We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“favourite of favourites”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Toulousain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Toulousain Hotel
Ranked #376 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“favourite of favourites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Of all the hotels we stayed at in Morocco, some a great deal more expensive, this one was our favourite, without a doubt. It was clean, comfortable (fantastic, thick cotton sheets!) and presented no plumbing problems at all. The staff were great, and so was the building itself - simple, unpretentious, charming. A great atmosphere, too. And what super value for a hotel in a central location in a big city. We wouldn't hesitate to stay here again on a future trip (we actually had two short stays on this trip, both equally good).

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    56
    23
    9
    5
See reviews for
12
42
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I am a Peace Corps Volunteer and this hotel has all I need on an overnight trip in Marrakech, whether I am passing through or staying to enjoy the sites of Marrakech. Clean rooms, hot showers, free wifi, free breakfast, and great staff! It is also in a wonderful location between the bus station and the train station and close to the bus stop for the airport bus. It is also close to some wonderful restaurants, bars, and about a 15 minute walk from Jardin Marjorelli and 30 minutes from Jemaa el Fna.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2013 via mobile

I booked this hotel a few months in advance as the reviews were ok and I was looking for a cheap place to stay. If you are used to basic hotels and are not too fussy, this is the place to go. The courtyard is beautiful and you can get drinks here all day long. You could also have dinner here. It is a nice escape after a day in busy Marrakech. The lady at reception is very friendly and helpful and she speaks english very well. The rooms could do with a bit of a spruce up. The towel rail is rather rusty and so is the shower. The bedside cabinet was rather rustic. But when paying £55 for 4 nights for an en suite I do not want to complain. As long as it all works is what I think. And work it did. A nice powerful and warm shower every morning. The bed and pillows were comfortable to me and were made every day. You also get a new towel every day though it is a bit small... Next door is cafe le livre which is very nice and trendy and serves alcohol. Both the hotel and the cafe have free wifi. It is true that for the first two nights there was music from a club to be heard between 2 and 4. It is however not that loud and if you are within walking distance of the main square (about 20 mins) then you are to expect some noise. The main road is about 100m away and cannot be heard at all. It has bus lines going to the city centre and the airport. If I ever go to Marrakech again, I shall most definitely be booking room 16 in hotel toulousain again as it is out of the way and has a seating area outside.

Helpful?
Thank Philip O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

We loved this place, we paid 190 dhms for double room with shared bathrooms, the price also includes a respectable breakfast. The rooms and bathroom were sparkling clean, at other places in Morocco we chose to sleep in our sleeping beds, but that wasn't necessary here. the showers have hot water all day and you can regulate the temperature perfectly, all the shower cubicles are very roomy. The rooms are very large, a double room has two double beds and still tons of space, and the sinks in every room are an added bonus. What was bit annoying is that you couldn't get the wifi in the rooms only in the (very pretty) courtyard, however with this thick stone walls typical for Moroccan buildings that is pretty much unavoidable, and hey it's still free wifi, right? All in all this was definitely the best value hotel we stayed in on our trip and to top it off the staff is super friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

Travelling with a group and the criteria were; authentic (ie should not be like home, no compounds) clean, easy access location, security (walk home from centre) and budget. This place derived on all criteria and was exceedingly good value for all of the group. Would def use again and perfect for a group of travellers who want to experience the real Marrakech.

Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PamNiMhuiriosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
73 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Hotel Toulousain is very well located not so far from the square Djema el Fnaa, next to Plaza, very close to the airport Menara. Concerning to price, the hotel was very cheap. I didnt expect a lot although I was surprised. The room was not too small, with shower. the sheets were clean, shower as well. to go to the toilet, I had to go outside the room. the breakfast was composed by croissant, some yogurt, some bread with jam and oringe juice. The receptionists were friendly, especialy lady at the reception, she was all the time able to answer my questions and also gave me good advice.
The only disadvantage was not very hot water during the night and 3 euros to rent the heating, because in the room there is not. 3 euros is not too much, but in my opinion the heating should be free and automaticly in the room because its very cold during the night... and in my opinion hotel shouldnt charge anything for the heating.
I will definitely choose the same hotel for the next time and I recommend it.
Anyway

Room Tip: ask for the room with bathroom included anyway you risk to be in public shower
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YannParis18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tbilisi
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I have mixed feelings about this place. It was the only hotel we booked in advance during our trip. It might be cheap for Marrakech, but you really get what you pay for. The place is worn down but clean, some of the staff were really friendly others seemed disinterested, the showers are hot and work well and we enjoyed our breakfast. Too bad there is a lot of noise coming from a nightclub nearby, and depending on which side of the hotel you're at, this can be quite annoying because the heavy bass keeps going until 4am (even on a Tuesday). The pillows were really awful (a bag filled wit cheap foamy flakes) and the place really needs a fix up.. right now its rather stuffy and its definitely not the cosiest place. They keep it clean, but that's about it. I would pay a bit more for a better nights sleep next time.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank berlinskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Marrakech hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Al Kabir
Hotel Al Kabir
#447 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Villa El Gada
Villa El Gada
#334 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#302 of 494 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Central Palace
Hotel Central Palace
#347 of 494 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Sindi Sud
Hotel Sindi Sud
#311 of 494 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
22.3 mi away
Le Coq  Hardi
Le Coq Hardi
#461 of 494 in Marrakech
3.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toulousain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toulousain Hotel

Property: Toulousain Hotel
Address: 44 Rue Tariq Bnou Ziad | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #376 of 494 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Toulousain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned hotel of 30 rooms strategically located in the modern part of Marrakech. The included breakfast is icing on the cake. 30-minute walk to Jam El Fna square and only 2-minute walk to banks, restaurants, shops, post office...Clean and affordable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Toulousain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toulousain Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing