We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Toulousain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Toulousain Hotel
Ranked #351 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

perfectly located and realativly easy to find (most taxi drivers know it) clean and well maintained but pretty basic...breakfast is basic and better eaten early as it goes down hill the later in the morning you take it. reception staff very friendly. ..basic english spoken so as with most of the country a bit of french helps...cold at night in winter so be prepared...

Room Tip: upstairs rooms quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Free-Range85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boemien, Public Relations Manager at Toulousain Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Thank you very much for your visit and thank you for being objective in writing your review. We appreciate that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    55
    23
    8
    4
See reviews for
10
41
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2012

I stayed in this hotel when I visited Marrakech for the first time in November 2009 and what a lovely bag of memories I still carry. As every traveler, I was excited as well as anxious about the hotel in particular and Marrakech in general. All my wariness disappeared as soon as I set foot in Hotel Toulousain. I must say that the hotel and the city did not disappoint me, on the contrary I found them to be an oasis of peace and tranquility.
The rooms are around two square courtyards with orange trees. I stayed in a room on the 1st floor as well as on the ground floor, next to the breakfast kitchen. Waking up in the morning with the chants of birds, the meows of cats and laughters of fellow traveler taking their breakfast under the orange tree, is unforgettable.
If you are obsessed with luxury and comfort etc do not go to this hotel. But if you want to experience an authentic atmosphere with clean bed and delicious breakfast without being out of pocket, this is the place. Bon voyage!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Tumbuk2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
125 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2012

I found the medina scene too overwhelming as a solo traveler who knew no french or arabic. I had some difficulties when I arrived in Marrakesh and the owner and staff at the Toulousian went above and beyond to help me. I will be forever grateful for a Moroccan man. The hotel is very affordable. The rooms were very simple but clean and comfortable. The breakfast was good. The hospitality was exceptional and unmatched by any accommodations I had in a 12 days of travelling in Morocco. It was easy to get around the city from this Gueliz location.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAuntDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Very much a case of getting what you paid for.

We only stayed for one night after landing at Marrakesh airport before getting the bus to Essaouria. Breakfast was good, the location is ideal, everything was clean, reception very friendly an helpful and free wifi is a bonus.

Saying that, it was freezing cold at night with an extra 30d to hire an inadequate heater, there was no hot water and a lot of noise from a building site during the day and a nightclub at night.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KolonelKustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sliedrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2012

Stayed couple of nights in hotel Toulousain and enjoyed it very much!

Hotel has a very nice atmosphere as also the streets around it. Cafe Livre is on the corner and there are several nice places to eat or drink. Hotel has free wifi in the lounge, staff is friendly (speaks English) and always willing to help. Breakfast is fine.

Had a room downstairs (first time) and upstairs. If you're travelling in summer, you definitly will prefer a downstair room because of the temperature. Had private bathroom with hot water included voor Dh 220.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marleen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

Good lower-priced option in Ville Nouvelle, very close to the train station, maybe a twenty minute walk to the medina. Rooms were hot, we sprung for the ones on the ground floor that have a fan, which were slightly more expensive and significantly cooler. Rooms are very basic, internal courtyard has free wifi. Good shower pressure, although I had no hot water (not that I wanted any in Marrakesh in August!). Breakfast was included in the price, with croissants and yogurt, which you often do not get for budget breakfasts in Morocco. Our tour book said that it had a garage (car park) but it did not. We had no problem with street parking, which is metered from 08h00-20h00 during the week. Will probably wind up staying here again next time I am in Marrakesh if I am not looking to spend a lot to stay in a riad.

Room Tip: Choose rooms 1, 2, or 3 - a bit more expensive with fans but much cooler!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiznit, Morocco
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

The Toulousain is a beautiful place with a wonderful staff. It's in a convenient, quiet location (10 minute walk to train/bus stations, 20 minute walk to Jemaa al-Fna and the medina market). I love the fact that the hotel has a pet cat, Kenza, and two pet turtles. The wifi in the lobby is very convenient too. I have stayed at this hotel several times now and it is my go-to place for a comfortable and relatively cheap stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marjorie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa El Gada
Villa El Gada
#332 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#312 of 508 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#352 of 508 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Kabir
Hotel Al Kabir
#472 of 508 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#314 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#340 of 508 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toulousain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toulousain Hotel

Property: Toulousain Hotel
Address: 44 Rue Tariq Bnou Ziad | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #351 of 508 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Toulousain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned hotel of 30 rooms strategically located in the modern part of Marrakech. The included breakfast is icing on the cake. 30-minute walk to Jam El Fna square and only 2-minute walk to banks, restaurants, shops, post office...Clean and affordable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Toulousain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toulousain Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing