We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!! Amazing attention”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira
Ranked #55 of 501 Hotels in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

If you have never been in Morocco you've to realise that the situation of the hotel is inside the Medina...that means, you have to cross a part of it to arrive to the entrance of the hotel. First time is not easy to find but before and you have to pay attention and remember the path for enter and exit easily. On the other way the attention of the employees is absolutely perfect. First day they speech us about the most important places to visit and recommendations. Rooms where just amazing, properly clean and with every needed detail. I totally recommend the hotel if you search a really morrocan experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Xrod R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (472)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the riad for four days and three nights during our brief visit to Marrakech. We opted for the second most expensive room that housed a king sized bed, sitting area and sofa (that can be used for sleeping as well) on the first floor, and bathroom and closets several steps down. As you can tell from pictures that other travelers have taken, the decorations are simple yet lovely. We were told that the building is about 400 years old, and the ultra thick walls and "tucked away" factor made it feel like a great refuge from the hectic medina.

Hamid and the other staff people were great hosts and very helpful in answering questions and in making our stay as stress-free as possible. In fact, I was so impressed by their competence on the first day of our stay that I decided to book a few different things for us to experience on-site, including dinner for two, the hammam and massage. And on the last night, Hamid went out and got us bread from the market and sliced it up for me because I was hungry and too tired to go out and attempt to find the restaurant they suggested. A really sweet touch on his part.

As vegetarians, my husband and I ordered the vegetable couscous, omelet, vegetable tagine, and salad sampler. I personally enjoyed the salads and the vegetable tagine, however the order of vegetable couscous was overkill - it was a LOT of food. Regardless, it was very fresh. In fact, you have to request to have dinner a day in advance so that they can make the preparations (i.e. the food isn't sitting there getting old until someone orders it).

Next, we tried the hammam. Admittedly, I do not have the hammam experience to relax. I go to get virtually beaten up by the hammam attendant's glove, and that is exactly what I got. A genuine, non-diluted for tourists hammam. There was nothing glamorous about it, and I wouldn't have had it any other way. We sat in the hammam on the warm floor for about five minutes, then were slathered with oil. The cheerful attendant scrubbed us down (front, back sides, and gently on the face) the right way as there were rolls of dead skin sliding off our body. Then we were rinsed and covered in ghassoul (henna mixed with herbs) which she asked us to rub into our skin for a little extra exfoliation and we sat there and let it seep in as a mask for about five minutes. Then, she washed our hair and sent us on our way in a comfy robe and slippers. She also let us keep our glove as a souvenir.

I tried the massage next, and my husband did not. Well, the masseuse wasn't exactly a masseuse. She was more of a "let-me-moisturize-your-skin-with-this-oil-as-i-do-a-few-random-massage-esque-moves." As sweet as she was, I have to be fair. Your average Joe could have done a better job. It was pretty mediocre.

Lastly, as far as people claiming that the area isn't safe, I think you may have been watching too much TV. I made many walks from Jemaa el Fna alone back to the riad during the day and at night without anything worse than what I would have encountered in the States. Perhaps it was because I dressed semi-conservatively and look Moroccan, I don't know. I do know that I felt safer down these streets than a lot of other places at night (in the US). You just have to ignore men's attempts to get your attention as funny as they may be and walk like you know where you're going. If you get lost, go into a store and ask someone with a job.

Anyway, I'd definitely come back and hope you travelers give it a shot! You may want to sleep with some earbuds in case Adhan (call to prayer) wakes you up at the butt-crack of dawn but it's actually pretty lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Iman M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thank you so much Iman for your lovely review.We are really pleased that you have enjoyed your stay in the Riad.we propose for our customers to experience a set of different services either it concerns cuisine our spa or others.We are looking forward to meet you next time.Hamid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

At first it was a bit worrying heading up small lanes going deeper into the unknown but once done it was fine. Like many riads within the walls you have to leave the car, brave the bikers and walk. This riad is well located as it's nice and quite. No traffic noise and the nearest mosque is not so close. Easy walking to nice local restaurants. The main square is some 20 mins away. We got picked up and taken back. The room was good and we had breakfast in the sun on the roof. Very helpful staff. As a mid range sort of place budget wise worth considering.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Stlo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2014
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions infiniment pour votre commentaire.Nous somme très heureux que vous avez admirez notre Riad et nous espérons vous accueillir lors de votre prochaine visite a Marrakech.Hamid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

My partner and I are stayed in this riad for two nights before we started our trip to the Atlas Mountains. It was warm, clean and comfortable. The staff were always helpful and were always willing to change and move things around for us.
The food was traditionally Moroccan which was great, a lovely tagine and a fresh breakfast made this a lovely stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Gérant at Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2014
Google Translation

Nous vous remercions beaucoup Mme Laura pour votre commentaire.Nous somme toujours prêt a faire déguster nous clients les bons plat marocain.dans l’attente de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain visite a MARRKECH.Hamid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Booked this hotel on the flight on the way out there!

Staff and setting were lovely. The staff were especially helpful with the local area and getting around. Hotel was very clean and a beautiful oasis in the chaos of Marrakesh! Sadly we were only there for a night but it was a really nice night.

No TV in room but we wasn't there for that.

A sure recommendation.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank decide88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Manager at Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

First of all we thank you for chosing our Riad to spend your holiday in Marrakech.we thank as well you for your review.Our staff are always at your disposal and feel happy to give a good servicve for our costomers.
We all loking forward to welcoming you among us for your next visit to Marrakech.Hamid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed at Riad Al Jazira for 3 nights in Feb 2014, and was not disappointed. Marrakesh can be very hustle bustle, but this Riad offers you a unique peaceful getaway once you step inside.

Beautifully restored, we found it to be clean, with our room tidied everyday, and towels changed daily. Our room had a standard AC unit which helps as it can get a little chilly during winter seasons. At night it is very peaceful, with hardly any noise within the riad (mostly couples staying), and even less coming from outside. The only sound you'll hear is the dawn call to prayer around 6am, but its not too bad as the nearest mosque is a few blocks away.

The riad is slightly tucked away in the alleyways, but at no point did we feel threatened or scared for our safety. Some council estates in the UK are far more scary! Once you've ventured out a couple of times, its easy to familiarise yourself with the neighborhood.

On one occasion we did get lost walking back, on our first night out, but one of the local kids walked us back, and we gave him a £2 tip. Its always worth remembering that everything is open to negotiation. They may ask for generous tips, but slash off 80% and you're still being generous. Be firm, and polite with a smile, and you'll be ok. I always find if you can make them laugh or smile... you've won the battle, and can get away with paying on your terms, be it in the shops or anywhere else.

The main Jamaa El Fna square is roughly 15 mins walk away, or a 4-5 min cab ride and we paid no more than 50 Dhirams for a ride back to the riad.

We emailed the Riad before arriving to arrange our transfers which cost €15 each way. We were picked up in a nice clean space cruiser, and our driver Hafi was polite & non intrusive. He pointed out some landmarks along the way, and was happy to make suggestions for places to visit.

At the riad, the service from Hamid (during the day) & Umar (evenings) who both run reception, was polite & attentive. They we very helpful in suggesting restaurants, excursions & booking spa sessions outside of the hotel. Khalid who attends to the guests, was always keen to see to our needs, bringing us breakfast to our room everyday, and carrying lunch up to the roof terrace!

I'd highly recommend staying at this riad, simply because of the warm welcome from the staff, and their polite nature.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBR01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarrakechRiads, Manager at Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

We thank you so much for your review, we are very happy that you appreciate you staying among us. As you know the medina is somehow difficult especially if it is the first time in the Medina.The difficulty of its old streets and alleyways makes it a very charm city. All the staff of the riad are happy to make your stay in Marrakech as wonderful as possible.
All the riad's staff are looking forward to welcome you again among us.
Hamid

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We booked into this lovely riad on the back of its great reviews on trip advisor! However we checked out immediately after we had checked in. Please note that this place is beautiful and the manager in charge is lovely and has a real passion for his job, but, my girlfriend and i just felt that it was not for us for a couple of reasons! The area the riad is in (north) is not the safest of places and the facilities are limited however this is a riad and that is what you expect of riad! If a riad is your thing then go here! It is beautifully clean and the staff are lovely, it just wasn't for us! We subsequently check into a resort outside of the city and then la mamounia!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank jollygud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Sapphire and Spa
Riad Sapphire and Spa
#69 of 501 in Marrakech
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Les Trois Palmiers El Bacha
1.0 mi away
Riad Dar Najat
Riad Dar Najat
#39 of 501 in Marrakech
1,080 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
Riad La Terrasse des Oliviers
#71 of 501 in Marrakech
233 reviews
1.1 mi away
MonRiad
MonRiad
#54 of 501 in Marrakech
947 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maison Arabo Andalouse
Maison Arabo Andalouse
#27 of 501 in Marrakech
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira

Address: 7, Derb Mayara | Sidi Ben Sliman, Medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#30 Spa Hotel in Marrakech
#37 Luxury Hotel in Marrakech
Price Range: £52 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18 spotless, blisteringly white guestrooms are hidden behind heavy wooden doors and layers of linen drapes. Airy central covered courtyards have comfy seating areas: red rugs on golden brick floors, leafy palms over wooden chaises and – spectacularly – a colonnaded swimming pool in a setting reminiscent of great Carthage. Colourful accents are provided by red or purple cushions and kilims, and artfully arranged rose petals. We like this riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel & Spa Riad Al Jazira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Al Jazira Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing