We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It rains in Marrakech”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Riad Ilayka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Ilayka
Ranked #101 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“It rains in Marrakech”
Reviewed 7 March 2013

Stayed one night only - Thank goodness! Following a rainy morning, we checked into the Riad. It was found down a series of alleys at the back of the Souk. Looked reasonably authentic and had been recently refurbished, supposedly at great expense.

Up to the room and there was found to be no lights. Various lamps changed and OK again. Unpacking - lights go out again. Quickly fixed by young porter.

Out to dinner and on return, no lights in the room. Quickly fixed by young porter.

Hell of a din at 4.30 am. Another couple, locked out all night, were admitted by the sleepy night porter and complaining every which way.

After cold showers in the gloom, the hot water is heated from the same circuit breaker as the lighting, Breakfast was fine and the Manager very apologetic for the disturbance in the early hours.

It would appear that the one thing that was not renovated was the Riad wiring which means that the circuit breaker trips all the time under damp conditions! Not all rooms were affected.

Room Tip: One with lights!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank davi777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Dear Sir,
The comments left on Tripadvisor allow future travelers to have an idea about the place where they stayed
About you sir, you have spent a single night at Riad Ilayka and I find your comments extremely hard with us
Arrived in the late afternoon and left at dawn in the pouring rain with a storm rarely had to Marrakech
the noise at 4:30 you made object is nothing other than the winter tarpaulin roof, slammed the violence of the wind and not the clients
Know dear sir that we are not responsible for the general power cuts in the city of Marrakech it can comes in all cities of the world

I invite you dear sir to visit us again and I am sure you will be charmed by the magic of Marrakech and the Riad as evidenced by other reviews.
Kind Regards
Nadia & Hanane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    9
    5
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
137
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Germany
Level Contributor
71 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The experience of staying in a riad is something of a shock! First you walk trough a maze of streets and tunnels in the medina and your head spins with all the sights and smells and sounds- people speak to you and touch you and try to interest you in their merchandise. Then all of a sudden you stand in front of an anonymous door and inside that door there is a secret world - complete with a beautiful white marble fountain whispering in the courtyard, the voices of swallows overhead and in the background a flute softly playing....Riyad Ilayka is a place of wonder and a service hard to imagine even for someone used to hotels with good service all over the world. The main reason is that as a guest here you feel you have arrived in the loving arms of your new family - that's the extent to which these people - with Moutaa in the lead - will make you feel. They make it an art to please you and to guess your wishes. Also - you have to get used to unlocked rooms and that the protection that you need is in the able hands of Abdul or Hassan - they guard the door to the outside world. The breakfast is delicious and if you get Moutaa to cook for you - expect a heavenly tajine and a even more heavenly salad. You will never forget this place - I have not been this charmed in any hotel before - and I have tried some. Tip: Have dinner at La Mamounia and at Le Maison Arabe - you'll love their couscous royale. Try to speak french - english is more rare - Moutaa of course, masters both.

Room Tip: The riad have the best rooms on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pille2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you for your nice feedback! It was a pleasure to welcome you warmly.
We hope you went back home with good memories, and we wait for your next visit in our RIAD

Kind Regards

Hanane & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

My wife and I stayed here for five wonderful nights. It was our first trip to Marrakech. The riad's central location in the Medina, was perfect for walking to all of the major sites. When we arrived the riad arranged for our transport from the airport and the staff walked us directly to the riad. We would recommend doing this for arrival to any riad within the Medina, as it can be a maze, and overwhelming when you first arrive!

The staff were always pleasent and extremely helpful. We can not sing their praises enough! One morning during breakfast they asked what we were planning for the day and after we told them where we were going and expresssed a bit of concern about getting lost in the Medina, they then walked us to our destination to ensure we did not get lost! From the moment you arrive they make you feel right at home and like a part of their family.

Moutaa made all of the arrangements for a day trip into the Atlas Mountains, which was a fantastic day. When we said that we also wanted to take a cooking class, she took us into the Median to shop for fresh veg in the morning. Then with her wonderful direction we cooked a small feast, and eventually enjoyed it for dinner. Both were fantasitic experiences and tons of fun.

The riad was a perfect oasis within the Medina. Quiet and relaxing, the rooms were all wonderfully decorated and beautiful. The breakfast was great and always left us full, and they are happy to serve you anywhere, on the roof, balcony, or garden.

This is by far the most wonderful place we have ever stayed and would recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: All rooms are stunning and unique. We stayed in Tazerine, which was right off of the 2nd floor balco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience and taking time for such a detailed and positive feedback.

You perfectly pointed and measured all the efforts made by the whole team to please and satisfy every guest at Riad ILAYKA

We are involved on a daily basis to keep on improving the quality of our services and bring the passion in every single detail.

Looking forward to have the pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hanane & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosario, Argentina
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Riad Ilayka is a wonderfully restored ancient house in the heart of Marrakech, close to Djeema al Fna Square. It has seven exquisite decorated rooms furnished with real antiques. You feel at home there. Manager and personnel try at every moment to please guests. Rooms are very comfortable to provide guests a perfect stay. My wife and I were very happy to stay there and enjoy its intimate ambiance. We had dinner every night in the Riad, the food and attention was perfect. Two days before our arrival they sent us a e-mail offering a complimentary pick-up at the airport and at check out they also provide us with a complimentary taxi transfer. The location is perfect for visiting all tourist attractions. Very good breakfast is included in the room rate and served in the dining room or your room at your choice. WiFi is also free of charge. We will stay again at Riad ILayka should we travel to Marrakeck again.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique and nice. We prefer those in the upper floor but all of them are quiet and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RAULROSARINO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Client

It is such an achievement for us to be able to share the Moroccan hospitality.


Indeed, we aim guest satisfaction in everything we do, and we take as exemples best hospitality pratices worldwide.

We look forward to your next visit.

Kindly,

Hanane & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a three night short break at this wonderful Riad. The staff could not have made us feel more welcome. Their superb hospitality, the wonderful open air breakfasts and the unforgettably unique rooms made our trip a memorable experience. The Riad is buried deep inside the main market and provides an ideal location for exploring Marrakech.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Guest,
On behalf of the whole team, we would like to thank you for sharing your very positive experience at Riad ILAYKA
Indeed, at the Riad we deliver a custom made service to our guests, to exceed their expectations and make their stay the best possible.
We will be pleased to have the chance to welcome you again, and share a little bit more of Marrakech and Morocco delights.
We wish you all the best.
Kindly,

Hanane & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
København, Danmark
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

We loved everything about the Riad Ilayka.
The atmosphere, the staff, the look, the placement. It was all amazing. Nadia, Moutaa, Abullah, Hassan and the girls made the stay unforgetable. The rooms are all like the rooms of an arabic palace. It is located in the perfect distance from Jamaa El Fna.
The Riad can be difficult to find, so it is a good idea to arrange transfer with the Riad from the airport or you can take a cab from the airport (Haggle about the price. They will say 200 dirham, but you don't have to pay more than 80-100 dirhams) the taxi can not drive all the way to the Hotel so you will be dropped of somewhere. Somebody will for sure ask where you are going and offer to show you the way. Agree on the price before you agree to go with them (20 dirhams must be enough).
The breakfast is so nice, a lot of different things to choose from and something different everyday. And fresh juice.
On the roof is a berbertent with a view all over the city. Romantic, cosy and authentic.

We will recommend Riad Ilayka to everybody we know and we will surely come back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice. You can se the different rooms at the homepage. They each have a special nam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kit-Copenhagen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear Client;

Thank you for writing a review about your stay with us. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed at Riad ILAYKA
we hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Rgards

Hanane & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2013

Wonderful staff in a wonderful hotel in a wonderful location!

Escorted from our bus through the square, via the Souk to narrow passages and then the magic door to the Riad. Behind the door exceptional service, lovely rooms and great food.

Moutaa, manager and now friend, looked after us, shopped with us and generally spoilt us.

When we return to Marrakech there will be only one place to stay. Riad Ilanyka.

They couldnt have done more for us!

Brilliant

Bob and Dorothy

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobCathmoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NADIA J, Responsable relations clients at Riad Ilayka, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Dear BOB & DOROTHY ;

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about your experience at Riad ILAYKA. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and have shared the feedback with our staff.

Many thanks and looking forwards welcoming you again

Kindlly

Hanane & Nadia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar Zahia
Riad Dar Zahia
#106 of 494 in Marrakech
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel & Ryad Art Place Marrakech
0.2 mi away
Palais Khum
Palais Khum
#23 of 494 in Marrakech
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Reves D'orient
Riad Reves D'orient
#115 of 494 in Marrakech
482 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#28 of 494 in Marrakech
492 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Makassar
Villa Makassar
#42 of 494 in Marrakech
632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ilayka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ilayka

Property: Riad Ilayka
Address: 78 Derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #101 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Ilayka 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Ilayka is ideally situated for a perfect holiday in tranquil surroundings. You will be given a very warm welcome in this lovely, calm, spacious house. It is very close to the Djem Al Fnaa square and all the shopping souks. Experience Marrakech from the inside by staying with us. Riad I layka offers very good value for money and large open spaces. Staying at Riad Ilayka you will experience Marrakech from the inside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Ilayka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing