We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dar Salam

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dar Salam
Ranked #525 of 1,130 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Casablanca, Casablanca, Morocco
1 review
“pleasant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed in Dar Salam one night before i headed back to the UK. It was a very nice and pleasant night. i stayed in the tent room on the roof. lovely room with traditions and nice decorations. the terrace is fantastic and you can see a lot of Marrakech from it, i had a local mint tea on the terrace that evening and enjoyed a lot. and in the morning had a fantastic local breakfast. The management are really kind and and the service during the stay was excellent. if i go back to Marrakech, i would stay again in Dar Salam

Room Tip: Tent room on the terrace,, fantastic sleep and good to spend the evincing on the terrace watching a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    34
    15
    12
    14
See reviews for
12
58
15
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This riad is not close to the city centre and the dodgy area with narrow and small streets makes it difficult to follow the map and makes the journey extremely long. The youths in the area who pretend to be helping you by guiding you, fool you around the narrow streets (making it long) for something which was like 100 metres away and then force you to pay huge amounts. The smiling and helpful youths suddenly turn angry and violent.

About the riad itself, there is not tariff mentioned in the hotel. The rooms are NOT ventilated and makes it suffocating in summer with no windows outside. The bathroom and toilet area is extremely small. There is some decoration in the rooms but with the suffocation you will hardly notice it.

The housekeeper is a weird person. We were asked to pay on the day of arrival and even after asking everyday for a bill (for our proof) we were not given the same (Reasons were like the office room is closed, key is lost, owner is out, computer is broken, etc). The housekeeper is not honest with currency conversions too, by asking high exchange rates.

The hammam is not in the riad itself. They have a tie-up with a hammam place. To reach this place, you have to deal with the youths again and once you reach this even more dodgy place, you find it closed or something else, even though the housekeeper made an appointment for you. The hamman rates are extremely high compared to other hamman's mentioned in the travel books. The breakfast only starts from 8.30am, though exception is possible if asked for in advance. There is a kitchen in the riad but needs a day advance booking for meals.

Not recommended for solo travellers (especially girls). You can find similar priced riads much closer to the city center. Dont expect a wifi..................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yogeshpgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Taos, New Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here on our first night in Marrakesh and were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in their tent room on the roof. It was beautifully decorated and very unique! We loved sipping our mint teas on the roof terrace when we arrived and had a lovely breakfast their as well. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I see other reviews say that it is very noisy, but I challenge you to find a place that isn't loud when staying in the city walls. We slept great! I recommend booking in advance, we tried staying here again when we returned to Marrakesh after hiking in the High Atlas, and we weren't sure if they were full for the night, or just couldn't help us without an advanced booking. I have to say for the level of hospitality and the wonderful room you can't beat the price!

Room Tip: The Tent rooms on the roof are very special
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erika h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

the riad was beautiful and the staff really friendly and nice. Breakfast delicious.
The place itself short walk from the main square.
The key was to be left in the main hall while going out and it felt unconfortable

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinetka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed in the "Chez les nomades" tents. There are two of these, one blue and one red, both in the style of berber tents. Unfortunately they are really tents placed on the top of the building. The inside is fine, no problems there. But it gives effectively no sound insulation and it was incredibly loud hence very little sleep. Even wind against the tent makes a good deal of sound.

On the positive side, the owner was very nice as was the staff. And for the price it surely was a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geraldine_Meier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2013

Dar Salaam is hardly 5 minutes walk from Bab Doukala (Taxi from Airport to Bab Doukala ~ 80 MAD per person). The Riad is relatively easy to find, however, we were misled by the local boys. Having a map was handy though. Best to ask a shopkeeper even if the local boys approach you. We found the boys tend to take a longer route so they can claim higher tips. At the riad, we were in the Reine de Saba room and it is spacious for 2. There was a problem with the air conditioner and when we raised it, Ilham and the owner were profusely apologetic and immediately showed us other rooms to select and stay-in for the night. We moved into a larger room for 1 night as the guests allocated that room were due to arrive the following day. The air-con was fixed in Saba room and we found our luggage moved in our room as discussed with Ilham. Everything at this riad is convenient. There are local grocery shops so bottles of water, late-night pasteries, etc was convenient. Djemma el Fna and the local souks is only about 20 mins away (leisure walking), Mythic Oriental Spa is about 10 mins away, Marrakech Station / Gueliz area can be reached via bus/taxi but we preferred to walk and it took us about 35 / 45 mins. There are a few museums about 20 mins away as well. Overall, we found the location central and safe. the Riad servers authentic Moroccan breakfast and we enjoyed it everyday. In general it was a very plesant 5-day stay at this riad. Ilham, Sobha and all the staff at this Riad are very welcoming, considerate, warm, friendly and were eager to ensure our stay was comfortable at all times.

Room Tip: We got the opportunity to try 2 rooms and found Reine de Saba perfect for a couple - spacious and co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alana-the-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lajeado, Rio Grande do Sul
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2013

We stayed two night on Dar Salam. The owner, Nicole, made all efforts to provide everythings to us. From airport transfer to car rental confirmation. We feel like we were at home! The room are very cozy and confy. The breakfast are quite delicious!!!
It is located about 8 minutes walk from the main square. But there's no way to get lost, since Nicole provide a "unique" tecnique of orientation!!!
I totally recomend!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guarni80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#200 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Eliane
Riad Dar Eliane
#344 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#242 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Nejma
Riad Dar Nejma
#658 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dar Ihssane
Dar Ihssane
#350 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel El Kennaria
Hotel El Kennaria
#408 of 1,130 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Salam

Property: Dar Salam
Address: Bab Doukala | Legza , N°162, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #525 of 1,130 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dar Salam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Salam is a haven of peace and hospitality for a very pleasant stay with the inhabitant. The rooms are spacious, air-conditioned, with private bathroom. The rich breakfast is prepared each morning at the Veranda, or outside in full sun on the terrace. Travelers have access to the entire Riad, apart from the rooms reserved for the staff. The uniqueness of Dar Salam is reflected in its hospitality. Typically Moroccan, the authentic welcome we offer our travelers from arrival to departure, makes Dar Salam a friendly and warm place. Always present, and listening. Our only concern is to offer you the best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Dar Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar Salam Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing