We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way!”
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Riad Dar Zaman
Ranked #66 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

My son has stayed here several times and often talked enthusiastically about it at home in the UK. So when he offered to take there me as a birthday treat I was thrilled. It was perfect in every way. My room was off the roof terrace - peaceful and airy. The cool atrium was also a delightful spot to relax after sightseeing or hitting the souk for bargains. Hassan was very attentive and so helpful - nothing was too much trouble whether it was helpful advice or delicious refreshments we required. Highly recommended for those who like an authentic local experience.

Room Tip: Rooms are quite compact, but have everything you need. The one on the roof is particularly nice in m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    433
    44
    2
    3
    1
See reviews for
49
262
30
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
1 review
Reviewed 21 May 2014

My husband and I stayed a couple of nights at Dar Zaman in April. We were in Marrakech for 3 nights and, unfortunately, Dar Zaman only had a room for 2 of those nights. Peter was super helpful in helping me find a riad for our last night. La Baignoire room was very nice with a beautiful little bathroom. Hassan was so very accommodating to our needs. He was very thorough when showing us the map of Marrakech and teaching us where to go and what to expect. We couldn't have asked for a better experience and would love to go back again!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, South Wales, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Read all the other reviews. They are spot on. Our party of 6 had a fantastic time at the Riad Dar Zaman over Easter. We had a thorougly wonderful time. The Riad is atmospheric; the rooms nicely decorated and appointed. The food was marvellous. We ate in on a couple of occasions and Hassan and Karima provided a wonderful choice of top qualty food. Even more impressive was the welcome from Peter and his team. This is how customer service should be! They could not do enough for us, whether it be arranging day trips, recommending restaurants or providing maps to guide us through the medina. I would not normally single out an individual for special praise, but in the case of Hassan its necessary. What a lovely person and what impecable service. He is a star! Peter is a font of knowledge. He recommended a day trip to the High Atlas and made all the arrangements for us. We visited Kasbah du Toubkal for the views (and a welcome drink after the short hike) and then travelled back down the valley to have lunch at Richard Bransons, impressive Kasbah du Tamadot. What a memorable day. I highly recommend the former for its atmosphere and the latter for its style (and lunch there was not expensive!).
All in all a wonderful 4 nights at the Riad dar Zaman. If we ever return to Marrakech then there is only going to one place that we will stay. Thank you Peter, Hassan and Karima for the experience, your top quality service and your friendly welcome. Diolch yn fawr iawn.

Room Tip: All the rooms were great. My wife and I had the top floor room with the patio. Although the smallest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LMGriffiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

We participated in a half day cooking class and it was a wonderful experience. We created our menu, went shopping in the neighborhood market and then returned to the riad and spent the rest of the morning preparing our feast. The day was capped off by eating our meal on the roof with a view of the Atlas Mountains. Great host, guide and cooking teacher. A memorable experience. I took the recipes home and make chicken tangine in my crock pot!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We didn't stay at the place but used the train and bus ticket delivery service offered by Marrakesh Train Tickets (Supratours). They were delivered to our hotel on time and with all the correct details. Thank you for making our holidays so easy!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LittleBear1702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Dar Zaman is a beautiful riad in one of the nicest parts of the city, close to the northern souks which feel much more authentic than the more tourist ones close to the main square. Hassan meets you at the taxi drop off and gives you some of the best advice on visiting the city while you have one of the nicest mint teas of the stay. Their recommendations cover some things the guide book mention, and some places they don’t, including where is best to go for sunsets, and where best to have your lunch as well as what to order at certain cafes (somethings aren’t always on the menu so you have to be in the know).

We stayed in the beautiful terrace room at the top of the riad, which felt very private and secluded, very welcome after the chaos of the square.

Unfortunately for us our stay was booked last minute, and only for one night, and the riad we were transferring to in the south of the medina was not nearly as helpful, kind or beautifully maintained as Dar Zaman. Due to a mix up in their booking system we decided to stay elsewhere for the next 4 nights of our trip, and called Peter to see if he could help us locate somewhere. As they didn’t have rooms available they contacted another riad whose owner they know, and met us in the square to escort us, as navigating the streets of the medina can be hard at first. Helping us out like this was far more than they were obliged to do after we had checked out from their Riad, but they are both so kind and helpful that they didn’t mind sorting it out, and helping us carry our bags.

I will recommend this Riad to all my family and friends, just don’t book anywhere else in the city for another part of your trip, as it may be hard to leave.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clare19901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I stayed in Riad Dar Zaman for three nights in May 2014 and the experience was absolutely amazing! If you are looking for authentic Moroccan experience, Dar Zaman is definitely the place to stay at.

The Riad is superbly decorated in Moroccan stile with an African flavour, perfectly tidy and gives a feel of a home. It is situated in the old town of Medina in a maze of little streets surrounded by local people, giving absolute peace a quiet from the hectic streets of Marrakesh’s old town.

The Riad’s inner open courtyard with plants, birds and a small pool is just amazing to see first thing in the morning. The employees are amazing, kind and friendly people who go above and beyond to cater to every need you might have. Customer service at a superb level!!! A shining star of the team is the guest manager Hassan who is always ready to help with anything you might need and is simply put a remarkable individual. It felt like a home and the only negative thing about it is the fact I am not there anymore.

The cook is absolutely amazing and you should try at least one meal at the Riad itself, as it was a best tasting food I had in all of Marrakesh, simply amazing. Breakfast is free and very tasty, don’t miss it! :)

I also took the Camel Ride tour and a guided tour of Marrakesh, both of which I highly recommend. Camel Ride takes you to a village where you meet the local people and enjoy their hospitality, and the guided tour is great as you learn many facts and interesting insights. If you have more time (I had 3 days in total), definitely also go to the Atlas Mountains to see the Berber people and way they live.

I will definitely go to Marrakesh again and staying anywhere else than in Riad Dar Zaman is simply not an option.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srdan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
3.2 mi away
Al Fassia Aguedal
Al Fassia Aguedal
#84 of 499 in Marrakech
383 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#52 of 499 in Marrakech
923 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Altair
Riad Altair
#39 of 1,139 in Marrakech
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Tizwa
Riad Tizwa
#167 of 499 in Marrakech
321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#74 of 1,139 in Marrakech
191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Aya
Riad Aya
#32 of 1,139 in Marrakech
290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Property: Riad Dar Zaman
Address: 29 Derb Bouelilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing