We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly amazing spot in the "middle of chaos"”
Review of Riad Akka

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Akka
Ranked #167 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Riad was perfectly located within 10 minutes walk to the market. The staff was super friendly and a great atmosphere. If you are looking for a home-like place to stay then this place is the perfect spot.
The smell was amazing and the room was beautifully decorated. Home-made breakfast which included Moroccan bread, pancake, jam, honey, fresh fruit, yogurt and freshly squeezed orange juice was the ideal start of the day.
Would definitely stay here again!
There is a great restaurant only 5 minutes away from the Riad called Kosybar which serves a good range of drinks and food and also has a top roof terrace which is perfect for an afternoon drink overlooking the square.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rodrigodesouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

Spent a few nights in the riad, with exceptional service from staff who were friendly and very thoughtful. Was able to explore Marrakesh and enjoy the sights with the help of staff.

The riad itself is amazing. The plunge pool is nice and relaxing, internet works quite well, and the amenities are luxurious.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
3  Thank Bernhard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in one of the largest rooms. This pretty little Riad situated down a maze of streets in the Medina has only 5 rooms. It is stylish and a lovely place to relax after the madness of the souks. On arrival we were given a welcome drink whilst Redwon explained where everything was, breakfast timings etc and we were then shown to our room. It was a good size with a huge bed, two seats and table. The only thing a little strange is that the bathroom/wc was open to the room so there was no privacy. Everything was spotlessly clean and the bed was really comfortable. There were plenty of power so keys and lights.
We were worried that once we went out we would have a problem to find our way back to the Riad. However, we were given a map and took careful note of things as we walked and therefore did find arrive back with only 1 small mistake. The other is residential and felt very safe. Locals we met in the street always wished us "bonjour". There are a few little shops nearby on the walk to the souks. We found the location to be ideal.
Breakfast consisted of freshly squeezed orange juice, home-made yoghurt, fruit and Moroccan pancakes and breads with jam and honey.
The top floor terrace we used only once. There are nice sun beds and chairs there. The covered seating area in the corner was a little tired looking but this was the only criticism we would have.
All the staff were lovely, very friendly and chatty. Some only speak French.
We would recommend to couples who wish to stay in comfortable relaxing accommodation within easy walking distance of the souks and square.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LynnWin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel is great...the staff went the extra mile, the breakfast was always tailored to our needs, the rooms are nice and clean (if a tad small) and the roof top patio is amazing. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Go for one of the bigger rooms if you're staying more than a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Derek B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My fiance and I stayed at this hotel last year, and we had a fantastic experience. The staff was charming, extremely helpful, and booked us the best guide we could have hoped for.

Breakfast is wonderful- be sure to take time for it. Also, ask for guide recommendations if you're planning to spend a day in the medina. We typically never do guides, but felt we should since the medina can be confusing, and we did not want to be bothered to buy every time we stopped somewhere.

I must say, the guide did the trick. No one bothered us at all when we were with him (different story when we were not), and (an added bonus) he provided us an excellent history of the city and its important architecture.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Riad, and since I have recommended it to a number of friends traveling through Marrakech!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LizelMono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2013

Having stayed in a number of Riads in Marrakech Riad Akka was really a haven of peace and tranquillity. It is in close proximity to the square. The staff, especially Yusuf and Aziz, were very accommodating and nothing was too much for them to do. All the staff were friendly, happy and hospitable. Great food, wonderful room. We have every intention of returning in the near future.
Thank you Secret Escapes.
Garry and Julie

Room Tip: The larger rooms are spacious and more likely to have walk in shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Once you find Riad Akka, it's a peaceful place amidst the hussle and bussle of the Marrakech Medina. The staff are attentive,the ambience is great, the rooms are good and the food is excellent. Special thanks to Yousef and Azziz who made us all very welcome.We highly recommend this place

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hodgsallMatlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Riad Melhoun
Riad Melhoun
#64 of 499 in Marrakech
259 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Terra Bahia
Riad Terra Bahia
#179 of 499 in Marrakech
155 reviews
1.1 mi away
Riad de la Belle Epoque
Riad de la Belle Epoque
#70 of 499 in Marrakech
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#170 of 499 in Marrakech
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar One
Riad Dar One
#28 of 499 in Marrakech
842 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Bounouar
Riad Dar Bounouar
#95 of 499 in Marrakech
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Akka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Akka

Address: 65, derb Lahbib Magni, | Riad Zitoune Jdid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #167 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £84 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Akka 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in a small alleyway close to the Bahia Palace, only 5 minutes walk from Jamaa El Fna Square - Riad Akka keeps a warm welcome for guests in a stylish, peaceful ambiance. A showcase for all the cultural richness and diversity of Marrakesh, luxury riad in Marrakesh - Riad Akka is a unique building that has been reinterpreted in a contemporary style. It has been refurbished with all due respect to traditional architectural features and reflects the determination of the owners, to recreate the authentic Marrakshi way of life in a contemporary minimalist setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Riad Akka reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Akka Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing