We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Little Riad”
Review of Riad Dar Eliane

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad Dar Eliane
Ranked #348 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
London
1 review
“Romantic Little Riad”
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I have just taken my girlfriend to Marrakech to celebrate her birthday and we were both very impressed. We stayed at Dar Eliane which is only 20 minutes in a cab from the airport and easy to find, it is a simple little riad in the north of the medina but just around the corner from the Marrakech Museum and the Ben Youssef Medersa. It has four well appointed rooms on two levels around a traditional patio and rooftop terrace; it is very clean and quiet. The staff are really helpful and friendly, it’s only a 10 minute walk to the main square and it’s where all the action happens.
I would certainly recommend it to couples looking for an atmospheric and traditional stay.
D. Moussalli London

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeckchairDanny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    49
    19
    6
    12
See reviews for
26
190
16
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
1 review
Reviewed 12 April 2010

This riad actually looks like the photos on the internet. We had big spacious rooms and the staff were incredibly helpful and friendly The raid is a great place to sit in the sun and relax if you want to, or simply use it a base while exploring Marrakech its in a great location very close to the main square but not in the middle of a 'tourist' area and the breakfast is huge and delicious.
It is not so much the riad but the staff and while the raid is lovely it is Bouchra and her staff who leave a lasting impression on you we would recommend this Riad to anyone and we thank Bouchra and her staff for their care and hospitality.

J.Cassidy UK

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCassidys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester
1 review
Reviewed 6 April 2010

Just back from a trip to Marrakech staying at Dar Eliane and my Riad experience was everything I'd hoped it would be. So much better than a hotel experience because it was friendly, informal, homely, and atmospheric off a busy street, down a passageway to reach a substantial door which opened into a peaceful, carefully designed Riad that was a relaxing antidote to the fabulous full on city of Marrakech.

The location was perfect too. Right around the corner to the Souk and 10 minutes walk away from the main square, some great restaurants and the museum.

Breakfast was served when and where you like - no silly hotel rules. No key to your room. It was that friendly and homely. Atmosphere created by perfect lighting, the wonderful fountain in the centre of the courtyard, bird singing and the regular call to prayer. Wonderful time! Excellent!

D. Cook

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C00kieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Abbey
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We booked the Dar Eliane for a short break and we were not disappointed.The Riad is beautiful and very well located.The staff couldn't have done any more to make our stay memorable. They booked airport transfers, restaurants, guides and a trip to the Atlas Mountains. The food was great, Sleimen was always on hand to provide anything we needed and offered to guide us to restaurants at night. We had a great time and would recommend the Riad to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MillieUKWalthamAbbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol england
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We arrived in Marrakech after having a fantastic time in Essaouira in a great ryad. We came down to earth with a crash when we got to Dar Eliane.

First impressions and the welcome you receive when you first get to a place count for a lot. We were met by a young lady, Bouchra who gave us the impression she was just going through the motions - repeating the information she had done countless times before. We asked about getting to the Menari gardens which were met with a dismissive - get a taxi, we had to probe to find out from where. The second day we got back to the hotel and after sitting in the courtyard realised I could hear other people talking. I checked the details of the ryad our travel agent had given us and realised that there was a roof terrace. Bouchra hadn't shown us that or another lounge area we could use not even told us they were there.

The other member of staff we met - Slimane - is a lovely young man - more limited english than Bouchra but always friendly and willing to help.

I think your experience of the place may also be influenced by whether you are in a downstairs or upstairs room. We had one of the downstairs ones which opens out to the courtyard. So if you want a window open say to have a shower, if people are outside having their breakfasts , they would hear. The first morning we opened the window by our bed to find another couple having breakfast only yards away.

We therefore kept our windows shut but that made the room quite claustrophobic. The bathroom smelled of damp too,

We were very disappointed - the place looks so great from the website.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fredic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dareliane, Manager at Riad Dar Eliane, responded to this review, 3 April 2010
Myself and the staff are extremely disappointed that you did not enjoy your short stay at the Riad. we receive over 1000 tourists each year from all over the world, we work extremely hard to make our clients stay as welcoming and as comfortable as we possibly can, inevitably we do have the odd complaint and we will do our very best to resolve any issues that any of our valued clients may have during there stay, however 95% of our clients are extremely pleased with the accommodation and the service we provide, and we feel that our website shows a true reflection of the Dar Eliane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2010

Dar Eliane is tucked away down a winding terracotta street and could easily be missed. Once the front door is opened, you are greeted with smiles and a very warm welcome. The riad is simply a gem. The detail has been carefully thought out and everywhere you look there is something to delight the eye. Glass, carved plaster, arches and vibrant colour. After a busy day shopping or sight seeing, it is a calm quiet place to retreat to.
Our hosts where attentive and helpful but not at all intrusive. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JRonherjollys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 March 2010

We had never visited Marrakech before; but Dar Eliane was exactly how we had pictured the perfect Riad. It's hidden away, down a maze of alleys in the heart of the bustling medina; but inside it really is the oasis of calm that we had read about. The location is excellent; very central, close to the Souks, Medersa Ben Yousef and the Marrakech museum. The Riad is very well decorated and spotlessly clean, with perfectly attentive staff.
Bouchra and Sleiman were very welcoming and helpful hosts. We would definitely go back.

Fiona _ Brighton

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KissingFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
Riad Dar Saba
Riad Dar Saba
#215 of 499 in Marrakech
174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
Riad l'Oiseau du Paradis
#200 of 499 in Marrakech
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Basma
Riad Basma
#249 of 499 in Marrakech
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Riad Nabila
Riad Nabila
#291 of 499 in Marrakech
151 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Bahia
Riad Bahia
#244 of 499 in Marrakech
148 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
Riad Les Jardins Mandaline
#125 of 499 in Marrakech
334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Eliane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Eliane

Property: Riad Dar Eliane
Address: N39, Derb Maada,Azbezt | Medina, Marrakech 44000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#142 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#196 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Eliane 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad has been lovingly restored over many years by its English owner and offers sumptuous accommodation over two floors each of the spacious five double bedrooms has reversible air conditioning with en-suite bathrooms and their chic but authentic styles are to be savoured. The inner courtyard is surrounded by tall elegant arches, refreshed by two flowing fountains and only the whisper of water and the song of the birds will come to disturb your tranquility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Riad Dar Eliane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Eliane Hotel Marrakech
Dar Eliane Marrakech
Dar Eliane Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing