We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning riad, hostile area, poor service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Darma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Dar Darma
Ranked #176 of 1,176 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning riad, hostile area, poor service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

We stayed at this riad for 4 nights. For anyone who does decide to come here the riad has no sign, which is unhelpful when searching for it with suitcases and locals looking to exploit tourists at your heels.

At first we were presented with immense splendor, the riad had an authentic feel and the rooms and courtyard were equally impressive.

However when we went to leave the riad we were confronted with a large amount of pestering from locals in the area, which at times could get very aggressive and intimidating. We believed this was due to the area, as pestering was less intense in the more touristy areas closer to the square. There was a back entrance which helped reduce hassle slightly, however staff did not always here us knocking to come in from this entrance.

Apart from one staff member the staff were extremely unhelpful and uninterested in engaging in friendly conversation, even in greeting. One member in particular was incredibly rude and would tut if we asked for water or if we knocked on the front door (keys are not provided). He seemed bitter and resentful towards the guests, I began to fear asking for anything. In the morning he would slam breakfast on the table without uttering a word. One morning he even had a full on argument in Arabic in front of us with another staff member.

In addition the food, water and tea at this riad were not good value for money.

To conclude unless you can stay at this riad for a reduced rate, it probably isn't worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HRosselli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    33
    10
    8
    2
See reviews for
23
83
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2011

just returned from dar darma stayed in red 2 bedroom suite which is amazing. the riad is beautifull as is all the suites, sahid and all the staff are lovely. the service is wonderfull, in obtrusive but ever present, on hand day or night for whatever you want, nothing really is to much trouble, breakfast was lovely served whenever or where ever you want it. we have stayed at many top riads in marrakech. r e riad farnatchi,noir d ivoir, riad el fenn and i have to say this is as good as it gets. i have never written a review about any where before partly because they have not needed it but i cant understand the negative reviews about dar darma so feel i must set the record straight.i can only think that the people who have written these reviews do not really apreciate marrakech and the riad. the dar is a palace with antiques and quirky touches everywhere, our suite was massive two bedrooms two bathrooms large living room,truly amazing.the roof terrace is massive with lovely hammocks and daybeds and a pool which is large enough to swim in. the comunal areas are amazing i really can not say enough about this riad. i would reccomend this riad to any one the whole riad is immaculate clean. it is a 2 minute walk from la fonduk restaraunt and the souks and a 5 minute walk to the square. cant wait to return and would like to thank all the staff for a truly amazing stay.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank mattm37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2011

We stayed 3 nights from the 4th of March. We were greeted by Sahid who had the fireplace lit up for us. We had booked the Brown Suite but were surprised with an upgrade to the Red one. Two bedrooms, two bathrooms and a lovely living room with a big window giving to a beautiful pool patio. My son (10) was thrilled with the whole riad. We were the only guests on the 1st night and had my husband's birthday dinner set on the lounge by the fireplace. A tasty tagine with moroccan salad, fruit pie, nice wine. He keeps thanking me for this delightful present as he had no idea what lied behind the 11/12 door on Trik Sidi Bohuarba. Walking along the streets gives you no idea.
We dind't find that walking a street to reach it or not having a taxi at the door was a problem at all. It's a nice ten minute stroll to Jammaa el Fna (passing by the Medersa (right neraby),the Museum and the souks) if one needs a taxi. The Riad provides airport transfers, which is very convenient and the price is fair enough.
The hammam was working and we could use it with our son at no extra cost. My husband had a massage while I learned the technique. Lol.
Breakfast was very fresh, tasty and more than enough. If you look for a hotel type breakfast, with loads of things you end up by not eating, than try a hotel outside the medina. Anyway the staff were there at all times should we need anything else. I wouldn't trade this place for any 5 star hotel in this city.
It's truly beautiful, spotless and we felt welcome and helped whenever we needed.
I can't wait to return!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFAMILYLisbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bangkok
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2010

My wife and I stayed at the Riad in early May traveling from Thailand for a friend's 40th. A true catalogue of how not to run a hotel, culminating in the loss of valuables from our room and a completely unhelpful process of trying to report this and seek compensation. Avoid like the plague, unless of course they have rooted out the petty thievery and the after thievery service. If you want more information please feel free to contact me at atimblick@timblickpartners.com. I am a lawyer so although not liked, not a liar.

Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank alitimblick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar_Darma, Manager at Riad Dar Darma, responded to this review, 3 November 2010
Dear Mr Timblick,

We perfectly remind your inconvenient and would love the opportunity to reply to your review and express our sadness for your thoughts.

When you left the Dar, no personal belongings were found in your suite.

Therefore, Dar Darma is absolutely responsible for the loss of any of the personal belongings of guests staying in till the moment our guests depart.

Let me also remind you that Dar Darma received your complaint 3 days after you checked out.

At that step there was impossible for Dar Darma to assist you and open an official procedure to refund you through the insurance. The procedure, in fact, requires a policeman who collects the complaint of the guest and sends it to the insurance. Guest must stay in the Dar at the moment of the loss, this is fundamental and didn't happened.

We really hope that helps you better understand and thank you for your attention.


With best wishes,
Laura Vida on behalf of Dar Darma
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
india
Level Contributor
87 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2010

We stayed in the blue apartment.. The hotel was nice - the breakfast was good-

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank altravelindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

Stylish Riad in the north of the Medina. Main disadvantages are: - it is not possible to go by car (taxi) to the hotel, which is disturbing if you want to return to the hotel during the night. - cockroach in the bathtube, sometimes old, sloppy furniture, SPA is not working - moderate breakfast as well as sometimes unfriendly staff. In addition, it is managed by Italians who never are present in case if something wents wrong with the booking, etc.; the local staff has no idea about the details.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GAMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2010

Dar Darma is a truly luxurious ryad in the heart of Marrakech's medina. We stayed in the red apartment which was spectacular. The service was great and the staff were all very attentive. They organised a guide, booked our restaurants and organised our taxis - nothing was too much trouble for them. The ryad was perfectly located for a short walk to the souks and the main square. A peaceful, tranquil oasis after the hustle and bustle of the medina.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ansa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#89 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#54 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Seven
Dar Seven
#108 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#99 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
Hotel & Spa Riad Edward
#155 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Kaiss
Riad Kaiss
#47 of 508 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Darma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Darma

Property: Riad Dar Darma
Address: 11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #176 of 1,176 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Darma 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Darma is a private dwelling that can offer privacy, low-key services and traditional Moroccan hospitality in a relaxed, exclusive atmosphere. A few steps from the Museum and the Medersa Ben Youssef. You can enjoy this experience in the intimate surroundings of your suite, in the relaxation areas or on the terraces with breathtaking views of the Koutoubia Mosque and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Dar Darma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Darma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing