We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely riad in perfect location”
Review of Riad Abaka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Abaka
Ranked #275 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Excellent location and very friendly hosts. Lovely little riad close to all the sites. Good breakfast and nice roof terrace away from the bustle of Marrakech. We had the two ground floor rooms which meant we also could use the entire groundfloor as a bit of an extension to them. Early waking guests meant there was a bit of noise in the morning but that is probably always the case when the rooms are around a central courtyard.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms excellent for families - you have the whole courtyard to use as an extension. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2012

riad abaka rocks!!!!A true oasis in the middle of the action of Marrakech....quiet and tranquil with the best staff on the planet....staff super helpful and accommodating....rooms large and well appointed but the gem is the rooftop in the evening for reflection of the days events....when in doubt, eat in as the food and service is awesome and great value...p.s. ask for driver P/U at the airport as it can be hard to find for the uninitiated...

Room Tip: room 6 & 7 good options
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robert s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2012

We had a lovely 3 night stay in this delightful riad. Staff were so pleasant and helpful, everything comfortable and clean. Beautiful breakfasts served on the roof terrace, and we had a evening meal out there as well which was amazing. So convenient for the square and the souk, where we eat several times. Would certainly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2012

It is rare when a property combines affordability and the necessary sensibilities to accommodate business travelers. Riad Abaka has it all -- from free wifi and breakfast to tastefully decorated and comfortable rooms and a great location. The staff was nothing short of amazing. My only regret was in not staying longer.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hassett001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This Riad was an oasis of tranqulity within the hustle and bustle of the Marrakech medina and the nearby (2 minutes walk) Djemaa el-Fna square. It is well appointed with a knowledgable, caring and gracious staff. They even arranged reasonably priced personal day trips for us.

We chose to dine in several times while staying. It was well worth it. Their cooking talent is a point that that they should advertise more. The tajines presented by the Riad far exceeded any offerings we found while we were out and about.

The room we stayed in was sized just right for my family and was well decorated and cheery. The bath offered hot water with good pressure. The bed was beyond comfortable and was, quite possibly, one of the best I've ever slept in - this is not an overstatement.

All in all our stay in Marrakech was enhanced by staying at the Riad Abaka. I would reccomend this locale to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MUPhillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2012

When we arrived in Marrakech, we were off to a good start in the first 30 minutes with a whole bucket-full of scams and touts, sprinkled with some harrowing driving. We didn't have a lot of patience left, but forced ourselves to check out three riads before deciding. This was the best one.

Riad Abaka's courtyard is cool and beautiful, with flowering vines and live birds swooping in and singing. There's also a plunge pool and a private (no views) rootop terrace. Since this was the last stop on our trip, our bartering skills were in fine form. We got ourselves a nice suite for less than the usual room price (it was off-season, too, which helped).

The staff is super friendly. Breakfast (included) was excellent. I really can't think of any cons for this place.

I can't imagine staying anywhere else while in Marrakech. This was literally steps away from the souks, and about a 1 minute walk from the Djemma el Fna. That meant that, when we needed to use the restroom, cool off, or take a break for any reason, we could just stop by our room. We could get some lamb (cut off the beast right before us) and olives, bring them back and eat on the terrace. Or, when I inevitably got overheated wearing my westernized hijab, we could sit with our legs in the pool and take a three-hour siesta before bracing for the Djemma el-fna circus.

Believe me, I love adventure and down-and-dirty backpacking, but Marrakech - as amazing as it is - goes down best with a spoonful of sugar. And the sugar is Riad Abaka.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The Riad Abaka i is absolutely beautiful and the perfect way to see Marrakech. The location is fabulous - in the heart of the old city (with shops and restaurants a few minutes walk away and the main square a lovely 10 minute stroll) but it is so peaceful and quiet, you relax the moment you step through the door. The staff Adil the manager and his team are fantastic, taking care of everything for you and making you feel absolutely welcome and at home.

The most special thing about Riad Abaka though it's style and beauty. The courtyard takes your breath away with its tranquil whites and mature plants. Our room was just gorgeous with beautiful and thoughtful touches that made us feel like we were being really looked after.

We had a really lovely week here and I can't recommend it highly enough - truly special.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alice C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#253 of 500 in Marrakech
470 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Thalge
Riad Dar Thalge
#171 of 500 in Marrakech
143 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad la Croix Berbere
Riad la Croix Berbere
#238 of 500 in Marrakech
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Tahili & Spa
Riad Tahili & Spa
#165 of 500 in Marrakech
197 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
Riad - Hotel Marraplace
#116 of 500 in Marrakech
141 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palais Sebban
Palais Sebban
#63 of 500 in Marrakech
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Abaka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Abaka

Address: 21 Derb Roukni | Laksour - Médina, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#142 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#152 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#162 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £34 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Abaka 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Abaka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Abaka Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing