We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely dar and great staff - tucked out of the bustle”
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Dar Zaman
Ranked #79 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 April 2009

the area this riad ( oops dar) is in could be tricky to find at night and there was a fight between some locals the night we arrived! However the locals are very friendly and will direct you for a small fee! The staff in the riad are extremely helpful and the gave us a little guide into the centre when we arrived which was very helpful. It is walking distance to the souks. There is a nice roof terrace where you can see the Atlas mountains and a cool courtyard and nice log fire. The bathroom and bedroom in our room were not divided. Watch out for the guy who made the red curtains and bedspreads on his loom - he lives round the corner and makes lovely hand made bedspreads

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ukcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2009

Many of the reviewers have already pointed out the benefits and the qualities of a stay at Dar Zamam. Actually, this is the reason why we selected the particular road. We can cofirm that indeed Dar Zaman is a wonderful place to stay while in Marrakech. The location is great--in a quiet corner away from the noises and bussle of the souks; the rooms are sophisticated (design), very clean, and comfortable; the breakfast on the terrace is delicious and plentiful; Fatima and Hassan are welcoming and attentive; Peter will help you understand how to navigate the labyrinthine medina and offer suggestions for what to see and do in and around the city; and finally, Dar Zaman is afamtastic place when you want to relax and enjoy the culture of Morocco/Marrakech. It should not be missed.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2009

We had such a great time at Dar Zaman that I felt I must write a review - although I have little to add to the other reviews! This really is a place that feels like your home and an oasis of calm amidst the wonderful madness of Marrakech. We felt totally relaxed and at home from the moment Hassan met us from the taxi, his smile was a great welcome to a great city. Fatima's meal on our first night was excellent and nothing was too much trouble for either of them throughout our stay. The main square is less than 15 minutes walk away and the rest of the medina an easy stroll, other attractions such as the Jardin Majorelle are within 30 minutes walk or taxis are readily available nearby. One evening we ate at Dar Zellij - it's a top quality restaurant (the hairy bikers rate it the 8th best eating place in the world but don't let that put you off) and is less than 5 minutes walk away.

The best thing about this riad though is the way you are made to feel so welcome - truly your own home in Marrakech.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David56W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2009

We recently enjoyed a great 4 day stay in Marrackesh at Dar Zaman.

Without echoing all the other reveiws. Peter, Fatima and Hassam were all great and perfect hosts. On arrival at night it was a little daunting, dark and pouring with rain. We were very grateful to have Hassam show us the way to the riad and to have a lovely meal prepared by Fatima. The riad was perfectly decorated and breakfast on the roof terrace was very nice. We definately enjoyed our stay here and would recommend to friends.

Once you see the way in daylight you soon get used to the directions from the riad to main square, souks etc. It takes a day or so to adapt to the ways there, the haggling etc but it is all part of the holiday and charm. The people we encountered were all generally charming and when you bought something in the souk they all shook your hand.

Restaurants we found could be quite expensive and the Moroccan ones tend to go for 3- 5 course set menus. There is one restaurant close to the riad (2 minute walk) which was really special called Dar Zellij. Totally recommended if you are celebrating a special occassion. The service and food were fab.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEDBUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2009

The Riad is beautifully decorated and the staff and owner couldn't have been more helpful. As for the food? It's amazing! Truly fab!. Fatima should write a cook book as she gave us the best meals we had in Marrakesh and as the food generally was great this was no mean feat.
We booked through the excellent Hip Marrakech website, who were so helpful. I would recommend them heartily.
I would have had to give Dar Zaman 5 stars if it weren't for the location. It is in a rather rough area. I know that Riads are generally in residential areas but be careful because this does not mean the same thing in Marrakech as the UK and we did get battle fatigure running the gamet even just from where the taxis dropped us to the calming luxury of the Riad itself.
To be clear, we are well travelled and have been to India and the Far East but still found this difficult, although I am sure that many wont mind and that the attention to detail and high levels of service at the Riad will make up for this for some people.
If you can stand the beggars, people following you home and asking for cash and the chicken entrails and open drains on the path then you wont find a better Riad for the price, or indeed better food.
To be honest, I hesitated to write about the loaction because I didn't want to do Peter or his Riad an injustice because he and it were excellent but I did want to be honest as I would have liked to know.
We did leave the Riad early and checked into another hotel, outside this area but this was mainly due to the fact that I was recouperating from a lengthy ilness and needed to relax and the location and facing it twice a day was geting me down a bit.
If you are a Marakech vetron however you will be fine, I am sure.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LyndaGW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
darzaman, Owner at Riad Dar Zaman, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2009

The medina isn't everyone's cup of tea. This lovely guest unfortunately experienced four days of unseasonally cold temperatures and constant rain. The medina isn't pretty in the rain! Fortunately for tourists, rain is rare, and the list of unsavoury events listed above are not commonplace. In any event, don't let them become the focus of your holiday! There's a lot of magic and wonder in the medina, and blue sky and sunshine make a world of difference.

Hip Marrakech is a useful resource but please contact us directly through the Dar Zaman website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

We have just arrived home after having a wonderful experience being in Riad Dar Zaman in Marrakech… After reading all the nice reviews of this Riad, we decided to stay there and now we wanted to say what a fantastic time we had.
Mr. Peter Mercer, its owner, was waiting us at the taxi’s stop to guide us to his Riad.
He is a real gentleman, enchanting, extremely polite and helpful!
Since the moment we got into the Riad, we knew we were going to have a wonderful experience.
Riad Dar Zaman is so beautiful, charmingly decorated, peaceful, amazingly clean and conveniently located in the Medina. A true oasis, as many people have said here, in the middle of the liveliness of the beautiful Marrakech. To come back to the Riad, at the end of a crazy day in the Medina… was a real pleasure!
The riad is about a 10-15 minute walk to the main square Djemaa el Fna and the souqs and a 5 minute walk to the fantastic restaurant "Le Fondouk" where we had a marvelous dinner.
Hassam and Fatima were so sweet and could not do enough for us. They were attentive and friendly. The wonderful breakfasts served on the rooftop with the view of the Atlas Mountains, were superb!!
The rooms were very nice and cozy, the beds very comfortable and all in general was perfect!
Peter arranged for us to go to Eassouira, what was really nice. This trip to the coast gave us another flavour of the country. We really loved it!
Pictures and words will not do this Riad justice, because it is not easy to describe the hospitality of Peter and his staff, unless you have experienced it by yourself. They completely made us feel at home.
Thank you very much again to Peter, Hassan and Fatima for a wonderful time! We will never forget you!!!
I could be here for hours telling you many nice things about this lovely Riad, its people and Marrakech…. But I better finish now! :-)
We would love to come back to Dar Zaman again and we highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lana542001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2009

When a friend and I decided to go to Morocco we started doing some research on the many riads in Marrakech. We spent 4 nights at Riad Dar Zaman at the end of January. The Riad was just as we expected from all the positive reviews on here.
Peter, who owns the property, arranged our taxi waiting at the airport and met us to walk us to the Riad. Then we went to the roof terrace and he offered delicious Moroccan tea and biscuits. The maps and orientation that Peter gave us were invaluable.
Peter, and the staff, where fantastic. The riad is beautiful. The lovely breakfasts, fresh orange juice, coffee or tea, pastries, Moroccan pancakes and toast, homemade marmalade.
It was so nice to come back in the afternoon and relax. The staff is without fault and cannot do enough to help us, extremely courteous and helpful, and genuinely wanted to ensure all our needs were met. We were treated as family no just a source of income and felt we were in a person's home .
Many thanks and much love to Peter, Hassan and Fatima for a great stay! I would love to return to Dar Zaman someday to visit our new friends again.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caridad95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Ariha
Riad Ariha
#184 of 502 in Marrakech
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#68 of 502 in Marrakech
238 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#56 of 502 in Marrakech
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#24 of 502 in Marrakech
835 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#86 of 1,170 in Marrakech
197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Nomades
Riad Nomades
#291 of 1,170 in Marrakech
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Bouelilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #79 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £63 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing