We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great host...great Riad”
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Dar Zaman
Ranked #71 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2008

From the start Peter could not have been more helpful - organized taxis and accommodation to and from the airport/ desert and the Atlas mountains. We were met by him on arrival in Marrakech and wound our cases through the buzzy small streets to his delightful Riad where we were welcomed by Fatima and Hassan and delicious mint tea. Peter provided us with a map of the souk and some local knowledge before leading us to a charming rooftop (licenced!) restaurant in the souk for lunch. The surprising thing about Riad Dar Zaman is the quiet - only a 10 minute walk to the bustling souk and in the middle of the old city - and the only sounds were of birds and the occasional call to prayer from the many minarets. Our first night we ate in the Riad and Fatima's tagine was the best we had during our stay in Morocco. Looking down on a charming courtyard - our rooms tho' small were clean and the beds comfortable, and breakfasts on the roof were good. We loved it all, and cannot wait to return - a perfect place to stay. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank mulberrysue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

421 - 427 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2008

PROS
Really hip and relaxing place. Very coupley although. It attracts nice left-leaning English young couples for some reason. Fatima, the chef is AMAZING, you have to have dinner there at least one night. The price is right.
Peter the owner is sweet and a fun guy. I agree with the other reviews that it is like staying with a friend. The area is seriously the nicest part of Marrakech. I didnt really like some of the touristy spots near the square. In comparison, this place you can actually see normal people doing every day things like buying sugar, going to pray, walking to school, sweeping their door step. These are the most precious glimpses one gets when they are lucky enough to visit another country and culture.

CONS
No shampoo or conditioner and just one small bar of soap. Peter should invest in some nice toiletries, makes a big difference!
I wish there was a nice a big rug in our the room, as even the minimal design can be a bit cold (especially on the feet).
Also, we had a bit of an ant situation, so dont bring sweets home!

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank 4567QBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pjmrio, Owner at Riad Dar Zaman, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2008

Dar Zaman features a range of exquisite sensual body care products. Created from a base of Argan Oil which is extracted by hand by local artisans, the end result is an exceptional product, rich in texture and sensual perfumes. Currently featured in the riad: Vervain shower gel, Jasmine shampoo, Amber & Musk body milk. Indulge.

Thick pile berber rugs are in place ready for the cooler season ahead. Also energy efficient space heaters to ensure you remain toasty and snug.

Ants are a feature of summer in Morocco. We don’t administer insecticide unless absolutely necessary. Ants love all things sweet – if you bring back pastries, ask us for an airtight ant-proof container.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2008

I've just returned from a two week trip to Morocco (Sept '08) during which time I stayed at Riad Dar Zaman.

Not only is Riad Dar Zaman a wonderful luxury retreat with very attentive staff and a wonderful cook (you must try the in house tagine experience) -- as guests you are primed with a very helpful riad owner who will prepare you for the Marrakech experience.

He met us from our taxi, provided maps of Marrakech and the medina, suggested great restaurants and recommendations for activities/shopping/hammans, and took the trouble to arrange additional accommodation in the Atlas Mountains for us (at the wonderful Sel D'Ailleurs guesthouse - Imarigha) later during our holiday.

In fact the owner was kind enough to arrange the same accommodation in the mountains for friends we met later in our trip while surfing with SurfMaroc.co.uk in Taghazoute, near Agadir.

I can't thank the owner, Peter, enough for all his help during our stay and would have no hesitation recommending this riad to others looking for a great medina experience in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2008

We've just come back from our first trip to Marrakech staying a week at Dar Zaman and it thoroughly deserves all the great reviews - it was like staying at a friend's home!

Peter is very welcoming and is a fabulous host - from arranging the airport pick up and meeting us at the taxi drop off; to recommending great restaurants and day excursions. The riad
is stylish but understated and provides a perfect antidote to the chaotic Marrakech life! Peter's staff, Fatima and Hassan are lovely making sure our stay was very comfortable serving up breakfasts on the terrace and evening meals in dining room.

We would highly recommend staying at Dar Zaman - we won't be looking at other Marrakech riads in the future. Well done on creating this lovely space and thank you for making our stay in Marrakech so pleasurable!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CheltenhamOrchid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2008

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank willmott2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2008

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leonardis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2008

I actually found this place through trip advisior.

A beautifuly restored Riad in a quit part in the North of the Medina. The rooms were very comfortable and impeccably clean.

The owner (Peter) and the other staff were very friendly, going out of their way to help with various bits and pices.

Peter helped me organise further trips in Morocco and gave me lots of useful information about the city of Marrakech.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough!

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JamHo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Ariha
Riad Ariha
#189 of 502 in Marrakech
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#71 of 502 in Marrakech
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#55 of 502 in Marrakech
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#24 of 502 in Marrakech
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#87 of 1,170 in Marrakech
198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Nomades
Riad Nomades
#293 of 1,170 in Marrakech
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Bouelilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £64 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing