We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My home in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riad Dar Zaman
Ranked #67 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Curitiba, PR
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My home in Marrakesh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2012

From the moment I arrived I felt just like home!
Whatever I needed Hassam, the manager, was always ready to help. And by the way he became a great friend!

This little hotel is perfect when you want to be treated as the unique guest in the place. The staff always did the best they can to make my trip to Marrakesh the most amazing it could be, and they did it with sucess!! =)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanda_bogus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    423
    44
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
44
258
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Loved it! From the moment we arrived to the moment we left there was nothing that Hassan the guest manager could not do. Amazing.

The Riad is small. Perfect for Marrakech. After walking the souks and bartering or heading to the dessert or Imlil for the day the riad was a haven. Safe and quiet (ok the mosque is close but really didn't interfere much with my sleep).

The central courtyard is a haven and the rooms individually designed by Peter. The roof terrace has amazing views and the moroccan with actually quite good!

Food on arrival was perfect. Lovely and just delicious. Other places really good too - for drinks - Cafe Arabe. The Jardin. And the hotel off the square also call the Jardin -has an amaxing courtyard with pool and roof terrace..... but the riad is just the best.

Peter arranged a 3 day 2 night dessert trip. Camels. Ruins. Kasbahs and a lot LOT lot of dessert. Wonderful trip.

We also went to Imlil and took a walk - in Toubkal national park and returned for lunch at Richard Brandson's Kasbah Tamadot. Wow - really worth it.

Souks - as a barginer I loved chatting to the sellers. Really great experience. Yes we bought a carpet! But do not feel pressured and if you don't want it don't buy it!

Room Tip: Larges room is 1st one upstairs. 2nd room has a bath and shower above. 3rd room has an amazing show...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaTwickenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
116 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2012

A charming bijou Riad right in the heart of the medina. Beautifully and tastefully decorated. Rooms are of course, compact but nicely, traditionally, furnished and very comfortable with Immaculate housekeeping. Roof terrace for sunning yourself, with sun beds and tables and chairs. We ate 2 meals in the riad and it was honestly the best food we had , the whole time we were in Marrakech! If you ask, they will get you a bottle of wine for your meal- there is no bar as such and alcohol is of course, not particularly easy to come by in the city- you have to find a supermarket somewhere- Achima out by the Majorelle gardens was the one we used. There are a few bars within relatively easy reach of the riad- Cafe Arabe was a ten minute walk.
Helpful information supplied by 'guest relations manager' Hassan and he will give you a map of the medina to help you find your way around- but you WILL get lost at some point! Dont worry, you will find your way out eventually!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, dont choose the Baignoir room- the bath/showertub is quite difficult...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotty010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Unique location, amazing and hospitable staff. Stayed here with my wife in December last year! Pictures do not do justice to the unique qualities Dar Zaman offers. Fantastic chef and food. Apologizes for the delay in writing a review. Thankyou Peter for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMrsD127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

We very much enjoyed our stay here and would definitely recommend this riad to other travellers. Hassan was great at making us feel at home - bringing us breakfast on the roof terrace, offering us mint tea and providing friendly and helpful advice about negotiating the streets of Marrakech.

A word of warning - the riad is extremely difficult to find so we would recommend booking a transfer from the airport through the riad. The riad is located at the end of a maze of narrow twisting streets without street names and taxis can't drive down them so even if you got a taxi from the airport it would only drop you at the end of the main road and you'd have trouble finding your way.

We loved feeling as though we were in the heart of the real Marrakech - there seemed to be relatively few tourists in the immediate area around the riad, and the narrow streets were filled with people, scooters, fruit carts and donkeys. We often had people approach us offering to "help" us find our way around for a price but Hassan's advice of covering up, looking confident and not pausing in the street seemed to ward off all but the most persistent hasslers.

There was plenty of space to relax - the courtyard with a little pool to dip your feet into after a long day in the souks, the sun loungers on the roof terrace and the sitting room with a laptop for guests to use. Karima's cooking was delicious, one of the best meals we had while we were there - we would particularly recommend the aubergine salad.

Thank you Peter, Hassan and Karima - this was the perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: It's worth paying extra for the superior rooms - we stayed in both and loved having the French w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RiadDarZaman, Owner at Riad Dar Zaman, responded to this review, 28 November 2012
Thanks for your kind words Rosie, you were lovely guests, we're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us!

As Rosie recommends, allow us to arrange your airport transfer and you'll arrive like a VIP :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Tripoli, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

Excellent stay at this riad. Karima makes great food, and Hassan was wonderful, giving advice on navigating the crazy streets of Marrakech, and took a personal interest to make sure you were enjoying yourself.

Riad is very clean and comfortable, and very close to everything. Felt very safe, a nice quiet haven after the navigating the streets of Marrakech.

Would definitely recommend.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
INGLEBY BARWICK, STOCKTON-ON-TEES
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2012

From the minute you arrive at Dar Zaman you feel at home. Hassan is an essential part of this friendly team. When I arrived I wasn't feeling well & unfortunately I was too ill to eat the arrival dinner - Hassan was very helpful, offering me a fan, water etc. My friend & I stayed in the room showed above & this met our requirements, my only complaint is that the bathroom lighting is dark making it difficult to dry your hair or put make-up on. We had complimentary water, in-room safe, air-con, hairdryers & little touches that you don't get if you're staying at a hotel. As this riad is small (only 4 bedrooms), you get to know the other guests - which is nice to chat with other people over a drink at the end of a busy day. The breakfasts seem to be catered for you whenever you get up & are plentiful. Hassan & Peter offer lots of advise, tips & history of Marrakesh. We loved staying at this Riad, I have already reccommended it to people & would definately come again. I stayed at The Atlas Medina & Spa on my last visit & there was nothing notably memorable about it but staying at a riad this time made the holiday more special.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANJIM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.2 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#92 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#54 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 898 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#44 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#35 of 494 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#73 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#37 of 1,130 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Property: Riad Dar Zaman
Address: 29 Derb Bouelilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing