We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing experience!”
Review of Riad Dar Darma

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Darma
Ranked #243 of 1,187 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 November 2013

This riad was like staying in a fairytale palace! We stayed in the Red apartment and loved it! The staff was so attentive and always ready to help. We enjoyed returning to a beautiful fire, some Moroccan wine and olives, after an afternoon of exploring the Medina. Breakfast and lunch on the rooftop terrace was wonderful! The food was so good and the view even better! I will dream about that orange juice for a long time! The staff was very helpful in recommending a place for dinner and also arranging taxi transportation when we needed it. I will never forget our experience there.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parrotgirl81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed in two different hotels in Marrakesh-- Dar Darma and the Riad Idra. They are about the same price, very different in style but both are very luxurious and comfortable. To be honest, we like the Riad Idra better and think it's of better value, but the stay at Dar Darma is a very unique experience which we did not regret either.

On Arrival- We spent our 1st night in Morocco here. Since I wanted to avoid bargaining with taxi driver after our long flight, I booked the airport transfer (150DH) for the four of us. The driver arrived early and was holding a sign which said "Dar Darma". He was polite and friendly, waited for us while we exchanged the money and told us a little about the area during the short drive (~20min) We were a little nervous when he dropped us off on a busy street where a young man took our luggages from the trunk and put on his he tricycle without a word. We assumed he was the porter from the hotel and followed him to an alley, where he asked us for a 100DH. We didn't know that was the door of the hotel as there was no sign, so we got quite alarmed as we worried he would just leave our luggages there if we didn't pay. Finally we gave him 50DH and the door was opened, not a very welcoming experience.

The hotel- The first impression- a labyrinth of long corridors, dark and mysterious. Things got better afterwards as we got used to the dimness and entered the brightly-lit courtyard. The rooftop terrace where we had dinner and breakfast was lovely too, we could have good view of the medina from there. There were lots of steep stairs, people with mobility problem should take caution.

Room- Very uniquely decorated, like the other reviewer's described, "private luxury in a shabby chic, story book way". We had never stayed in a room quite like this, so it was a very special experience for us. The red room was very spacious with lots of details, tho some furnitures appeared to be a bit aged (or was that the design?), everything was super clean and neat. We wondered how they could keep everything so clean and dust-free as there were lots of decorations. There were two bathrooms with three showers in the room, they were not bad, water pressure ok and water temperature stable. Would appreciate toiletries such as shower caps, cotton swabs, shampoo and lotion etc to make Dar Darma a real 5-star hotel.

Service- On arrival we were a bit annoyed because of the greedy porter, but the staff calmed us down in no time with mint tea and very nice service. We were severed by mainly one guy (sorry I didn't get the name>.<), he took all our suitcases into the room by himself while we enjoyed our mint tea. During our stay, he treated us like royalty, very friendly, attentive and helpful, and when we offered him tips, he refused and left the tips in our room. The staff was very thoughtful, I asked for hot water at night to make some drinks, and he brought me a tray with cups, a pot of hot water with spoons.

Meals- We had one of the nicest dinner here during our ten days in Morocco. We shared 3 dinner sets (chickenx2, beefx1) among 4 people since we had small appetites. The chicken and beef were all soft and tender, nicely flavoured even to our spoilt Chinese taste buds. Breakfast was bountiful with fresh fruits and homemade bakery. We really enjoyed our meals a lot, thanks to Maria.

Location- very centrally located, close to the square and other attractions. There are many shops around too. Need to pay extra attention as the area is very touristy and there are lots of locals trying to make money from tourists.

Overall, we were very satisfied with our stay tho Dar Darma was more like a unique boutique B&B than a 5-star hotel. The value was good since we paid half price only (~EUR 180 for the red room for four). It would be overpriced if we had to pay the full price... I suppose ~EUR 250-300 would be a more reasonable price for a stay of this quality.

Room Tip: we stayed in the red room (known as "presidential suite" on splendia, very spacious with 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Rilakbuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This riad is amazing.... The staff treated us like royalty, the rooms are stunning, with parts of it dating back hundreds of years. This place is like a sanctuary. We have stayed in Marrakech around six times previous to this visit, staying at a 5* hotel & other riads... All of which are of a 5* status, but this place just has the edge on all the others.

The staff at dar darma are so professional & attentive, they go the extra mile to ensure you have an enjoyable time.
They offer you drinks while you are relaxing in the sun to make sure you are not dehydrated !
They even arranged taxi's for us that were like having a personal chauffeur & took us door to door, even ensuring our friends made it back to their own riad safely.

Anything we asked for, the staff at Dar Darma were able to fetch it /find it/ bring it/cook it. I really enjoyed the 5 days I spent here .... And plan to return, with friends.

This is the perfect place to escape with your other half but is very different from staying in a "hotel".... More like staying in someone's private residence with fantastic staff. It was very clean & the food & wine here are really good.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Dar Darma is an oasis of calm in a totaly hectic city. Behind an unimposing entrance is a secret world waiting to be discovered by those fortunate enough to stay there. We had a lovely suite which was filled with all sorts of interesting antiques and marvelously quirky bathrooms. Lovely and attentive staff who could not be more helpful (Maria deserves a mention!). Breakfast on the top deck was very nice indeed and there is even a small swimming pool if you fancy a quick dip. A great place to stay to take in the charms of the Souk and Medina so close to everything it really is a great place to stay-will be coming back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We stayed in the red apartment. It is darkly bohemian beautiful.
It is private luxury in a shabby chic, story book way.
The service is very personal, and super friendly.
The food has a very nice morrocan-home-cooked feel to it.
And the Dar Darma location great - but bring a small compass to find your way in the Medina.
Over all a luxury treat for persons - who do not need everything to bee new, whole and shiny.

Room Tip: Pick the red or blue apartment for extra luxury, or the smaller and lighter patio suites, higher up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob-Therese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

This visit is our fourth return to Marrakech from Geneva to escape from the European winter and our fourth visit to Dar Darma for what has become our annual tradition. What has made our visits so special has been not only the initial charm of this Riad, but of the remarkable care and personal attention that the Dar Darma team gives to us each time. The first time we visited was our first romantic getaway... and each winter we now return with new friends and family to share this magical home. From Maria's exquisite cuisine to the impeccable service and attention to detail that each of the team members--Said, Hicham and Abdo--provide, to the atmosphere of beauty the decor and design provide... it is an escape that makes one feel like royalty; but also like family. Come to Marrakech for the buzz of the markets and to be overwhelmed by your senses, but return to Dar Darma to recharge, enjoy a private Hammam, soak quiet moments of sun on the terrace...

Room Tip: Red apartment for a romantic couple getaway
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Just back from Dar Darma! A perfect and delicious place to choose in Marrakech.
A charming riad with italian touch, remembering me a palace in Venezia.
Stay in Red apartment, a huge one with painted wooden ceilings, stucco work, old doors and luxurious furnishings. Love the bathroom with the door hidden on the wardrove...like Narnia!
Stuff very attentive.
Had a delicious cooking lesson with Maria, the cook of the riad.
And has also a fantastic plus, after 10 o'clock in the evening the taxis can leave us just in front of the riad door ... no need to walk in the labirintic streets of Marrakech medina!
Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariapserra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
El Fenn
El Fenn
#104 of 500 in Marrakech
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Assiya
Dar Assiya
#151 of 500 in Marrakech
84 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Farnatchi
Riad Farnatchi
#90 of 500 in Marrakech
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Dar Les Cigognes
Dar Les Cigognes
#78 of 500 in Marrakech
439 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Joya
Riad Joya
#96 of 500 in Marrakech
297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#20 of 500 in Marrakech
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Darma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Darma

Address: 11/12, Trik Sidi Bohuarba - Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #243 of 1,187 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: £153 - £402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar Darma 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Darma is a private dwelling that can offer privacy, low-key services and traditional Moroccan hospitality in a relaxed, exclusive atmosphere. A few steps from the Museum and the Medersa Ben Youssef. You can enjoy this experience in the intimate surroundings of your suite, in the relaxation areas or on the terraces with breathtaking views of the Koutoubia Mosque and the Atlas Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Dar Darma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Darma Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing