautiful environment. Staff were genuninely friendly and helpful. Rooms very comfortable, modern and spacious like your own apartment. Everything you could want. This was our honeymoon and exactly what we hoped and wished for in luxury and relaxation. Only downsides were that food and drinks in the hotel were ridiculously expensive - £50 for breakfast for two, £40 for fries and two drinks?! Return taxis to Marrakech were around £30 which added to the expense. The hotel also recommended a hammam/spa which our taxi driver advised us was one of the most expensive and that we could have got an equally beautiful one for less.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljc01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuchatel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2008

We had spent the first part of our trip staying in riyads, which had been an exceptional part of our vacation. The hospitality is genuine and the cultural aspects (the beauty of Moroccan art, the complexity of their culture) seem more obvious in the privacy of the family owned riyads. We had booked our three day stay at Murano resort on the assumption that we needed a change of scene after the riyads, and the enticing photos of the delicious red pool surrounded by orange trees- was a good idea to round of our vacation. Well the first bad omen happened already on arrival: Our room had not yet been cleaned, resp. the previous guests had not yet booked out. After having to wait 3,5 hours we were allowed to check into our hotel rooms. The pool is neat and you can pick mandarines from the trees but don't fly to Morocco because of these delights. The rooms are generous and clean but somehow the interior design appears fake and lifeless. There is a private pool for every house which was fun, the water is however very cold (approx. 14-16°C). The food is unoriginal and well, see comment below.
The following day, we asked if we could have a sun umbrella while reading outdoors. Coming from Switzerland, my boyfriend being fair-skinned and both professionals working with cancer patients, we don't consider getting sun-burnt as being glamourous or sexy. The manager however, rudely replied that they didn't have any umbrellas and the guests at the hotel have never needed any. Nevertheless she did finally organise a canvas tent-thing but it was rather an excertion on her part, and we felt as we had committed some social faux-pas.
Finally, the last day we stayed there we both got food poisoning. Ok, there may be a possibility we caught it eating at the food stalls in town but chances are more likely we caught it while having our breakfast there. We calculated the probability where we caught the bug and since we had only eaten at the Murano the within the last 24hours, the likelihood was obvious that the culprit was the breakfast buffet we had had. (The buffet is rather expensive, 25 Euros per person and unoriginal, with the exception of the food poisoning).
If you travel to countries like Morocco, food poisoning may happen and we were fortunate that with pain killers and antibiotics we were able to laugh about the experience. I suppose travelling is about experiences, the dreary, the embarrassing as well as the exciting and sublime. However from our point of view, there are better places to stay in Marrekesh and this is a hotel experience wish isn't worth the money.

  • Liked — The mandarine trees
  • Disliked — The advertisement was much more appealing than reality
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank polyglottNeuchatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2008

I stayed in the Murano for 3 nights at the end of October, as the photos of the resort looked so impressive and the list of facilities were also exactly what I was looking for. I stay in a lot of design hotels so I thought that the Murano would suit my needs. On arrival, I was disappointed by the lobby area and bar - both were very uninspiring in design and the bar was cold and lifeless. The rooms are lovely and spacious but again the design was more of a late 1990's style than other contemporary design hotels I have stayed in.
The one thing that I was mainly disappointed with was that the website of the Murano said that there was a fitness centre and an indoor pool, but there was neither. I appreciated that the spa hadn't been built yet as mentioned on the website, but very disappointed that the resort was advertising other facilties that they didn't have. The weather wasn't that great and we were told that the outdoor pool would be heated, but when we got there we were told that the heating wouldn't be turned on for another 10 days as they had to hire a specialist to turn it on (?!?!). We were also given a room at the very back of the resort as we were told it was fully booked. The resort seemed empty so we asked another staff member and he told us the hotel was only 30% full. When vacating the resort at 5am, we had to walk through the grounds in the pitch black as they turned off the lights and couldn't see anything, plus our wake up call was 20 minutes late. When checking out no one ever asked us if we enjoyed our stay as I think they knew there were a number of faults with the hotel. We paid top price for a hotel that was not fully finished and the service was very flawed.
On the plus side, the beds are very comfortable and the breakfast and brunch they do are expensive but nice.
I would not recommend the Murano but while staying in Marrakech we did visit the nearby Dar Ambre Hotel which is cheaper plus has more facilities and a gorgeous plush design and warm atmosphere. I loved Marrakech and the restaurants are fabulous there (try Crystal and Bo Zin if you are looking for fun, stylish places). I will definitely go back but I will stay in an alternative hotel.

  • Liked — The Sunday brunch, the comfortable beds
  • Disliked — Lack of facilities as advertised, cold uninspiring decor.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holiday_Gal78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
1 review
Reviewed 12 September 2008

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights last week, We read really bad reviews here and were worried about staying here, we wehttps://tonic.tripadvisor.com/SavedPhotos-g648645-i18464598-w1-Marrakech.html#18464598re in marrakech for 1 week in total and stayed in 3 hotels , with the murano at the end...

Wish we had spent the whole week there!!! The hotel is amazing and what makes it even better are the staff!! They make it 5 Star! very very caring and helpfull..

We are now going back with some friends next month and i would ecomend this hotel to anyone it really is First rate!

Zak Tyler

  • Liked — Funky styling loved the room
  • Disliked — Need better UK chanels on tv and internet needs to be better in room
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank zaktyler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2008

My husband and I just got back from Marrakech where we went for a short honeymoon. We just can't stop talking about the Murano Oriental to anybody we see since back home.

Staying there has really been the highlight of our honeymoon. We've been pampered and taken care of in such a beautiful place that it was difficult to leave the property.
The staff has been very friendly and available, smiling and pleasant. The hotel manager came to talk with us several times which was agreable, we could see him a lot looking around and checking that everything was going fine on the different outlets, at different moments of the day... and the night... We could feel that he was happy to work at Murano Oriental and that was a plus for us as guests.

The location of the hotel can seem a bit far end but once you enter the garden, you totally forget you've been on a rocky path for not even 10 minutes...
I just felt good there upon arrival. That was exactly the type of property I was dreaming of for my honeymoon.

The grounds are very well kept and you will see frequently the gardeners watering, cutting grass, arranging plants during the day. They are paying attention to the garden and that allows guests to enjoy a very pleasant area.

The red swimming pool can seem originally surprising in day light and will just look like the picture we could see online at night. The pool service is just awesome... We could lie there enjoying the sun, drinking the most delicious home made ice teas ever and still the pool boy would be able to bring this little something you don't even think of. They brought us fresh scented towels and a little cold water spray!!! WOW!!! Just what we needed!!!

We had a drink at the bar in the evening, it wasn't crowed it's true but so pleseant... A DJ was in the garden playing nice ambiance music, the wind was cooling down the temperature of the day and we were sipping cocktails... If that wasn't paradise, it seemed very close to me!!

In the evening we had the possibility to eat in the garden as well, which was so romantic and enjoyable. The Chef delighted us with lobsters and sea dace in plate that were looking as nice as there were good!
In the morning, we enjoyed the breakfast buffet a lot too... It is settled in a very nice and posh way, the products are very fresh and the home made jams sooooo good!!! The chef is also preparing very "colorful" yogurts, surprising? yes at first but so tasty! You'll go for a 2nd one for sure :)

So you can imagine how surprised I am to read the previous reviews about the Murano Oriental... I am really wondering if I've been to the same hotel! If you are still hesitating... go for it!!! You'll love it! It was perfect... We just hope we'll be able to return there once more...

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — our stay was too short
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MissMarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marseille
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 March 2008

We were a little afraid by reading costumers e-mail but we went there anyway and we have past with my husband magnificent holidays in lover, 10 days ago. Although the spa is not opened yet the hotel is not any more in works and holds all these promises. There are absolutely magnificent sights on the palmeraie grove since the terraces of rooms, and the very original red swimming pool is also beautiful as on pictures website. The lounge with its giant white murano chandelier, these long sofas and these big fireplace, reflect perfectly the image and the atmosphere for which we hoped, and Rooms offer of a height comfort. Concerning the team they was really very very nice with us, attentive and was for the small care with us.
To resum we hope to have the occasion to return to it and recomend you particularly this establishment

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank yonaetienne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.6 mi away
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
Villa Al Assala Palmeraie
#80 of 499 in Marrakech
250 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palais Dar Ambre
Palais Dar Ambre
#292 of 499 in Marrakech
59 reviews
1.7 mi away
Jardin d'Ines
Jardin d'Ines
#431 of 499 in Marrakech
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Les Deux Tours
Les Deux Tours
#48 of 499 in Marrakech
734 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa des Trois Golfs
Villa des Trois Golfs
#322 of 499 in Marrakech
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Murano Resort Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Murano Resort Marrakech

Property: Murano Resort Marrakech
Address: Douar Abiad La Palmeraie | Circuit de la Palmeraie, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#111 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#120 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Murano Resort Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Murano Resort Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Murano Resort Marrakech Hotel Marrakech
Murano Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing