We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Dar Salam
Nearby Hotels
US$366
US$357
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$148
US$141
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$201
US$178
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$274
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Almas(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$199
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kasbah Le Mirage(Marrakech)(Great Value!)
US$276
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$177
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$2,305
Fairmont.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (126)
Filter reviews
126 results
Traveller rating
45
39
15
12
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
45
39
15
12
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh atlasmint teahome away from hometaxi driverfresh orange juicewalking distanceevery morningpancakestoiletmedinaterraceriadsquaredustprivacy
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 126 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed in Dar Salam one night before i headed back to the UK. It was a very nice and pleasant night. i stayed in the tent room on the roof. lovely room with traditions and nice decorations. the terrace is fantastic and you can see a lot of Marrakech from it, i had a local mint tea on the terrace that evening and enjoyed a lot. and in the morning had a fantastic local breakfast. The management are really kind and and the service during the stay was excellent. if i go back to Marrakech, i would stay again in Dar Salam

Room Tip: Tent room on the terrace,, fantastic sleep and good to spend the evincing on the terrace watching a lovely sky.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sami S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This riad is not close to the city centre and the dodgy area with narrow and small streets makes it difficult to follow the map and makes the journey extremely long. The youths in the area who pretend to be helping you by guiding you, fool you around the narrow streets (making it long) for something which was like 100 metres away and then force you to pay huge amounts. The smiling and helpful youths suddenly turn angry and violent.

About the riad itself, there is not tariff mentioned in the hotel. The rooms are NOT ventilated and makes it suffocating in summer with no windows outside. The bathroom and toilet area is extremely small. There is some decoration in the rooms but with the suffocation you will hardly notice it.

The housekeeper is a weird person. We were asked to pay on the day of arrival and even after asking everyday for a bill (for our proof) we were not given the same (Reasons were like the office room is closed, key is lost, owner is out, computer is broken, etc). The housekeeper is not honest with currency conversions too, by asking high exchange rates.

The hammam is not in the riad itself. They have a tie-up with a hammam place. To reach this place, you have to deal with the youths again and once you reach this even more dodgy place, you find it closed or something else, even though the housekeeper made an appointment for you. The hamman rates are extremely high compared to other hamman's mentioned in the travel books. The breakfast only starts from 8.30am, though exception is possible if asked for in advance. There is a kitchen in the riad but needs a day advance booking for meals.

Not recommended for solo travellers (especially girls). You can find similar priced riads much closer to the city center. Dont expect a wifi..................................................................................................................................................................................................................

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yogeshpgupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We stayed here on our first night in Marrakesh and were pleasantly surprised! We stayed in their tent room on the roof. It was beautifully decorated and very unique! We loved sipping our mint teas on the roof terrace when we arrived and had a lovely breakfast their as well. The staff were very friendly and accommodating. I see other reviews say that it is very noisy, but I challenge you to find a place that isn't loud when staying in the city walls. We slept great! I recommend booking in advance, we tried staying here again when we returned to Marrakesh after hiking in the High Atlas, and we weren't sure if they were full for the night, or just couldn't help us without an advanced booking. I have to say for the level of hospitality and the wonderful room you can't beat the price!

Room Tip: The Tent rooms on the roof are very special
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank erika h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

the riad was beautiful and the staff really friendly and nice. Breakfast delicious.
The place itself short walk from the main square.
The key was to be left in the main hall while going out and it felt unconfortable

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tinetka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed in the "Chez les nomades" tents. There are two of these, one blue and one red, both in the style of berber tents. Unfortunately they are really tents placed on the top of the building. The inside is fine, no problems there. But it gives effectively no sound insulation and it was incredibly loud hence very little sleep. Even wind against the tent makes a good deal of sound.

On the positive side, the owner was very nice as was the staff. And for the price it surely was a decent place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geraldine_Meier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews