We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Dar Zaman
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Dar Oulhoum(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Yasmine(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Sadaka(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad O2(Marrakech)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (504)
Filter reviews
504 results
Traveller rating
450
46
3
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
46
3
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsowner peterroof terraceatlas mountainsmint teacooking classwonderful cooktaginesmallest roomother gueststhe hustle and bustleyogurtplunge poolhome from hometucked awaythe main squarethe perfect place to staybeautiful courtyard
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
445 - 450 of 504 reviews
Reviewed 6 February 2008

What an amazing experience, the owner Peter and his delightful housekeeper Fatima are excellent hosts. We were met and treated with great friendliness every day. All our needs were catered for, and the Rhiad Dar Zaman is a special haven in the Medina of Marrakech. The rhiad is decorated and fitted out to a very high standard. It was a joy to be in. Ideally located to get into the Soukes and the new town it is well positioned as a base for exploring the city.

We cannot praise Peter and Fatima highly enough for providing us with an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_PeterUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

My girlfriend and I stayed at Riad Dar Zaman and had the MOST amazing experience from start to finish. Peter, an awesome British guy who owns and runs the Riad, was a gracious and extremely helpful host- on our first night, he walked us into the center of town and gave us a mini tour. We stayed in the room on the roof, and it was gorgeous, pristine, luxurious and quiet. The outdoor terrace with views of the city is breathtaking. The Riad is decorated perfectly- not kitchy but modern with a Morrocan flavor. We still talk about the delicious breakfast they prepared for us each morning. There are a million Riads to choose from, but if you're looking for a quiet refuge at a totally manageable price and a no-hassle luxury experience, this is the definately Riad for you. We liked it so much that we briefly considered moving to Marrakech. We couldn't recommend it highly enough!!

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank GeorgeMichaelforPrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2007

Wow ... what a great place ..... we stayed here twice for about ten days .... Really, really loved it. In the centre of the Medina in Marrakech this is a beautiful oasis ..... Excellent rooms (each one has something "special" ) .... amazing roofterrace and a wonderful host and cook (Fatima ; thnx for two amazing meals you prepared for us .... The beef with almonds and plumbs is a MUST HAVE !!

The way we were welcomed each day by " Dar Zaman " really added something to our holiday !!!

Jan Oldenziel, Amsterdam

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jan_oldenziel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2007

Am so glad I found Dar Zaman, as I randomly searched the web for accomodation in Marrakech. From the start, Peter, the owner was friendly and helpful and quick to come back to me with any queries I had about the booking. The Riad has been lovingly restored with beautiful Moroccan features, lovely bedrooms and communal areas, including a comfy sofa on the roof terrace.
Fatima, the housekeeper, is a little gem, cooking up morocan pancakes fro breakfast and yummy dinners if you chose to have a meal in the Riad. Peter is ever helpful and happy to take the pain out of organising any tours you want to go on during your stay.
Whether for a weekend or a week - this place is a treat....but don't tell everyone, or else we'll never get in!

Stayed: November 2007
Thank H0lly72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2007

We heard about Dar Zaman from a friend who told us it was a great way to experience living in a popular neighborhood of the medina with the comforts of a modern hotel. We contacted owner Peter Mercer directly and were very happy with his assistance from the moment we sent our first message with many questions till when he said good-bye at the door.

We loved the neighborhood where families would have conversations across doorways and kids would romp in the narrow streets. It is relatively calm and quiet yet not far from a variety of souks and sites, including Djma 'alfna. The call to prayer in the morning from the nearby mosque was the most melodic we'd ever heard and we looked forward to it entering our dreams each morning.

The riad itself was tastefully restored and has all of the modern comforts of goods beds, hot water, safe in the closet etc. Although we did not stay on the top floor, it seems to have the best room with a large balcony just outside with views over the neighborhood.

One of the highlights for us was having dinner prepared by Peter's cook Fatima. She prepared feasts that included quail with abricots and a dessert that included fruits of the season. We highly recommend you take advantage of the opportunity.

Lastly - we advise asking Peter to meet you at the local taxi corner for the first walk to the riad because it is not simple to find on your own. He also has a map that helps a lot but for the first time we found it impossible without a little extra guidance (of course, with time that became a charm as well!).

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SFExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews