We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous riad!!”
Review of Riad Dar Zaya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar Zaya
Ranked #186 of 500 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Everything at Riad Dar Zahia was perfect!! Emanuela was wonderful and very welcoming, helpful, and charming! Our lunch and breakfast there were delicious. The riad is beautiful and exotic!! I would definitely stay there again and would recommend it highly to friends. The best!!

Room Tip: Every room is beautiful. You can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joycecritelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (385)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2013

I stayed here with my girlfriend for three nights, arriving on New Year's Eve, 2012. First of all, although it's legal for unmarried couples to share a room if they are non-moroccan, I've read that it can be a bit dicey depending on where you stay. Riad owners aren't legally inclined to put aside their Muslim beliefs just because you're a foreigner. This was NOT a problem at all in Dar Zahia. No questions asked and everyone was extremely pleasant.

My girlfriend and I had originally booked a different riad just around the corner called Riad Ilayka, but I believe they over-booked our room so upon arrival we were told we'd be staying at Dar Zahia with the same agreement—no funny business about rate changes or anything. I should note that we still had complete access to Riad Ilayka and the people over there were extremely nice. Riad Ilayka, although bigger and with a few more amenities, lacked the quaint touches and personal charm of Riad Dar Zahia. After meeting the owners of both riads, we were convinced that everything was fine. In the end I was happy with our arrangement.

Paulo and Emanuela, the owners of Dar Zahia were lovely people on all fronts. They were just getting started at this Riad but you couldn't tell based on the experience. Everything was immaculate and beautiful. They were very accommodating and a pleasure to talk to. If memory serves, Paulo is French and Emanueala is Italian. They both speak English.

Our room was terrific and the riad was clean and beautiful to look at. Wifi was available in the "lobby," which is the large open room on the first floor. Although we had a difficult time picking up the signal sometimes in our room on the second floor, if you are near the interior window it works fine.

Breakfast was delicious, featuring coffee, breads, jams and fruit as well as some kind of hot item—a Marrakechi pancake or some other regional specialty—each day. Dinner was delicious as well, although we only ate there once. You can buy a bottle of wine for a very reasonable price off of Paolo's iPad wine list! The technology was striking considering the ancient feeling of everything else in the city.

All in all it was a delightful stay. I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are more secluded, but have poor wifi connectivity. I imagine the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jordachio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2012

Stayed here with friends and we booked out the whole house.
Was a great stay, really felt like we were in Morocco with such intricate architecture everyone that the eye can see.

The beds were comfortable and the place was clean.
There is a lady that stays there the whole time to make sure we were comfortable. She doesnt speak English but we got by okay on French.

The only downsides were that toilet paper kept running out (probably coz there were six of us and I think toilet paper is seen as a pretty western thing) and that the roof terrace has high walls and no real view. The place is also a little bit hard to find through the windy alleyways, even our guide got lost at first, but it's an ancient city and that's the way it should be experienced anyway. Once you memorise the turns, it is really a great location and right in the heart of the medina close to the main square and all the action.

The breakfasts were good but the dinners were better! We should have booked more dinners at the house as we discovered that Moroccan home food is far better than anything you could get at a restaurant. And better value. The dinner has to be booked in advance but the lady who cooks for this house is a an amazing cook. Restaurant food in Marrakesh tended to be pretty same-same. Home food is where its at.

The owner is a young guy, incredibly laid back and pretty cool guy to chat with.

There is a fireplace that was pretty fun to sit around at night with some drinks (we stayed in winter).

Overall, would recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tbearsydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2012

Two friends and I stayed in Riad dar zahia, after a trip in the desert and before going to Casablanca.To stay at this Riad made our visit to Marocco particulary lovely.Great hospitality
and good service in a traditional house located in an old area of the city. The friendly atmosphere and the extreme helpfulness of our host Tarek was fantastic.We would recommend you dinner at the Riad , the food is really good.
David L

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davil56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We had just came back from Marrakech. My wife and I spent two nights in Dar Zahia. Our room was cosy and spacious. It was Samia room in the 2nd floor. Breakfast was great and dinner really good. We enjoyed our stay in the riad located in the best area of the medina.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We spent two nights at this charming riad at the beginning of our trip to Marocco.The staff was
welcoming,friendly and helpful. Located a short walk from the famous place, Jama el fna,the riad is nicely decorated. We loved the food ,especially chicken tagine.Our room was comfortable. and clean.We really enjoyed this stay in the medina and we recommend it to everyone.
M. Stan.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2012

It was lovely place we find that riad on the net . We were surprised by the traditinal and the staff. We recommand to have a diner in the riad.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dean-67-T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0 mi away
Riad Lorsya
Riad Lorsya
#257 of 500 in Marrakech
470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#165 of 500 in Marrakech
273 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Tahili & Spa
Riad Tahili & Spa
#166 of 500 in Marrakech
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riad Bamaga Hotel
Riad Bamaga Hotel
#194 of 500 in Marrakech
378 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Aguerzame
Riad Aguerzame
#18 of 500 in Marrakech
905 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Daria
Riad Daria
#212 of 500 in Marrakech
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zaya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zaya

Address: 60 derb El Hammam | Mouassine Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#123 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £49 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Zaya 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOFT Riad Dar Zaya enjoys an exceptional location. It is located at Mouassine, one of the most exuberant and beautiful districts in the heart of the Medina, a 5-minute walk from the vitality of the famous Jemaa el Fna, without giving up the tranquility and intimacy. LOFT Dar Zaya has been renovated with the utmost respect for style, which amazes with its magnificent architecture that reflects the talent of Moroccan craftsmen. You will find the magic of the workmanship and decoration of wood, tadelakt, admiring the rich colors of the fabrics and the wonder of antique furniture as well the beauty of boucherouite rugs that personalize the ambience and reflects the wonderful art expression of Berber womens. LOFT Dar Zaya consists of an amazing open-air patio, a stylish living room warm and welcoming with a fireplace, a big private terrace with view, surrounded by plants, three design suites comfortably sized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar Zaya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zahia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Zahia Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing