We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Special Stay”
Review of Riad Dar Zahia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Zahia
Ranked #160 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 7 May 2010

I am so glad we chose Dar Zarhia as the personal welcome we always felt certainly made our trip even more memorable alongside the remarkable country that Morocco is. This was the trip I proposed marriage to my partner and I could not think of a more romantic place; the riad's decor is exquisitely tasteful and transports you to another time. Elaam, Ibrahim and M. Lelong could not be better hosts and they will be remembered.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabianjean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (385)
There are newer reviews for Riad Dar Zahia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 385 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2010

Dar Zahia is the ideal place to stay when visiting Marrakesh. We stayed for five nights at this beautiful riad. We were looking for a place near Jemaa El-FNA, but not too close. This place is only 4 minutes walking distance from Jemaaa El-FNA. So, after walking the souqs, we returned to the Dar Zahia to regain energy, and we were so pleased to be able to rest in a very quiet place. Even though it is in the middle of the action, Dar Zahia is very quiet, you only hear the birds.

We strongly recommend that on your first night at Marrakesh you should have dinner at Dar Zahia. It was our most romantic dinner. My wife and I were the only two having dinner. The food was delicious, and the service, first class.

The Breafast were delicious as well. We stayed at Samia Room, a very nice room.

At first, I was a little concern that Dar Zahia is located in a narrow alley, and you can easily get lost the first day, however, the Riad as well as the other riads in the area, provide security. So, we were returning to Dar Zahia very late. No one bothered us.

Overall, our experience at Dar Zahia has been first class. The room was cleaned, the service was professional, and very helpful. If we return to Marrakesh, without any doubt, we will stay at Dar Zahia.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Masadera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We stayed here for two nights with our young (18 months) son. Ibrahim, the night host was friendly and helpful throughout -- we brought dinner from the Fna twice, and he arranged plates, cutlery, let us use the computer to check email, etc... We would gladly come back again.

One important note -- for those with young ones who love to run around and have no fear, this is not a place to let you little one roam. Our room (1st floor) featured lovely windows at knee level, with a sloping roof leading out over the inner courtyard. In other words, a minor clamber clamber away from tragedy... That aside, it's a lovely place with outstanding staff in the heart of Marrakech. If your kids are too young or too old for this to be a concern, we recommend it highly.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vasilgrozny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2010

I visited Marrakech for about 4 days in November with my mother. I chose this riad because I wanted something central first and foremost, a place that looked lovely and traditional (not tacky or too modern) and something within my budget. There were a couple of other riads I was interested in originally but they were all booked up. A word of advice: book the riads as far in advance as possible! They get booked up quick! However, I was so pleased that we ended up in this riad. Initial thoughts was that the location was hard to find. You can only get to it on foot - you have to go through some dark, twisting alleys, which on the one hand can add to the charm, but on the other is not good when you're on holiday with your mother and she is not feeling safe! However, she soon got over it. The riad is tiny - only three rooms, and each room is full of character. The rooms are also very large in size and have gorgeous windows over looking the central courtyard, as well as a small balcony. There is a roof terrace as well. Breakfast is included. It is the same breakfast every day, but beautifully presented and served every day. The staff are friendly and helpful although only one member of staff speaks better English. The riad itself is very peaceful, you can sit in the courtyard and read your book, or just relax in your room. And I loved the fact that we could walk to the Big Square within minutes and after a day, you get used to finding your bearings. Ultimately, the best thing about the riad is its location and intimate feel. Unfortunately, there were a few negative points for which I cannot give a full 5 stars - the room would smell a bit musty once we came back from sightseeing. This could be because of the plumbing in the bathroom or the natural materials in the room (wood etc). I was led to believe someone would pick us up - a guy with a wheel barrow - at the start of the windy roads but my mum and I had to negotiate the alleyways on our own with our suitcase. The staff are friendly, but I felt at times due to miscommunication they would exchange glances e.g. my mother and I asked if drinks were free (they are not, apart from when you arrive they give you complimentary mint tea). Also, no one helped us up with the suitcases when we arrived. I have to make a special mention though - I arranged a cooking lesson with the staff when I was there. The lesson was loads of fun, then we had for dinner what we learnt to cook earlier during the day. When we came back from a tiring day of sightseeing, I was amazed to see the table beautifully laid out as if it were a romantic dinner for two (when it was just me and my mum). They really made us feel special, and for that I am very grateful! I would recommend this place for that special touch alone!

  • Stayed: November 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tangy20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

My friend and I stayed in Zahia for 3 nights for a weekend in March. Its such a beautiful, clean Riad with very welcoming staff. They organised our transfer from the airport and dinner for us on the first evening which was delicious. The location is perfect - close enough to the main square and the souks (5 mins walk) but far enough away for wonderful peace and quiet after a hard day shopping! There are just three rooms in the riad too which makes for a really intimate experience. We stayed in the ground floor room which was really spacious. I would recommend this place to anyone visiting Marrakech! Its just devine!

Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
Thank JWalkerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2010

I stayed for a couple of days and i am still under the charm of the place. the riad is very cozy . the staff is helpful, very respectfuly .they smile and ready to serve to make feel comfortable and at ease.The responsible of the riad is a very charming lady .in brief, if you want to delve into the depp spirit of al Madina you have to go and feel it.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MOHAMEDAJMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2010

This small oasis was a delight. The beautifully decorated rooms, the friendly staff and the excellent food and the quiet at the end of the day was all that one desires after a long day of walking in the city. I will come again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LadyFromDamascus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Anjar
Riad Anjar
#149 of 501 in Marrakech
224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
Hotel & Spa Riad Dar Sara
#218 of 501 in Marrakech
203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Dialkoum
Riad Dar Dialkoum
#11 of 501 in Marrakech
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#10 of 501 in Marrakech
1,253 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad 72
Riad 72
#22 of 501 in Marrakech
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Zahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Zahia

Address: 60 derb El Hammam | Mouassine, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#22 Romantic Hotel in Marrakech
#47 Family Hotel in Marrakech
#113 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £72 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Zahia 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOFT Riad Dar Zahia enjoys an exceptional location. It is located at Mouassine, one of the most exuberant and beautiful districts in the heart of the Medina, a 5-minute walk from the vitality of the famous Jemaa el Fna, without giving up the tranquility and intimacy. LOFT Dar Zahia has been renovated with the utmost respect for style, which amazes with its magnificent architecture that reflects the talent of Moroccan craftsmen. You will find the magic of the workmanship and decoration of wood, tadelakt, admiring the rich colors of the fabrics and the wonder of antique furniture as well the beauty of boucherouite rugs that personalize the ambience and reflects the wonderful art expression of Berber womens. LOFT Dar Zahia consists of an amazing open-air patio, a stylish living room warm and welcoming with a fireplace, a big private terrace with view, surrounded by plants, three design suites comfortably sized. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Prestigia so you can book your Riad Dar Zahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar Zahia Hotel Marrakech
Riad Dar Zahia Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing