We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth what you pay for it”
Review of Toulousain Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Toulousain Hotel
Ranked #393 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Reviewed 9 March 2009

At roughly $22 a night, you will get what you pay for here. The rooms are very clean and large and set around a open air courtyard. Don't expect anything fancy though, especially in the bathroom. The room was fine enough but the shower left a lot to be desired. There are no shower curtains and the plumbing looks like it was done by MacGuyver out of spare parts from the junkyard. The water came out from the showerhead in what I would describe as a strong drip. The service was also totally indifferent.. a simple smile would have gone a long way even.

All in all though, for the price the location is good and it will do the job. Free wifi is a bonus.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewYawkah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

53 - 59 of 129 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2008

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Toulousain over the Thanksgiving holiday (27-30 Nov 2008) and couldn't have been happier with the hotel or Marrakech.
I am a U.S. Army officer stationed in Germany, and we decided to take a Ryanair flight to Morocco to experience the culture. We contacted the Toulousain based on the recommendation of an English couple we knew who had stayed there. The owners spoke fluent English and made all appropriate arrangements for transportation from the airport. Once on site, they greeted us and gave us an orientation of the city.
The rooms were excellent, and the location of the hotel could not be better. We were within two blocks of the Marrakech bus tour starting point, and less than five minutes (walking) from the train station and main shopping district.
We walked to the Jamma El Fna and enjoyed ourselves immensely with the snake charmers, storytellers and henna artists. We could not have felt safer. My nine-year-old daughter has platinum blonde hair, and was told dozens of times how beautiful she was.
The hotel also provides a top-drawer continental breakfast, with croissants that rival anything I've ever tried in Paris. A room with breakfast was about 25 Euros a night, an unbeatable value.
We have told all of our friends about this hotel and plan to return next spring.
For great pizza, try the Catanzaro Restaurant next door. We were absolutely delighted with the Toulousain and will return again soon.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank boiseidaho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

We stayed in this hotel in March, 2007 for a week or so. The hotel is situated in a quiet area of Marrakech in Gueliz. The rooms are very clean, the staff are very friendly. We'll defenitely be coming back there again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank latdi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2007

I have been coming to this little family owned/run hotel for years. It is a calm in the middle of Marrakech. The rooms are about average sized but beautifully tiled and kept very clean. There are two courtyards with high arbors and orange trees/palms. The included breakfast is really good! Fresh orange juice, a croissant or a chocolate brioche, tea, coffee or HOT CHOCOLATE!!! PLus a small yogourt and lots of bread and jam. The hotel is off the road and calm. Many of the rooms have shared bath and w/c but they all have sinks. The really nice staff speak French English and Arabic. I can't imagine staying anywhere else...DO reserve in advance..it is often full. OH yes the prices are VERY reasonable!!!!!

Stayed: August 2007
5  Thank Vdigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 466bdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Lucky N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamed Ali A, Gérant at Toulousain Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank TheCondom R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.3 mi away
Agdal Hotel
Agdal Hotel
#458 of 499 in Marrakech
205 reviews
22.3 mi away
Le Coq  Hardi
Le Coq Hardi
#444 of 499 in Marrakech
67 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Atlas
Hotel Atlas
#338 of 499 in Marrakech
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Residence Ezzahia
Residence Ezzahia
#434 of 499 in Marrakech
24 reviews
3.1 mi away
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
Ibis Marrakech Palmeraie
#308 of 499 in Marrakech
372 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar Al Hamra
Dar Al Hamra
#273 of 499 in Marrakech
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Toulousain Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toulousain Hotel

Address: 44 Rue Tariq Ben Ziad | Guéliz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Region: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 499 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range: £23 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Toulousain Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small family owned hotel of 30 rooms strategically located in the modern part of Marrakech. The included breakfast is icing on the cake. 30-minute walk to Jam El Fna square and only 2-minute walk to banks, restaurants, shops, post office...Clean and affordable! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Toulousain Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toulousain Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing