We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Delicious, great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe chez ZaZa

Cafe chez ZaZa
Ranked #23 of 830 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Kids, Cheap Eats, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: %%%Closed for august ANNUAL LEAVE%%% A casual, traditional Moroccan restaurant that serves lunch, dinner and coffee, with a good view of the souk and the Jemaa El Fnaa square. Hours are from noon to midnight, all days of the week.%%%Closed for august ANNUAL LEAVE%%%
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

A cut above the usual - delicious food, friendly staff. Same price as eating in the open market square but in a different league altogether. Roof terrace accessed by narrow sloping stairs just round the back of the square. So good we ate there twice. Can recommend the lamb with prunes - tender, sweet and a lovely subtle blend of spices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Judith G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    388
    192
    35
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very Very Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

You have to try the pigeon pastilla if you've yet to eat pastilla while in Marrakech. You do have to wait a bit longer because it is freshly prepared but the meat was so tender. Having never had a pastilla before, I didn't know what to expect, but it was a very unique eating experience which combined a flaky pastry, filled with savory pigeon and ground nuts, topped with powdered sugar and cinnamon. Definitely confused the taste buds but in the best way possible. My wife had a delicious tagine of lamb and apricot. Prices are in line with the restaurants you will find around the medina.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RTWjer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good find off main square”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Had excellent food, service, and experience! Patio seating located near the Jemaa square. Prices were also great to top it all off!

Helpful?
Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food for a good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Nice place to eat in the medina :) food is good and not expensive. You may have to wait for a bit, but it is freshly prepared and very tasty.

Helpful?
1 Thank ingeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a treat!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

From the moment you see the red stairs to the rooftop you know this will be an experience to remember! We enjoyed the rooftop meal so much we went back twice! Beautiful tagines and a lovely place for sunset views. Service is so friendly and welcoming and the prices are very reasonable.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ozzie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manu m, Responsable relations clients at Cafe chez ZaZa, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Hi, and thanks for your review, it's very funny you had liked our red stair, because we don't like we do this 3 days after opening and when it was done we had some regrets, but the most important you had liked the food, so we are happy.

best regards
manu
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe chez ZaZa also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Cafe chez ZaZa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing