We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens
Ranked #112 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
18
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Medina Gardens hotel from 19th - 26th June 2014 with my boyfriend. The check in was swift, we were handed a cold towel at the entrance to the hotel as well as a sugary non alcoholic cocktail and cakes, no queuing at all, the only thing which got a little irritating was the song 'Happy' by Pharell Williams on loop in the reception during the check in. The location of the hotel was brilliant, being only 5 mins away from the souks. We had a pool view room which was lovely although the pool entertainment can get a little loud and goes on till around 11pm which I wouldn't mind but it's just the same 2 guys singing the same few songs. One night I thought I was going mad as they sang the same song at least 4 times back to back. We spoke to another couple who's room was facing the front of the hotel and they said there was absolutely no noise at all so we asked to move but got told the hotel was full (although it seemed very very empty). This meant that we had to sleep with ear plugs in for the rest of the holiday. The drinks are VERY strong - half spirit half mixer, so I would just ask for a half measure of the spirit. The food was really really good and they have a different theme for the food every evening which meant there was a huge choice although over the last 2 days we did both get ill but this could have been due to a combination of the heat and just the change of cuisine as I checked my food at every meal to make sure it was cooked through. The staff were great, Imad was a real help to us, a pool towel went missing from our room (a replacement is around £8!) but he gave us another, free of charge and our towels also went missing from the poolside the next day while we were playing table tennis, he gave us another 2 for free again. We did the Ouzoud Cascades trip which was a brilliant but tiring day out and the tour guide Mohammed was absolutely hilarious and easily spoke the best English I'd heard all holiday! I also had the spa package, the massages were nothing to rave about but the hammam scrub was great! There were plenty of sun loungers and there is a main pool as well as a quiet pool which I preferred. Overall the holiday was fab and I would definitely return to the Medina Gardens!

Stayed: June 2014
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,287)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,607 - 1,613 of 2,287 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

We had an amazing holiday here. The staff and hotel were amazing and made our stay lovely. Couple of bad points were that myself and my partner were VERY ill at certain points of the holiday but it only lasted 24hrs each!!! And most people get ill at some point on holiday so I wouldn't say it's anything to worry about! We had a hotel room that faced the pool and unfortunately they play the music sooooooo loud until the early hours which can be very annoying when you need to go out early in the morning!! Other than that we had a brilliant time!! Highly recommend!! Ps get the red bus tour... Totally worth it so you can see the things you want without a time frame!! Xx

Room Tip: Not on the pool side near to where the bar is!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DSA999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent hotel, with a good central location, friendly staff and all the rest, would recommend to anyone. Stayed there with my girlfriend only last week.

My only complaint is that some of complaints on this review site are ridiculous, and some people need to sort out their priorities in life.

The food was lovely, this is the 300 or so dishes that were out every breakfast lunch and dinner. No illness for me but I wouldn't be surprised if someone got a little ill from both the new environment, change in ingredients/oil and trouble adapting with a British stomach. If you're not feeling adventurous they have pizza and chips to go for.

The staff's English was pretty good, and when speaking to them they were all lovely, only the odd friendly misunderstanding now and then. Only the accents they have trouble with after speaking to one bartender (which I'm not too surprised, considering they all speak both Arabic and French anyway, like most of the population.) They are rather generous on the portions of spirits, expect your spirit and mixer to be half and half hehe.

Sarah and Ahmed were both really nice and helpful, any tour we went on was well done and well organised. Very approachable if you need them.
oh you can also feed the tortoises if you ask sarah nicely.

Gardens were well kept along with all of the facilities, the maids were nice too! I'm sure I've missed some stuff out, but I had a lovely time there anyway like all the others there with me. I'm sure you can find something to moan about if you look hard enough (there was one cloud!). But anyway, best hotel I've stayed in!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
16  Thank Mickey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed at the Medina for a week from the 17th July. Initially a tad concerned because I booked before the refurbishment was complete, so no reviews were available, however We really shouldn't have been. From arrival when you are offered wet flannels and asked to sit out on the veranda rather than join the normal queue at reception, through to our departure, where staff come out to wave you off, the hotel was exceptional. The staff could not have been more helpful or friendly, the food was of a very good quality, the room was clean and airy, whilst the facilities having obviously been refurbished were perfect.
Located a 5 minute walk from the souks, the location couldn't be bettered. We met many lovely people, and overwhelmingly the feeling held by everybody was that Thomson had about got it right. Whilst there were too many positives to list, my only negatives to list were that the gardens visit was really not worth doing, and the quad ride got a bit hairy because maintenance of the quads is really not that good. However neither of these two were directly under Thomson's control.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
10  Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I would echo what everybody else has said, lovely staff, relaxing hotel, a day or so in bed ill, things being taken from rooms even from a safe etc etc. If you choose a 2nd floor room with hot tub be aware that they are not as private as you may think. I had to leave my balcony on a couple of occasions as the hot tubs below where being used in an 'adult way' shall we say. The shades above the veranda does not block out the view from above. I would have liked to have seen the dress code for dinner in the evenings being enforced. A gala dinner with some residents dressed up and others in swim ware doesn't make for a special gala dinner. Overall a good place to stay for the price in a good location.

Room Tip: rooms looking over the pool can be very noisy as some guests can confuse a couples hotel for 18-30...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
7  Thank 795jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

10/07/2014 Got to the Hotel about 12.30 am we were greeted at the door with damp face cloths.and ask to sit down and drinks and snacks were served to us. I felt this was a lovely gesture. They told us that the restaurant was being kept open for us. Then was shown to our rooms lovely room with pool view basket of fruit fridge with water and coke in and a bottle of wine.We did get a free safe and free Air con.
We met some fantastic people here Caz, Aaron, Janet, Terry,Alison,Terry, and chaz and Dave. They made our holiday. thank you It's good to laugh.
Tea coffee kettle and cups but they forgot milk lol. dressing gowns.
Everything very clean and was kept that way all week.The staff very friendly nothing was to much trouble.Entertainment basic but good until one of the guest BOB took over and sang most of the week that was great.They had two pools one a quiet one but there was a bit of work going on outside that couldn't be helped. but still some guest complained. Lovely grounds we didn't bother going to the Indian are the steak restaurants didn't feel the need the main restaurant was very good something for everyone even my husband who is a very fussy eater.
There was still guest that complained about noise, food, and anything else they could find wrong, TIP if you want to go to bed after dinner and need quiet don't ask for pool view rooms request a quiet room or stay at home.
I would recommend this hotel and would stay here again but would book room with jaccuzi they are bigger and the jaccuzi powerful.
The staff went the extra mile and a big thank you to them all.

Room Tip: We was in room 112 pool view very good but if you want quiet don't ask for pool view. Just reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jonzy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Helpful friendly & polite staff. Great amenities . Would recommend this comfortable hotel.
Excellent food. Went half board but food was plentiful & did not need lunch - plus it was so hot 44 degrees.
Plenty of shaded areas to relax.
Only downfall, if there has to be one, is the evening entertainment.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank LynL429
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.8 mi away
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
Hotel Riu Tikida Garden
#122 of 499 in Marrakech
2,923 reviews
4.3 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel & Ryads Barriere Le Naoura Marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
0.6 mi away
Sofitel Marrakech Lounge and Spa
0.2 mi away
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
Les Jardins de La Koutoubia
#62 of 499 in Marrakech
1,550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens

Address: Arset Djenan Lakhdar, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £56 - £341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens 4*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Marrakech 5 minutes walking from Jemaa El Fna square, ideal for couples desiring to soak up the charm of Marrakech, most attractions are within walking distance, including the Palace Bahia, the Koutoubia Mosque, the Gueliz and the Majorelle Gardens. Spectacular views of the Atlas Mountains, the minaret of the Koutoubia and a lush garden of three hectares. This property combines modern comfort and traditional Moroccan accents. Our rooms and suites, carefully designed for the comfort of a luxury accommodation in Marrakech. They are equipped with an LCD 32 inch TV with a wide selection of international channels, direct dial telephone, air conditioning / heating, mini bar, safe and free wifi connection. The hotel includes 4 restaurants: Atlas International buffet: a space resolutely modern design, a cuisine with miles and flavor in a warm atmosphere. Pool Snack: For a simple snack at the pool while staying in a swimsuit, you can enjoy salads, sandwiches, desserts and fruit skewers feet in the water. Small and gourmands will enjoy at the bar pancakes, waffles and ice cream ... The Indian Restaurant: A journey to India to explore the Indian delicate and refined cuisine dishes flavored with fine Indian spices. Steak House: Specialty restaurant grill in an intimate and refined atmosphere. Spa Hotel and pools invite to regenerate in peace, while the fitness center allows you to keep in shape. The property also boasts two tennis clay courts, pingpong table, bowls, board games. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Ebookers so you can book your TUI SENSIMAR Medina Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing