We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flawless / definitely under rated”
Review of Le Riad Monceau

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Le Riad Monceau
Ranked #219 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We’ve been to Marrakech 3 times and this was the very best of all thanks to our stay at this beautiful gem of a riad. My wife and I stayed in the Pasha Suite which was really big, beautiful, with a lovely open fireplace and the most amazing hot tub we ever saw !!! Very impressive and sooo cool !! Unfortunately we didn’t take any pictures but you can see it on the hotel website.  Wirth a visit.
The inner courtyard is just breathtaking with its beautiful palm trees and the lovely pool. And at night, with the candles and lights it is just one of the most gorgeous  places to spend an evening. Speaking of which : have dinner there! The 2 meals we had at the onsite restaurant were definitely the best we had in Marrakech.  If the weather is warm enough, ask for a table by the pool. 
All in all I’d call this place perfect. Marrakech is an overload for the senses if you've never been there and riad Monceau makes the transition so easy. The Riad is away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist trap but in the meantime it’s just off the main square which is less than a 2 minute walk.  This is a huge bonus as walking in old Marrakech can be quite daunting when you are used to it. 
Tip : ask to have a look at their book which is beautiful and can make a really nice souvenir from Marrakech (tons of photos of the riad + more than 50 Moroccan recipes).

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (546)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 546 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

My partner and I spent 3 nights at this beautiful hotel in mid-January. Quite cold outside but so warm and welcoming inside !! The whole place is just soooo beautiful !
We stayed in the Caliph superior double room which was just amazing : beautiful furnishing, a lot of space and a huge en suite bathroom. Moreover the location is really the best you can hope for as the famous Jemaa El Fna square is right off the corner of the street.

Room Tip: Caliph was great ; all rooms are featured on their website
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Medhi_dom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

The highlite of our stay in Marrakech was the Riad Monceau.
the rooms are very comfortable and the peace and tranquility abounds.
The staff were very helpful in many ways from our arrival to departure.
the food was delicious. I met the owner on many occasions and she was delightful.
the owner's receptionist/ assistant was very helpful and kind. When we arrived we found we had a room on the first floor. it was my mistake as i did not think there would be no elevator. When we explained the problem with the stairs we were immediately given a room on the main level off the courtyard.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We did not enjoy our stay in Marrakech as a city for a number of reasons, but the absolute highlight of our stay was being able to escape back to the Riad Monceau for respite. The peace and tranquility was amazing after the sights and sounds of the city. The restaurant in the hotel was incredible.

The only downsides were that there is no view from the roof, the hammam was incredibly small, and some of the rooms are quite small.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jhorsfieldbradbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

We had a very nice stay at the Le Riad Monceau‏. It had a very nice french colony atmosphere. The rooms were fantastic with our own jacuzzi! The hotel restaurant served tasty maroccan food and the staff were overall very friendly and helpfull. Although one of the waiters were very pushy about getting a taxi for us. He even told us that it could be very difficult getting one. Which is completely BS!

The location was right next to all the shops and markets.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

That’s the first word that comes to mind:perfection... Our stay was just PERFECT and all about this lovely boutique was flawless. Perfect location – all other riads we were interested in were at least 10 minutes walk from the main square (which means quite far here !!) whereas Riad Monceau was less than 2 minutes) ; a huge bonus !
Fantastic decor, gorgeous surroundings… What else can I say? Oh yes : fantastic staff! All so helpful and friendly.
Thanks all guys for making our stay an enchanting and never to be forgotten moment

Room Tip: The Pasha suite is the most expensive of all rooms but it's absolutely amazing ; huge private ja...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2011

This is a fantastic place to stay and relax.
The rooms are superb, spacious, very comfortable and feature great en-suite bathrooms. All spotless clean and perfectly kept.
On site Restaurant Riad Monceau is also a must and the 2 dinners we had there were fantastic. Would definitely recommend to give it a try at least once during your stay.
Having dinner here on your arrival night can be a good idea so you can relax and enjoy the fantastic surroundings and ambiance of the riad at night. Probably the most enjoyable way to start a great stay in magic Marrakech !
And if you are interested in cooking do not hesitate to participate to one of the cookery workshops that are held in the restaurant kitchen every morning. This is a lot of fun and a very friendly moment.
Would definitely recommend this for a romantic getaway, food is exquisite, staff are all wonderful.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to be great though they are all different. All rooms are shown on the hotel officia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charles s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.5 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#86 of 501 in Marrakech
431 reviews
1.0 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#159 of 501 in Marrakech
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dar Assiya
Dar Assiya
#138 of 501 in Marrakech
81 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
Riad & Spa Esprit du Maroc
#157 of 501 in Marrakech
414 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Nashira & Spa
Riad Nashira & Spa
#80 of 501 in Marrakech
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Riad Monceau? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Riad Monceau

Address: 7/8 Derb Chaabane-Riad Zitoun Lakdim | Riad Zitoun Lakdim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#122 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#143 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £125 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Riad Monceau 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a quiet side street just off the Djemaa El Fna (about 100 metres from the square) Le Riad Monceau is a cosy 7-room boutique hotel with pool, hammam-spa, rooftop terraces overviewing the Koutoubia Mosque, and a renowned Moroccan gourmet restaurant where you will enjoy the best of Moroccan gastronomy. Famous friendly cooking workshops are held every morning in the restaurant's kitchen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Le Riad Monceau reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Riad Monceau Marrakech
Le Riad Monceau Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing