We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a Disappointment!”
Review of Riad Tibibt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tibibt
Ranked #296 of 1,144 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Such a Disappointment!”
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We booked Riad Tibibt based on the reviews we read on trip advisor and were really looking forward to our stay.

I will start by mentioning the two wonderful aspects of this riad.....Abdul and Fatima. They are an asset to the riad and to Thierry. Diamonds in the rough!

When we arrived at the airport late at night we were supposed to be met by someone with a sign bearing our name. The man who met us only had the name of the riad on his paper and spoke absolutely no english and apparantly very little if any french either. This was not to be a significant problem until he got lost. He had no idea where the riad was and tried to call them numerous times during our journey but never got an answer. So, when he got within the general vicinity (Still 1 km away) he pulled over, got out of the taxi and disappeared into the night for over half an hour. My mother and I (who have travelled extensively in the third world) were left sitting in a taxi with the windows stuck down, in a dark alley, with people passing by and the key in the ignition with no driver and no explanation as to what was going on.....not just disconcerting, terrifying. When the driver was unable to confirm the location of the riad, he had a young man come and lead us the 1 km remaining to the riad down tiny, dark alleyways, through unlit tunnels and to the riad at which point he asked us for money. We had to pay 15 euros for the privilage of being put through this ridiculous farce Thierry likes to call a chauffer driven taxi.

Then, as if it couldn't get any worse, the room we had booked months in advance wasn't available for us that night so we had to sleep in a double room instead of a twin room in which they had made up a devan for me to sleep on. I am tall and slender and it was so tiny both length wise and width wise that I was in no way able to sleep.

The following day we were moved to the room we had booked which was an improvement but three major problems prolonged throughout our stay:
1. Noise from the courtyard in the middle of the riad travelled up and bounced off the walls making it impossible to sleep through even the slightest bit of noise on the ground floor. You could also hear everything going on within every other room on our floor.....enough said. When we complained about the noise ealy in the morning Thierry told us we should be up by 9:00 anyway....!!!!
2. There was very little lighting in the rooms or the common areas of the riad making it nearly impossible to read or look at a map.
3. The hot water in the shower ran out after only several minutes, meaning if two people wanted to wash their hair, there was not enough hot water to do so.

For a riad rated number 3 in all of Marrakech, none of these issues are acceptable. Thierry is charming and charismatic but if you have a problem he doesn't seem willing to address it at all.

Fundamental issues really let this place down.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akf89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    31
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
194
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2011

We were met at the airport late at night by a driver who did not talk at all. He called on his mobile throughout the journey and then left us in the taxi in a dark alley for half an hour. He told us nothing. Finally an unknown young man arrived and took us and our luggage to an unknown destination. Even though we are seasoned third world travellers, this was terrifying. When we finally reached the riad he demanded money and left us with luggage battered from the walk to the riad. The riad charged us 15 Euros for this "airpot transfer" as well.
They put us in a double bed room when we had booked a twin. The second bed they brought in was so small that only a tiny child could have slept there.
Although there was no street noise, guest noise was a big problem. The courtyard is covered in a platic sheet and amplifies every sound. We could hear the bodily functions of every guest on our floor. Lobby noise was amplified into our room, preventing sleep. When we complained that I was ill with a virus and needed sleep, Thierry arrogantly replied that we should get up earlier! Hot water ran out after only one of us had showered.
Entire riad was so dark that it was impossible to even see a map or book.
They gave us one free night but it was still a nightmare stay.
On a good note, Abdul and Fatima were wonderful and are what made this hotel worthy of a poor rating instead of a terrible one!
AVOID El Tibibt.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elterrill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
poyenne, Propriétaire at Riad Tibibt, responded to this review, 26 November 2011
this is not fair!
this is not my home......................
thierry&hassan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2011

On our first night we were met by Thierry, he is a terrific host! We had the dinner in the Riad and it was lovely,

On our first morning Thierry sat down with us and a map to orientate us - he does this with everyone and will walk into town with you on occassions. The first time you leave the Riad it is terrifying, all the raods look the same and you are warned against all the tricks, kids looking for money to take you back to your Riad, people telling you that the roads are closed etc. But once you have walked it once, it's easy and speaking Frnech definitely helps once you are out and about.

The Riad is well located and very comfortable, the breakfasts are filling and everything is beautifully presented. You can also buy alcohol there. We happened to stay with a few other young couples and had a few boozy nights on the terasse. Abdul was exceptionally helpful and continued to serve us until the wee small hours and then served us out breakfast the next day!

Thierry went over and above the call of duty by walking us to the police station one day when I lost my wallet (see 4x4 Camel - i got it back!!) and working out payment when we had difficulties witht the banks.

My only issue was that there was no air conditioning in the rooms - but actually on the second night it wasn't an issue at all and i wouldn't have turned it on anyway.

Also I can sleep through anything but others complained about the prayer calls at 4 in the morning - i don't think you can escape that in Marrakech though - it didn't disturb me at all!!

Room Tip: Look on their website - what you see is what you get - i don't think there is a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t4sch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Verbier, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 November 2011

My husband and I spent a week at the Riad Tibibt, while attending the "PURE Life Experiences" travel trade show, at the Mansour. The interior of the Riad is gorgeous, traditional elements mixed with Thierry's own style (he was a decorator in Bordeaux in another life). The staff was extremely helpful and made us feel like we were staying with friends, breakfast served on the upper deck is sublime! After 5 days of trade shows and parties at 5 star hotels (Mansour, Sofitel and the Palais Rhoul), I really wonder why anyone would choose to spend so much on an over-rated and unauthentic 5*, when you could really experience Marrakech with all necessary luxuries, in the heart of the Medina, at Riad Tibibt.

Room Tip: the suites on the upper floors provide more privacy for not much more $
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Epicurus1934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2011

The bedlam for us started from the airport. A mad taxi driver who wanted to turn 2 lanes into 3 at every opportunity! He then told the "cart" boy to take us to the wrong Riad and then the cart boy demanded 10 euro, which we would not pay ! So when we did eventually arrive at Riad Tibibt our nerves were in shreds.
We were greeted by the gentle Abdul who paid off the cart boy and took us to our stunning suite. Mint tea followed soon after, as we chatted to a French couple who were eating dinner under the trees. The female guest Sophie, had helped to cook dinner that night, which we enjoyed in the relaxing calm surroundings. The owner Thierry, then came to say hello and that tomorrow he would give us a map and any help we needed. After dinner we talked to Ann and John and ended up having a second bottle of wine with them.
The next day after being served our lovley breakfast on the top terrace by the gentle Abdul with his ready smile, Sophie, her boyfriend and Thierry walked us to Jemma-el-fnd and directed us to banks and coffee.
Thierry had asked me how I sleeped and I has replied that I was too hot. So the next day he arranged for us to move to a suite with aircon. Thank you again Thierry. Both the rooms were beautifully decorated.
Throughout our 5 night stay Thierry could not do enough for us, he would look up information online, make bookings and guide us on the right price to pay for things, and you could trust him 100%.
Abdul was always on hand and Fatima worked hard in the background, they made a great team.
We loved being right in the Madina and we would not have wanted to have been in a hotel in the new town. Riad Tibibt is the perfect place to enjoy the bedlam of the souk. We felt very safe in Thierrys oasis of calm. Guests were made to feel more like friends and we all ended up talking each day about our experience and showing off our purchase and the price we had paid.
Thank you Thierry, you do a great job. I hope to come back and see you again one day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Aircon if you are not used to the heat of Morocco, 36 degrees when we were there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank foodygirl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Medway Kent
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2011

We have just returned from staying over half term at Riad Tibibt (with two teenagers) and it was everything that everyone has previously said. As it was our first time in Marrakech we were a little dubious, but I can honestly say that the stay with Thierry and Hassan made our trip an excellent one. If you are looking for a Riad in the Medina I cannot believe there is a better one.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevPKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baarlo, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2011

We spent 15 days in Marocco in all different kinds of Riads, hotels en B&B; this last Riad, hidden away in the medina, is certainly very friendly in all aspects, good meal (especially starter and dessert) and good breakfast too. Thierry make`s you feel at home and give good information where to eat etc. He`s certainly a good host and make`s you enjoy your stay. Well worth it`s price, and a place where you can spent some days.
Our transfer to the Airport at 7.00 Hrs. was perfectly arranged.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stan1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
Riad Dar Zaman
Riad Dar Zaman
#72 of 1,144 in Marrakech
483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#227 of 499 in Marrakech
186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#45 of 499 in Marrakech
1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Riad Shanima & Spa
Riad Shanima & Spa
#78 of 1,144 in Marrakech
303 reviews
3.6 mi away
Pullman Marrakech Palmeraie Resort and Spa
0.7 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#103 of 499 in Marrakech
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tibibt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tibibt

Property: Riad Tibibt
Address: Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Medersa Ben Youssef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 1,144 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this genuine Moroccan dwelling, the lounge offers its guests cosy cushions by the fireside. The five air-conditioned bedrooms look onto the riad whose fountain ( the bou ) will cool you down on hot summer days. The sunny roof garden is the ideal place for lavish breakfasts among the colourful bougainvillaea, hibiscus and other sun-loving flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tibibt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tibibt Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing