We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful romantic experience”
Review of Riad Dar Zaman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Dar Zaman
Ranked #74 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 October 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend in Marrakesk - the riad was an oasis of calm and tranquility among the hustle and bustle of the busy medina. Eating out in the square was a real experience and certainly one not to be missed. The breakfast at Dar Zaman were great made all the better by sitting out on the terrace with bright blue skies and warm sun. Thanks very much to you all at Dar Zaman for making our weekend so lovely.

Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank Ward16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (498)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

379 - 385 of 498 reviews

Reviewed 12 October 2009

Everything the other reviews have mentioned are absolutely true. You couldn't find a better place to stay in Marrakesh. It's well located; a close walk through the medina to all the major sites and souks. For those who are prone to getting lost like I am, it is also conveniently close to the main road which you can follow to the big square. The riad itself is super clean, wonderfully decorated, has a beautiful rooftop terrace to relax and have breakfast on and best of all, it has Peter, Hassan and Fatima. They are so friendly you'll feel like you've known them forever so don't be afraid to ask them any questions you have about Marrakesh. Have fun!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liamblake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2009

On arrival in Marrakech we were met by the taxi driver Peter had arranged for us. Hassan was there to meet us at the other end & we were very warmly welcomed by him, Peter & Fatima at the riad. Peter answered all of our many questions & put us at ease about our surroundings, the language & tourisism in general in Marrakech. The best thing though was when he told us that there was no where we shouldn't venture,

Peter arranged a guide for us for a morning. This was extremely useful for us to get our bearings, but most of all very interesting & informative. Our guide was born & grew up not far from Dar Zaman and it was great to hear things not in the travel books. Peter also booked transport to & from the Atlas Mountains, well worth doing.

Marrakech is a beautiful city. Madressas, palaces gardens & of course the souks, the colours, smells & vibrant atmosphere is breathtaking. We would love to return.

Dar Zaman is a tranquil oasis amidst the hustle & bustle of the Medina. It has a warm & homely feel about it due largely to the lovely people who run it. Fatima is kind & caring, Hassan, warm, friendly & so very helpful. Peter, well we couldn't ask for any more form a host. He went out of his way to make us feel at home & told us to treat it as such. He gave up his time & joined us on a couple occasions, taking us to places we never would have found on our own.

In conclusion - go to Marrakech, it's a wonderfully interesting and vibrant city and if you want a more intimate experience stay at Dar Zaman - you won't regret it.

Thank you Peter, Hassan & Fatima, you helped to make our holiday one we'll never forget.

Dominc & Vanitha

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mactheknifeKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2009

My husband and I chose Dar Zaman following a recommendation from a friend who had stayed there a few months before us. The owner, Peter, was extremely helpful prior to our arrival and responded very promptly to my numerous emails. We were given a very warm welcome and after a pleasant dinner in the riad we wanted to go and explore but were a little concerned that we would get lost, Marrakech (within the medina anyway) is a labyrinth of narrow streets, some of which can be quite dark. Peter arranged for Hassan, a charming guy who works for him, to walk with us into the medina which he did happily. There were other occasions, i.e. when we couldn't find a restaurant, that the two of them walked with us. The riad is very nicely decorated and kept very clean and the bed was really comfortable. We would highly recommend staying here. It is located in a great spot within an easy walk of the medina (easily done once Peter has taken you through the map, which he does very thoroughly), is very tastefully decorated but the main unique feature of Dar Zaman is Peter, and of course Hassan, who made us feel so relaxed. P.S Peter also took us to a wonderful shop that we would never have found without him that was like an Aladdin's cave full of beautiful lights and lanterns, leather, ceramics etc. Thanks to both Peter and Hassan from - Louise and Delvin, Leigh-on-Sea, Essex

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lupitt23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

The service we received throughout our stay was excellent.
Peter has a great Riad in the perfect place, you really feel as if you are part of the local life style. Hassan and Fatima are a dream, Hassan willing to help you with anything while Fatima will cook you up some of the best food you will taste anywhere in the world.
The rooms are perfect, nothing flamboyant but typical Moroccan style. The roof terrace is great, what a sun trap.
Go to the main square and visit the Souks, you will be amazed at what you can get, remember always barter.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorf81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

As our family has grown up we take a trip with everyone (all 9!) for a week in August every year — with an age range from 10-54 it's not necessarily easy to keep everyone happy. We spent a week in Marrakech to be together, give our teenagers some experience of the Muslim world, and chill out (ha, ha). August is low season in Marrakech, and outside temperatures were high, so it was important to be somewhere with air conditioning. The plunge pool was excellent, too, and the roof garden in the early mornings and evening. Everything was immaculately clean and worked — DZ is a beautiful medieval townhouse that's had a "grand designs" type makeover, with really stylish design to go with the grain of its architecture and location — is ideal for the souks and near enough to the newer city for us to walk, say, to the Majorelle gardens without undue effort.

Peter, Hassan and Fatima really looked after us, as though we'd knowon them for years as friends — nothing was too much trouble. Peter filled us in as first timers on the place, and its incredible possibilities; his advice, based on local nolwedge, was spot on every time. It was great, for example, to be able to use a local (non touristy) Hammam, with some idea of what was going on and what we needed to take, and how everything worked.

Being in the thick of the old city, it was important to have a calm and empathetic home base. Fatima cooked a family meal for us one evening — absolutely extraordinarily yummy for all. Peter was glad to arrange a day trip out to the hills, and all transfers etc.

Being in Marrakech in Ramadan worked well for us. There were times in the day streets were amost deserted (good for photography), the water park at Oasiria was almost empty for the afternoont he kids went out there to play, and everything was available when we needed it.

All in all DZ was as good a base for a family adventure as it could have been a quiet romantic getaway. We were bowled over by thekindness, skill and helpfulness of staff.

All this — flights and all — for rather less than the rental fee we paid three years ago for a cottage in the UK where the kids were bored, we got ripped off for food etc, and it rained all the time!

We'd definitely do it again

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alan_wilson49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2009

We stayed in Dar Zaman in July of 2009 and although extremely hot, once inside the peaceful surrounds of this Riad it was easy to relax. Rooms are very elegantly designed and Peter and Hasan extremely helpful and courteous. I would heartily recommend this Riad.

Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank DarTangion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.5 mi away
Riad Dar Karma
Riad Dar Karma
#153 of 500 in Marrakech
177 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#32 of 500 in Marrakech
765 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
#56 of 500 in Marrakech
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#58 of 500 in Marrakech
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Le J
Riad Le J
#86 of 1,187 in Marrakech
208 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Adore
Riad Adore
#19 of 1,187 in Marrakech
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zaman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaman

Address: 29 Derb Bouelilou | Sidi Ben Slimane, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £53 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Zaman 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zaman is an exquisite Moroccan house in the heart of the Marrakech medina. Chic and romantic, we have four, beautiful en-suite double bedrooms, a sun terrace, plunge pool, and most importantly, a fun and spirited team to take care of you! We're English-owned and managed: come and stay with us and savor our superb hospitality! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar Zaman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zaman Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing