We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic stay”
Review of Dar Saria

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Dar Saria
Ranked #398 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 14 January 2013

We arrived in the afternoon in Marrakech. Ahmed, our host in the Dar Saria, gave our taxi driver instructions over the phone,a nd picked us and our lugagge up. The Dar is very central in the Medina yet so peaceful and quiet you alsmost can't believe that the load, crazy, noisy, wonderful city is just outside its walls. Ahmed was the perfect host, and had a fire in the open fireplace and fresh mit tea ready when we returned from our daily trips. He had good recommendations for restaurants, massage and spa places and was friendly and patient with our little daughter.
The room we had was on the first floor and a pure dream: huge, with a couch, pillows and puffs,a comfy bed and a big bathroom.

Room Tip: We had the big room on the first floor, which I can only recommend - at least being there in winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brittasanchez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (25)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 25 reviews

Reviewed 21 January 2010

Been beautifully restored and decorated. Staff are charming and really helpful, do all they can to ensure that stay is comfortable with copious amounts of mint tea and logs for the fire. Right next to souks and only 10 mins walk from the main square. Was a lovely haven from the busy souks. Everything is walking distance in the Medina just outside the door.
Only downers for us was that bed did not appear to be hotel quality and so sleep was disturbed, (but then I do have a 'princess and the pea' complex!) and owners love of playing rather incongruous 'elevator music' such as vivaldi and other european classical music lots of the time.
If booking may also be worth asking if owner's family and friends are likely to be staying when you are planning to visit as our experience was that they didn't appear to appreciate any intrusion from paying customers. It is a very small raid (3 or 4 rooms) which I imagine is a great thing when have opportunity to meet and swap notes with fellow travellers or if travelling as a group and can book whole riad.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chornayakoshka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2009

Dar Saria was a very pleasant surprise. Flo, one of the owners greeted us at the edge of the Medina and led us to her Marrakech Riad. It was a perfect oasis from the hustle and bustle of the medina. As architects, we loved the understated nature of the renovated space. We loved our room (double with bathroom) and the roof terrace, Sharing cocktails with Flo in the late afternoon made us feel very much at home.
We look forward to coming back on our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnipegjets814north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay and thought Ahmed and his staff were very helpful. Food on our first night was very tasty and served with politeness and care.
Darsaria was right in the heart of the medina and souks were right outside the door.
A map at greeting guests would be helpful but once you know where you are .....no problems. Would recommend to all. Robyn and Jamesie

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robby56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2009

we really enjoyed the time there. Ahmed, Amina and Abdul were really nice and allways available.
It's not easy to find and the privecy is not the best also, but I guess this is a common problem for these kind of Riads.
As for everything els, perfect. Nice, clean and very comfortable.
Surely worth the price.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarcosFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2008

We're just back from our first trip to Marrakech and Dar Saria was wonderful! The riad is in a great location -- right in the middle of the medina and with easy access to bigger roads and taxis -- and the rooms are really lovely and charming. It was hard not to take dozens of photos of the courtyard, the decorative details, etc. We ate in one night and it was strong competition to the top tier restaurants in the city. Breakfasts were equally lovely. Ahmed, the manager was incredibly helpful with making reservations, suggestions, securing bus tickets, walking us to hard to find dinner locations, etc. He even offered to take us shopping in the souks and help out with the bargaining! A pile of guidebooks, picture books, and magazines in the courtyard on all things Morocco also helped us get situated.

The only potential drawback was that the rooms are all centered on the one courtyard and due to both windows and old doors opening onto that space, there isn't complete sound privacy. This seemed to work out fine during our stay (other guests even departed early one morning and we barely woke up) however if you seek a truly isolated room with total privacy and no outside noises, this may not be the best hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank FashionPiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2008

This riad is lovely. We had he most expensive and biggest room but all looked very nice. Lovely courtyard at night., great value and decent breakfasts.

Only complaint was that we were not 100% sure how objective the manager's restaurant suggestions were. Also left a very sour taste in the mouth that he booked us a taxi to the mountains for 800 dirhams (£45) and we managed to get back for 250... Make of that what you will - just sort out your own transport, don't listen to his restaurant suggestions and you'll have a great time here!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthannah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#76 of 500 in Marrakech
2,137 reviews
1.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Marrakech
3.9 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#43 of 500 in Marrakech
1,341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#269 of 500 in Marrakech
193 reviews
0.7 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#52 of 500 in Marrakech
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Saria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Saria

Address: derb Ouiahah no46 - quartier Sidi Abdel Aziz | Marrakech Médina - Maroc, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #398 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Dar Saria Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing