We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot Hot Hot... :-)”
Review of Riad Amin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Amin
Ranked #147 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hot Hot Hot... :-)”
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Myself and 3 girlfriends stayed in Riad Amin and what a lovely place to stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Night Staff Salah was a diamond his English was very good and he knows the place very well. Rooms were clean and nicely decorated very comfortable beds Sleep quality was good but when your not use to being woken by birds it's all very strange LOL
..... The location outside would put you off as you think it's so busy and manic that you would think the noise would keep you up but once you enter and close the door behind you it was an oasis of peace and quiet.... the pool is not large but it is adequate to just chill, the roof terrace is nice and good for those who like to sit in the sun and those that do not. Breakfast is not really what you would expect very basic (tea, coffee, juice, pancakes) so if you have a diet requirement I recommend you sort that out on the first day. I do not eat any carb's etc. and they were able to do me eggs daily very accommodating. Lunch and dinner has to be pre booked the day before in the Riad so organise yourself, otherwise there are a few nice places directly outside. I do however recommend you brush up on your French as it is the second language out there although some people do speak English you will find it a bit frustrating as us British can be bad that way not knowing any other languages so bring a phase book to help if you can. Walking around is like being in one big busy market hustle and bustle everywhere in old Medina and the square by the souks but New Medina is more like being in London regent street but less people. Begging is very high out there so be prepared to be asked for money where ever you go, they will either ask outright (but that's mostly kids) or they will ask if you need help finding somewhere and offer to take you which will then incur a cost per person at the end so be sure you know where you’re going. Taxis are all over also but again be sure you tell them where you would like to go without showing them a map from experience we were taken to the complete wrong place by doing this, also make sure you agree the price before you get in otherwise you will pay over the odds. Walking around is well mad and crossing the road is even worse you just have to be bold and put your hand out and cross like playing dodge ball (LOL)... Tips are expected in all places add about 10 – 15% to your bill (they say it’s optional but they will ask if you do not put it)….

Highly recommend the following:-

http://www.lesbainsdemarrakech.com/ - great spa worth the money
Pacha night club - cool bar (rose bar)and night club worth a visit if you like to party drinks can be pricy as they serve you doubles so remember to ask for single same as some places in London.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/Restaurant_Review-g293734-d1070587-Reviews-Cafe_Arabe-Marrakech.html - excellent food lovely inside but you have to go through the souks to get to it and it's a bit of the beaten track but well worth it.

http://www.tripadvisor.co.uk/ShowUserReviews-g293734-d477277-r121323332-Majorelle_Garden_Jardin_Majorelle-Marrakech.html - only because everyone goes there but not really my thing...

If you like shopping no matter where you are make sure you go to Gullies (new Medina) shops like Zara, Mango, great local shops and lots of cafe's restaurants. 16 Cafe was cool for the young and hip and lots of nice cakes and food for lunch....

Final points… No iron in the Riad but they have a service to do it for you and charge per item (didn’t bother to use that), no hair dryer in room so bring your own… No TV or Radio in your room but you don’t need it as you should be out enjoying the sunshine but there is a lounge area to watch TV if you want…. Oh and smoking is allowed almost everywhere was had to get use to that again after London no longer allows it….

Oh and to all Females remember you are in a Muslin country and dress appropriately if you do not want unwanted attention, it would be more respectful and highly recommended. Coming home remember to spend all your currency i.e Dirhams before you get through to duty free as you can only use it on magazines, sweets and Moroccan wines and spirits…. Euros however are accepted in most places.

Enjoy your trip…

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2012CityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    56
    15
    8
    0
See reviews for
45
110
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in Riad Amin for 4 nights in March 2012 and we really couldn't fault it or the staff. Location wise it is in the Medina (Kasbah district) and around a 10-15 minute walk to the main square Djemma el Fna, which we found fine.

Our suite was beautiful and spacious and the Riad itself was really lovely throughout. Breakfast each morning on the roof terrace with Morrocan pancakes and organ juice was a wonderful start to the day. The Riad is so peaceful - it really is an oasis of calm when you walk in through the front door after a day amidst the hectic and vibrant pace of life in Marrakech. The staff were all so helpful and friendly. We would not hesitate to recommend Riad Amin.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marieanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The staff, especially the Manager, Wahiba, are exceptionally friendly & helpful. Although we arrived late in the evening, they prepared us a lovely light Morroccan evening meal, which we enjoyed in front of a roaring log fire, with a lovely glass of Morroccan red wine. Our large spacious Morroccan designed bedroom suite, came with a huge en-suite bathroom and deliciously hot invigorating shower. It also had an effective heating/cooling system in both the bedroom and bathroom. Our B&B accommodation inculded sumptuous breakfasts on the roof terrace, of fruits, flatbreads, pancakes, yoghurt, honey, omelettes (if requested), together with coffee/Morroccan tea. The hotel chef was excellent, and we ate lunch & evening meals there on a number of occassions, and found it good value for money. The general aura, atmosphere and decor of the hotel, with it's indoor waterfalls & pools, African art and music, felt very relaxing and therapetic. The excellent nearby hammam massage spas also added to this magical experience. Situated in the old city it's location makes it ideal for short walks to many of the major tourist attractions. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and Marrakesh.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yogiclife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
usa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

This place is vastly over-rated. Although the building is perfectly fine, the staff is largely witless and exasperating. I was there for three days: 1) the credit card machine didn't work and we all had to wait endlessly until cash could be found to make change; 2) the room I stayed in (the noisiest in the building I suspect) had a very limited amount of hot water every day- staff were clueless: 3) breakfast was pathetic- cold coffee, microwaved crepes and stale bread. The chef seems quite competent although the rest of the crew was bumbling about, clueless about how to make the show work. The kind of hotel I wouldnt gripe about if it was half the price, but marrakech is a ripoff for everything anyway. Go someplace else- anywhere else.

Room Tip: stay away from the place
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elysiumssssssss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

I was with a group that stayed 4 days. The service great. Location in the old city was perfect to see enjoy the street life and walk to historic sites. The host are also very friendly. The roof top terrace and dinner was perfect.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brickland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Dar Crystal
Dar Crystal
#100 of 500 in Marrakech
312 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#150 of 500 in Marrakech
256 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#132 of 500 in Marrakech
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Jonan
Riad Jonan
#71 of 500 in Marrakech
669 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad el Noujoum
Riad el Noujoum
#204 of 500 in Marrakech
134 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
Riad Les Bougainvilliers
#120 of 500 in Marrakech
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amin

Property: Riad Amin
Address: 42 Place My Yazid Boutouil Kasbah, Marrakech 40040, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #147 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Amin 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In Marrakek, in the historical district of the Kasbah, near to the Royal Palate, vis-a-vis the Saadiens Tombs, at a few minutes of the Place Jeema El Fna, directly accessible in car or barouche, Riad Amin combines tradition and modernism. After the hubbub of Medina, as of the crossed door, you will be in an oasis of serenity where you will appreciate softness marrakchi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Amin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing