We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average or below; why the hight T.A. ratings?”
Review of Riad Tibibt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Tibibt
Ranked #276 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Average or below; why the hight T.A. ratings?”
Reviewed 12 August 2012

My wife and I toured Morocco for 2-1/2 weeks, with Marrakesh being our final destination. We stayed in historic Riads in just about every city. We stayed here 4 nights, and it was far below the charm and quality that we had in every other city, and we never paid more than $100 in any city. So what made it so below-average? Furnishings - many broken old things, not really "antiques" of value. For example, the "canopy bed" was just a rickety, wobbly and heavily oxidized frame. It was too short even for my wife (who is 5ft.10in.), so our legs were hanging off the end. The sofa or something in our room's sitting area smelled of mold. No bar of soap provided in the bathroom - good thing we had brought our own. There is no place in the shower (e.g. a shelf) to put down your soap, shampoo, sponge, etc. Super-low quality toilet paper - reminded me of what I had seen in Russia in 1995. The Riad is located at the end of a series of long, dark, narrow, twisting alleys - we never felt safe walking here. In the room, we were given two 333 cl bottles of water - in every other city and Riad, it was customary to provide 1.0 liter or 1.5 liter bottles. Finding it the first time was a nightmare. They did offer to meet us to bring us to the Riad if we could call them when our taxi dropped us off in the neighborhood at the closest square (quite dingy), but we did not have a cell phone with service in Morocco. So we were left to finding it with the "help" of the locals. Being escorted there by one young boy, which grew into a group of 6 older boys insisting on money, made us feel extremely unsafe, especially as they took about 20 turns to get there, maybe not the most direct route. To make that nightmare walk even worse, when we knocked at the Riad's door, no one answered until we had knocked a half dozen times, and waited over 5 minutes, trying to fend off the ever-increasing demands for money from the boys who had followed us there. The Riad bills itself as being 10 minute walk from Jeema El Fna, but it's more like 15-20 minutes through some very crowded alleyways, and you'd better have a good sense of direction. This turned out to be a big letdown to end our otherwise magnificent trip. When we asked to leave 2 days early, to maybe go someplace nice to cap off the trip, as my wife hated it here, they allowed 1 night early, but not two, even though we asked right after 1 night into out 5 night reservation (not during a busy time). In case you're wondering why we didn't ask for a "nicer" room, it's that they made a point of telling us we were in the nicest room when we checked in. We were afraid of anything even worse. Then finally, we had birds that somehow made it into our bathroom during two of the nights, which starting loud chirping right after sunrise as they were trapped and could not find a way out, thus preventing us from even getting a good night's sleep. On the very positive side, the local man and woman who work there tending to guests are extremely nice and helpful. The common areas are extremely photogenic, which is what lured us into this place, along with the surprisingly glowing reviews. The courtyard looks charming at night, but during the day far less so, as it is completely covered over by a plastic tarp that is used to collect the occasional rainwater.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BinRoundDWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

392 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    31
    1
    4
    1
See reviews for
59
194
22
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2012

After a well-organised transfer from the airport we arrived at this lovely riad with very welcoming and friendly staff. We had mint tea on arrival and a room upgrade which meant we had our own private terrace where we could sit and listen to the birds in the courtyard, lovely! The bathroom was small but clean and there was always plenty of hot water. Hassan was very helpful, making sure we could find our way, organising taxis etc. A generous breakfast was served on the pretty roof terrace with different variations each day. It is set in a very quiet area but just a short walk (with a few twists and turns!) from a busy street full of people shopping at the little local shops, donkeys and scooters and a different smell every few steps, which led straight to the Djemma El Fna. Ideal for experiencing the real medina as well as the touristy side of things!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susiefr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We had two rooms in the Riad for 4 nights in April, 2012. The rooms are charmingly decorated, the beds are comfortable, the showers work and there is plenty of hot water. Fatima created tasty breakfasts on the sunny roof. Hassan, the gracious owner, was most helpful in arranging for side trip, restaurants, transportation, etc.

Room Tip: Some rooms have double bed, some have 2 twins. Your call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UsaBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Hassan , Driss and Zahra are some of the nicest , caring and genuine people i have come across and made my experience there unforgettable. The place is beautiful, inviting and clean and the decor tansports you back into time . The rooms and bathrooms are gorgeous , I got upgraded and had the place to myself and felt i was in my own palazzo. The food was great and the breakfast on the terrace was just perfect !Hassan and Driss were very helpful with showing me around and made sure i didnt gettting conned by Taxis and unscrupulous guides. They were equally on call 24/7! I strongly recommend the Riad to anyone heading to Marrrakech and wants to experience the boutique hotel feel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sareen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We will soon come back.

I can't recommend riad tibibt enough. Its location is ideal being a short walk away from the main square .
All of the staff at the riad are extremely attentive and lovely (Abdou and Fatima). Not only was this riad very beautiful and luxurious with the most fantastic roof terraceBreakfast was delicious. We did have dinner ...... delicious! I would be happy to go back Definitely go...you won't be disappointed.
We loved being in the center of the Medina

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 February 2012

A stay at this warm and welcoming Riad is a fantastic way to experience Marrakech, Thierry and all staff ensure a wonderfully personal experience. A short walk from the souks and square, but in a very quiet residential area.Thierry makes sure you are well orientated on your first day, and provides helpful suggestions as to places to eat, hammams and other attractions. Breakfasts were fantastic on the sunny terrace, a relaxing start to the day with a variety of local breads, pancakes, pastries and home-made jams (loved Fatima's potato jam!!). Our suite was spotlessly cleaned daily - and we enjoyed having tea in our room each evening when the weather was cooler! We stayed in a suite, but all rooms looked beautiful with their own style and all exceedingly spacious.

Thierry gave us suggestions and advice when planing a trip out of Marrakech, and the staff were kind enough to get up early to prepare breakfast for us before we left. The Riad is beautifully decorated and provides a relaxing environment for an escape within the city.

Thank you to everyone at Riad Tibibt for an excellent stay, we hope to return soon to visit your place in the Rose Valley!

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful, you cant go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

If you are travelling to Marrakech – look no further and book now!

Riad Tibibt is an impressive riad full of charm and character. It has been beautifully restored and the rooms have a traditional Moroccan theme. Thierry (the owner) is also an interior designer which is clearly evident - as there are some very nice features and touches.

I can not emphasize enough – how warm and welcoming our hosts were. Thierry and Abdou were simply amazing and anticipated all our needs. Upon arrival, we instantly felt at home and completely at ease. I can truthfully say that the hospitality we received was indeed the highlight of our stay!

We were initially thinking of staying closer to the main square – but in hindsight, this would have been a mistake. Rather, the location is in fact ideal for those who also want to relax a little. It manages to provide a tranquil retreat away from all the chaos and motorcycle noise; yet remains within a short walking distance from the main attractions.

As for the food, I highly recommend having at least one ‘home-cooked’ meal at the riad. I consider myself somewhat of a ‘foodie’ and was particularly impressed. We ended up having dinner three times – simply because it tasted far superior to the (mid priced) restaurants!

Overall, we had a marvelous stay at Riad Tibibt. Naturally, one can always find minor niggles – but in all honesty, these were insignificant when considering the experience as a whole. Therefore, I can gladly and confidently rate Riad Tibibt 5 stars all round.

A massive thank you to Thierry, Abdou and Fatima!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zafar80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.8 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#230 of 499 in Marrakech
185 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 499 in Marrakech
1,945 reviews
11.5 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 499 in Marrakech
1,222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#103 of 499 in Marrakech
389 reviews
0.7 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#7 of 499 in Marrakech
1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Tibibt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Tibibt

Property: Riad Tibibt
Address: Derb Lalla Azzouna 39 | Medersa Ben Youssef, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #276 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this genuine Moroccan dwelling, the lounge offers its guests cosy cushions by the fireside. The five air-conditioned bedrooms look onto the riad whose fountain ( the bou ) will cool you down on hot summer days. The sunny roof garden is the ideal place for lavish breakfasts among the colourful bougainvillaea, hibiscus and other sun-loving flowers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Tibibt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Tibibt Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing