We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confort feeling at home”
Review of Riad Akka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Akka
Ranked #171 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2012 via mobile

After a few weeks through deep Moroccos the perfect spot to re energize in the intense and outstanding city of Marrakech. Excellent rooms, a small but really cosy smiwing pool to provide you a really refreshing experience. Staff really helpfull and attentive.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andresilva121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (185)
There are newer reviews for Riad Akka
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 185 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2012

My wife and I stayed here for part of our Honeymoon. The Riad staff were very friendly and only too happy to assist us. We arrived late on our first day and the owner had already booked us a romantic restaurant knowing it was our Honeymoon. Great central location but you would never know you are right in the heart of Marrakesh as its so peaceful. The splash pool was a very welcome escape from the heat and the breakfast was so lovely and fresh. The rooms are a good size complete with the essential air con and beautifully decorated. Hugely recommended for a romantic break away.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Captainpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

This is supposed to be an upmarket Riad but don't be fooled. Only the price is upmarket.
Our room was minimalistic with hardly any cupboard/hanging space, very dark with poor entrance door. The most disappointing aspect was no door between bedroom and bathroom except for a poor quality curtain that got soaked from the shower which took ages to produce hot water.
Be Warned!!! I booked and paid a deposit in £'s. When I came to settle the final bill, I was told I could pay in cash in local currency OR if I chose to pay by credit card, the same one that I paid the deposit, then I would be charged an extra 4 percent. A bit late knowing this as you are leaving! Nowhere else in Marrackeh did I encounter this with a credit card.
To be fair, the staff were very helpful and kind and the lounge/dining room were tastefully decorated.

Room Tip: Choose another Riad or hotel.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

An oasis in the walled city. Close to Palace ground thus terrace filled with birdsong (and nothing else).
Freshly cooked personalised breakfasts - delicious and plantiful. Utterly clean. Home from home (nice home).
They couldn't do enough for us - almost butler style service. The twin room is a bit more basic than the doubles, which are lovely.
we were 2 50 year olds and our teenage daughters. ALL of us LOVED it.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Riad Akka is a refuge from the buzz and bustle of Marrakech. After a day of sightseeing, it was lovely to go back through the big door into the serenity and beauty of this modern incarnation of a traditional Arab house. The decoration is stunning, from the white plaster walls and red/black accents to the Arabic calligraphy around the balconies and the soaking pool. The service is impeccable, with breakfast at arising, to tea and sweets on the rooftop terrace in the afternoon. A bottle of wine and savories, plus lively conversation, one evening with the Parisian owner (Aurelie) made this the favorite hotel of our trip. The location is perfect, far enough off the main paths to be secluded, but very near the shops, the Place, and the parking area to meet up with our driver.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oregonstan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

I traveled with two others and stayed 3 nites at Riad Akka, and we couldnt be happier about our decision. Only a 5 minute walk to the medina/square. Finding any Riad through all the turns can be challenging, but Aziz at Riad Akka arranged a taxi to pick us up from the train station, which drove us close as he could, and then walked us there the rest of the way. It's quietly tucked away in the labrynthe of passageways, away from any noise. Aziz greeted us at the door and made us feel welcomed and at home. Gave us a map, directed us to all the sites and even made dinner reservations for us elsewhere. He also arranged taxis when we needed them. The riad's decor was contemporary moroccan and tasteful and beautiful! There is a calming, peaceful ambiance here. The lobby/atrium pool was serene and the shared dining room area were we had a home cooked dinner by the fireplace was relaxing and felt like home. The staff are all very accomodating and flexible. The room was spacious with an open bathroom layout (no doors). Beautiful rainfall shower, great shower pressure! No TV or phones in room, but there is a TV in the shared living room area. Free wifi is in the lobby/living/dining room areas only - FYI. We also had a private hammam in their steam room, which was clean and relaxing. I think for 300 durhams it was comparable to other private spa facilities, but well worth it. Had mint tea and dessert on the terrace which was nice. The food here is truly home-cooked and amazing. We even met the cook and thanked her personally for wonderful meals. All and all, I would highly recommend this Riad for its extremely high level of service, warm hospitality and location in proximity to the medina for your stay in Marrakesh!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarlaChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2011

Wonderful staff, beautiful rooms (they all have a great touch: the owner , Aurelie, was kind enough to show us all the rooms so we had the privilege to pick our fav' room with a huge bath tub), the best location because very central but also very quite (next to the Bahia Palace). They have a wonderful terrace where you can chill out whenever you wish (we were lucky to have beautiful sunny and warm days in early November!), a pool which is larger than other Riads', and the best and cleanest Hammam (steam room). Last but not least: the food is amazing and all freshly baked and prepared with love. you basically feel at home, and everyone takes care of you and gives you best advice for places to visit, and restaurants or clubs to try. Best stay ever!

Room Tip: all the rooms are great and I believe they are all quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank benedicte_r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.5 mi away
RIad Al Loune
RIad Al Loune
#130 of 502 in Marrakech
210 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#37 of 502 in Marrakech
825 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#23 of 502 in Marrakech
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad 5 Sens
Riad 5 Sens
#307 of 502 in Marrakech
147 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Alma
Riad Alma
#144 of 502 in Marrakech
207 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Tzarra
Riad Tzarra
#183 of 502 in Marrakech
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Akka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Akka

Address: 65, derb Lahbib Magni, | Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #171 of 502 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £83 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Akka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a small alleyway close to the Bahia Palace, only 5 minutes walk from Jamaa El Fna Square - Riad Akka keeps a warm welcome for guests in a stylish, peaceful ambiance. A showcase for all the cultural richness and diversity of Marrakesh, luxury riad in Marrakesh - Riad Akka is a unique building that has been reinterpreted in a contemporary style. It has been refurbished with all due respect to traditional architectural features and reflects the determination of the owners, to recreate the authentic Marrakshi way of life in a contemporary minimalist setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Akka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Akka Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing